Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2004
This book is set in London, 1810. It is about a 16-year-old girl named Lady Victoria Arbuthnot who is the heiress to a £40,000 fortune. She spent her childhood in India and, at the start of the book, is returning to London to live with her aunt, uncle and cousins. Aboard the ship, she meets the devistatingly handsome Hugo Malfrey, as well as the odious Jacob Carstairs. She accepts Hugo Malfrey's marriage proposal during the voyage and Jacob Carstairs seems intent on persuading Victoria to break the engagement, claiming that Hugo Malfrey is a rogue. Victoria doesn't believe a word...but could later discoveries mean that Jacob was right?
This book is full of romance, humour and is generally a very satisfying read. I absolutely love it and can read it over and over again without ever tiring of it. If you enjoyed 'Nicola and the Viscount,' read this. If not, try it anyway.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
I read this book several years ago when I was around 11 and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is based on a young girl who is very rich and although at first slightly ignorant to English society, quickly is engaged to a gorgeous Lord Malfrey who turns out to be not quite what he seems. Victoria's concerns are made even more apparent by the Captain Carstairs, who by warning her against him harms her opinion of the Captain and her own pride.

Meg Cabot has many loose similarities to the classic Jane Austen book, 'Pride and Prejudice' such as the sly Lord who seems like Mr Wickham and the captain like Mr Darcy. Also the Aunt and Uncle of whom she stays with are called the Gardiners although the fact that she is worth a great deal shows the many differences.

Older female readers about 14plus may find it a bit too easy of a read but age 13 downwards I think would enjoy this book as its plot follows many romantic genre conventions.

Meg Cabots flair and style would make any girl enjoy this book but with the humourous storylines and attractive characters, this book will be left in the girls imagination for a long time to come!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2005
Another book from Meg Cabot...tells the story of Lady Victoria Arbuthnot who lived in India with her 3 bachelor uncles but is now being shipped off back to England to find herself a suitor. Although I enjoyed this book, it just wasn't as good for me as The Princess Diaries, but is enjoyable nonetheless. Good to read when you can't get hold of any Princess Diary books, for a journery or what not.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2006
this book is absolutely amazing! its about a girl called Victoria..who is in her way from India to england..and suddenly a young handsome man named Hugo Rothschild proposes her, she is delighted and accepts the proposal but at the same time she is very annoyed by captain Jacob carstairs who seems always to be intefering in her personal matters..and spreading the news of
her marriage. Not only does the captain do that..but he also tries as hard as possible to break her engagement and later gives a very appropriate reason for this, which Vicotria does take seriously and suddenly starts realising that she just accept higo's proposal to make -"someone" jealous..and may be jacob is right, right about that fact that hugo is a rogue, right aboutt he fact that she never loved hugo, and also right about that fact that-" one day , lady Victoria is going to meet a man whose will cant be bent to suit her purposes, and when that happens she'll fall in love with him"..
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
I absolutely loved this book. Others say it's more suited to people below 12 but im over thirteen and an avid reader and i thought it was brill! I read it in only 3 days on my new kindle - i couldn't put it down!
The way Meg Cabot writes in this book is slightly easier than the other books of hers but, to be honest, i think all ages would enjoy it! My favourite character has to be Captain Jacob Carstairs. In other books i normally like the bad guys as they're exciting and more interesting, but in this book, i loved the hero - Captain Carstairs. I love his sarcastic comments and the way he and Victoria could be having an argument one minute and the next, he has her swooning from his kissing! Both the characters, Lady Victoria and Jacob Carstairs, have so much chemistry between them. It gives the book a certain maturity and clearly displays the daily problems of maidens in the 1800's in a fun and entertaining way! ;D The other character i like is Rebecca Gardiner. She is basically what i would be like if i were to live in the 1800's. I think she has a great way of attracting attention. The way she and Victoria grow closer even though they spent time apart is memorable. I also love the fact that she is such a girly-girl! She crys at silly things, just like me!
The characters are great, the plot is fantastic and overall, a fun and laughable read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2004
When Victoria returns to Britain in 1808 after having spent almost 12 years in India, the English weather isn't the only thing which takes the 16 year old by surprise. For, hasn't the handsome lord Malfrey just proposed to her? But her destiny is about to take a flip and will Victoria survive? After all, with Captain Jacob Carstairs on her back nagging her to change her mind about gorge Malfrey, what is a girl to do? But suddenly things don't seem so romantic any more as her future takes a dip into terror, confusion and hate...
Luckily, this book ends happily and the ending is terrific, believe me.
When I first saw this book, I knew I would love it and trust me, you will love it too. Take the time, and you won't regret it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2004
Victoria and the Rogue is a brilliant book set in 19th century England. Young Lady Victoria Arbuthnot is delighted when she becomes engaged to the handsome Lord Malfrey onboard the ship from India. However, the irritating Captain Jacob Carstairs witnesses the proposal, and seems to have it in for Lady Victoria's fiance! As Victoria's wedding to Lord Malfrey gets closer and closer, Captain Carstairs tries to make Victoria aware of who she is really marrying............
I love this book because it is simple but compelling, and it is a brilliant book, especially for young readers who are interested in books set in Victorian times.
I would recommend this book for ages 10-13, and I give it 10/10.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2007
Ages ago I read the first few paragraphs to this and thought it sounded awful but just recently I tried again. I found it got better very quickly and then something VERY good happened and then it got a bit boring. It was Soooooooooooooo refreshing not to have some mean-cheerleader-gets all the best boys type in it. I also felt the third person tense actualy worked quite well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2007
I didnt really like this book at first but then it got better, its a romatic book about a girl who is coming to england from india and she meets lord malfrey and captin carstairs, it is set in in the victorian times in the early 1800's. Victoria is quite funny shes a bit stubborn and not like other
normal english girls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2004
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The heroine is likeable, and the details are such that they can easily transport you to victorian england without needing any existing knowledge of the time. This is done by using a character who is as alien to london society of the early 1800's as we are. I adored victorias control-freak nature, as well as her strange out-look on life. It gave a delightfully human feel to the book.This is a book to feed the need for historical romantic fantasy.
However, as i started to read the book, i feared it would be yet another meg cabot-esque, i-think-i'm-in-love-with-him-but-really-im-in-love-with-the-other-guy book. And as i read on, my fears were confirmed.
I would recomend this book to anyone who hasnt read any other book by meg cabot, as youd find the sequence repeating itslef. Maybe i would have given this book 5 stars, had i not already read Nicola and the viscount.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.