Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.
Best single volume history of this troubled place. I know Kosovo quite well and found it a very helpful and revealing guide. A serious book by a serious historian, of course, but clearly and accessibly written too
Published 27 days ago by johnh

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kosovo a Short History
In my opinion myopic and anti-Serbian. To much time is spent debunking the Serbian view of Kosovo's history, and championing the Albanian perspective. Judging from the acknowledgements Malcolm does not appear to have visited Belgrade in his travels or research, bizarre considering Kosovo is considered the cradle of Serbian civilization.

To me this book is a...
Published on 22 Nov. 2012 by milari


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
Best single volume history of this troubled place. I know Kosovo quite well and found it a very helpful and revealing guide. A serious book by a serious historian, of course, but clearly and accessibly written too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best history of Kosovo (and beyond), 3 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
A thorough history of an area which gets little coverage in the history section of most bookshops. Unfortunately, Kosovo has been the subject of much myth and rivalry and nationalist mythmaking; a significant percentage of the text is dedicated to debunking these - but always reliant on careful use of sources rather than rhetoric. It strikes just the right balance between readability and meticulous detail.

I would strongly recommend this book to anybody with a general interest in European (or even Ottoman) history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive book written on the region of Kosovo ..., 12 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
The most comprehensive book written on the region of Kosovo. A totally engaging account of the major historical changes up to the late Kosovo conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impartial, Well Researched, 13 Oct. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
The material in this book has been well researched and interprets the sources with authority. This region has had a very complicated and a very long history, with different peoples interpreting the history in different ways. This books tries to establish the truth, and the truth is fascinating. It is a must for anyone wishing to get an insight into this region
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
Great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
Amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative, 27 Feb. 2009
By 
N. Young (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
I first made use of this book as an MA student with a highly-developed fascination with the former Yugoslavia. I found it, and Noel Malcolm's volume on Bosnia, invaluable.

Of particular note is the chapter exploring the (in)famous 1389 Battle of Kosovo Polje - Malcolm does a superb job in deconstructing the myths that have grown up around said battle (why did this particular battle become so important to the cause of Serbian nationalism?) and trying to get at the truth behind them.

My one concern with this book is why Malcolm thought to use the sub-title 'A Short History'; at over 500 pages, it's anything but!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kosovo a Short History, 22 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
In my opinion myopic and anti-Serbian. To much time is spent debunking the Serbian view of Kosovo's history, and championing the Albanian perspective. Judging from the acknowledgements Malcolm does not appear to have visited Belgrade in his travels or research, bizarre considering Kosovo is considered the cradle of Serbian civilization.

To me this book is a great shame, for when I read a history book I am looking for an unemotional balanced exposure of facts by a historian, here I feel that I am listening to an intellectual cheerleader.

If anyone wants to get a three dimensional perspective on the complexities of the Balkans you might want to turn to Ivo Andric's Nobel prize winningBridge Over The Drina, it's fiction I know but judging by some of the non fiction floating around the world today this is a better path to an understanding of the region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough narrative and demographic history, 6 July 2009
This review is from: Kosovo: a Short History (Paperback)
This was published in 1998 prior to the descent into conflict that separated Kosov from the remnants of Yugoslavia. If this book had been read and understood the conflict might well have been avoided.

Unlike the history of the west where history appears to have a direction, with countries becoming freer and more prosperous over the centuries- as in the Whig interpretation of English history- Kosovo seems to have spent most of its history buffeted bewteen far more powerful entities.

Both Serbs and Albanians have perceived identies in which they are the permanent victims of a more powerful enemy. In reality both sides have been both oppressors and oppressees at different junctures.

The demographic myths of the Serbs have been particularly destructive in the last hundred years, the idea that Kosovo was the core of Serbia until the Albanians in conjuction with the Ottomans ethnically cleansed them has been pernicious and used to justify the mistreatment of the Albanians. As Malcolm shows both communities have lived in the province for centuries and their relative proportions have changed to and fro over the years.

In short this is a very informative study that illuminates much of the difficult situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kosovo: a Short History
Kosovo: a Short History by Noel Malcolm (Paperback - 9 Aug. 2002)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews