Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murmur from a mere male ?
If a humble (British) male is permitted a view on this, I'll say forget all those 'Mars' & 'Venus' theories. Read this book and a few more males may get to understand why we guys so often just don't understand!
Having just viewed the movie, it's prompted memories of reading the book about a year ago. Both experiences were thoroughly enjoyable - in a vividly...
Published on 15 Oct 2003 by wessexman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars did not grab me
Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood is the second of the Ya-Yas series by Rebecca Wells. Set in two main locations, it tells of Sidalee Walker's retreat to a remote cabin near Seattle to examine her past life and prospective marriage to Connor McGill, an examination that is facilitated and augmented by a scrap book of memorabilia her mother sends her from Louisiana,...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by Cloggie Downunder


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated, 1 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I read this on a long plane journey after several friends recommended it, and I was disappointed. I would sum this book up as an above-average holiday / airport / aeroplane read - but certainly not a novel to stay in the memory. The Ya-Yas' friendship was sugary sweet, the women were more like caricatures of southern women than real women, and I couldn't identify with the characters at all. Enjoyable enough, but I can think of countless contemporary novels that I enjoyed much more. Not a novel that will last long in my memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just one thing...., 15 Dec 2000
My best friend in the US sent this over when it first came out. I didn't put it down - it was the most involving and imagine invoking book I have read, and the tears! of joy and laughter! Lucy from London made a comment on Siddas mother only doing one bad thing. She did more than one - abuse,violence,sex,booze and innocent children, always a predictable mix. Read the other book - "Little Alters Everywhere" - FABULOUS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to be a Ya-Ya, so does my sister!, 7 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Well, although being Spanish and living in the Canary Islands might seem as thought we might not catch all this Southern stuff! Belive us, it was no problem to identigy the universal feelings of female friendship and mother/daughter relationships, especially with the added Catholic ingredient. GOING TO READ THE PREQUEL NOW, WISHED WE'D KNOWN ABOTU IT BEFORE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A simple, forgettable but fun tale, 29 Jun 2000
By A Customer
A rather glossy look at the lives of 4 friends with a friendship that's far too good to be true - even more so of the twee ending. Still, it was pleasant enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real stunner, 30 Oct 2003
By 
Sezza (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Paperback)
What a fantastic read. I defy anyone to read it without crying. Definitely a book that every woman should read; and miles more poignant and satisfying than BJD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Desperate..., 19 Jan 1999
By A Customer
The author is desperately trying regain her youth. Sidda is so pathetic - doting on her Mother as an adolescent. If this Mother was so great, she maybe could have brought up a daughter with a mind of her own! I find Vivi so irritating - alcoholic, depressed and vicious to her children - I really don't understand the obsession with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 11 April 2002
By A Customer
I was recomended this book by a friend and absolutely loved. I in turn have given it to friends as a gift and my sister read the whole book in about two days and kep thanking me for suggesting it to her!! I loved the ya-ya's and think everyone should have friends like that. If you liked this book I would highly reccomend reading "The Sweet Potato Queens Book of Love" by Jill Connor Browne, which is about a friendship like the ya-ya's but without any of Vivi's bad qualities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 10 Jun 2000
By A Customer
An amazing, gripping book that you won't be able to put down. Beautiful characters and a story that will move you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The world of the Ya-Yas remains a closed book to outsiders, 18 Oct 2001
The world of the Ya-Ya sisters in middle-class Louisiana is a closed book to me, and Rebecca Wells has done little to open it. It reads like an inside joke, a tale meant for women who grew up in a similar time and environment. Perhaps women from a similar background can relate to the descriptions of locale and characters. The characters were not "rounded" enough, it was difficult to tell them apart and remember who's who. (Can you imagine not being able to distinguish between Meg, Jo, Amy and Beth?...) Also, the writing does not flow naturally. The writer tries too hard and ends up tripping over excessive verbs and superfluous, pointless descriptions of actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells (Paperback - 4 Feb 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews