Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel.
The first book in the "Kushiel Trilogy", _Kushiel's Dart_, was one of the best -- if not the best -- fantasy book of last year, and its sequel, _Kushiel's Chosen_, did not disappoint me in the least. It is a certainly a different book, at least compared to the first half of _Kushiel's Dart_ which centred around Phèdre's coming of age, as _Kushiel's Chosen_ combines...
Published on 13 April 2002 by Linda Antonsson

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Erotic scenes, but tasteful with a plot (unlike something rubbish with Fifty in the title)
I was surprised to find that this book had six reviews all with 5*, giving it a 100% score, which is surprising as it isn't that great a book. Don't get me wrong it isn't terrible, it is well written with good description of characters and palace politics, even the erotic scenes are written in a tasteful manner and not dragged out for too long unlike Fifty Shades Of Utter...
Published on 12 Nov. 2012 by Simon Wells


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel., 13 April 2002
By 
Linda Antonsson (Nödinge, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kushiel's Chosen (Hardcover)
The first book in the "Kushiel Trilogy", _Kushiel's Dart_, was one of the best -- if not the best -- fantasy book of last year, and its sequel, _Kushiel's Chosen_, did not disappoint me in the least. It is a certainly a different book, at least compared to the first half of _Kushiel's Dart_ which centred around Phèdre's coming of age, as _Kushiel's Chosen_ combines the headache-inducing intrigues of the first half of _Kushiel's Dart_ with the fast-paced action of its latter half. To keep the kingdom of Terre d'Ange and its queen Ysandre safe, Phèdre must learn not only who it was who betrayed them and released Melisande, but also where Melisande hides and what she plans to do. To do this, Phèdre must use all the skills taught to her by her dead mentor, as well as her unique skills as an anguisette. The price for her choice, however, may be higher than she would like, and the pain of the body is nothing compared to the pain of the soul.
Like the previous book, _Kushiel's Chosen_ is well-written and a pleasure to read. But it is also not, as was the case with the first one, a book for those who dislike a fair amount of adult content, a first-person narrative and plenty of both brilliant and beautiful characters.
Obviously, I quite like those things myself, and I've already started the count-down until the final part, _Kushiel's Avatar_, is out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystique, 6 Nov. 2009
By 
Robert Davidge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kushiel's Chosen: Kushiel's Legacy: Book Two (Paperback)
While Kushiel's Dart caught us with its unbelievable eroticism Kushiel's Chosen has led us on into Ms Carrey's chosen forte, the court intrigue. Phedre's games cease to be of the bedroom and move onto the world's stage at Venice (La Serrenissima). And at this point we are willing to let go. Indeed Phedre's initial calling is crass compared with the purity of Joscelyn's love. So Jacqueline Carey has brought us to the brink of a full romance. But all these sideshows are just the prelude for Ms Carey's greatest skill which is the intrigue of a political mystery. And as with all great loved epics she cannot move out of the original creation without destroying it. It is to her great, remarkable skill as an authoress that we can go so far with her; and her every moment must be one of "how do I not destroy this?"

Indeed she lapsed toward the end of Kushiel's Dart into melodrama, but her crafted characters have so much more to say than running endlessly across barbarian Europe. Ysandre, for instance, could have an entire book about her thought processes as young queen, as could Joscelyn, or even Phedre's Boys.

This an excellent story which is not fantasy, despite its classification, but Romance. How lucky we are that it has been so classified for it opens an entire readership to her skill who otherwise would not read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kushiels Chosen, 15 Feb. 2005
By 
Clare "Bookaholic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The follow up to the fabulous Kushiels Dart...
Phèdre nó Delaunay fights to save her queen and country in a battle whose greatest weapon proves to be Phèdre herself.Again we see Phedre plying her skills as an anguisette and a spy. Whilst this novel is not as good as Kushiels Dart it certainly comes very very close.
Phedre has come a very long way in this novel since she was sold by her parents in the first, she has been kissed by the god Kushiel and has a small red mote in her left eye this is what is referred to as Kushiels Dart thus making her an anguisette, which is Kushiels Chosen. An anguisette being someone who finds pleasure out of pain.
Phedre managed to end the war which threatened to destroy her country, among Phedres enemies is Melisande the battles between Phedre and Melisande continue throughout.
Again we see the erocticism that we saw in Kushiels Dart, written in the fabulous way as the first. Another stunning novel from Jacqueline Carey, Kushiels Avatar the next novel brings this trilogy to a close, until the story of Imriel of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Melisande's betrayal of Phedre is repaid, 28 Aug. 2010
This is the second book in the Kushiel's Legacy trilogy, but despite the steep competition provided by the first book, it does not disappoint.

Full of adventure, terrible betrayal - and not just by Melisande Shahrizai - the story describes how Phedre at last uncovers the plot to overthrow Ysandre from her rightful place as Queen of Terre d'Ange, aided belatedly by her Cassiline, Joscelin.

For much of the tale, Phedre is left alone to deal with things, Joscelin having become too conflicted to remain with her. Don't worry, reader. They will get back together in the end, but will they ever be as close as they once were? You'll have to read the book to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine novel, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A worthy follow up to Kushiels Dart. The plot, no less intriguing, the detail involved, spellbinding. No review can do justice to this book. I respectfully suggest that you read both Kushiels Dart and Kushiels Chosen without delay. I cannot wait to read Kushiels Avatar. Jacqueline, you really are a masterful writer, respect
With great affection,
Les Smith
Lesasmith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kushiel's Chosen, 3 May 2009
By 
Yani "Mynmat" (Near Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kushiel's Chosen: Kushiel's Legacy: Book Two (Paperback)
A thoroughly good tale with central characters that you get to know in detail over an extended period. The sort of book you can go back and read again later and discover new bits. Though set in an undetermined historical period the people and story could be set in any period. Thoroughly readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is part of a trilogy, which is one of the best I've read. It is just great. Good story, good bit of sauce, well written. Couldn't recommend highly enough. Will be reading more…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The long road, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved all the books in this series! A fantastic book with deep characters and twisting plot! Full of adventure, and passion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kushiel's Chosen (Paperback)
its brilliant like Kusheils Dart I really love her stuff Fantasy but without the overt magic solutions just great. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kushiel's Chosen (Hardcover)
Ms Carey I would happily worship for her talent and passion, so gifted is she.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kushiel's Chosen: Kushiel's Legacy: Book Two
Kushiel's Chosen: Kushiel's Legacy: Book Two by Jacqueline Carey (Paperback - 3 Sept. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews