Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most readable history of journalism in print
Andrew Marr has achieved something that is oddly rare - he has written an entertaining history of journalism. I say "oddly rare" because you would think that journalists - people who write for a living - would write interesting books about their trade. The truth is that they can be weighed down with endless stories involving names that no one has heard of and another...
Published on 20 Sep 2004 by J. Whitworth

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Style Needs Visual/Auditory Medium.
Although very interesting, at times fascinating, in itself, this book was ruined for me by the regular, although not all-pervasive, use of the colloquial style that Marr uses to such marvellous effect on TV, but which did not, for me, lend itself at all to a medium using only the written word. Without the visual and auditory cues (facial gestures, grimaces, hand and body...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by V Heilbuth-Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars journalism, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting to have an inside explanation as to the games of politics that cost the workers (producers) so much to receive such poor governance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous reading, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Trade: A Short History of British Journalism (Paperback)
This book sets up a scene of where journalism has come from and where it is going. From one of the BBC greats whose humility comes across from the beginning, this book is perfect journalistic bedtime reading. You won't read a newspaper the same way again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and entertaining, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Trade: A Short History of British Journalism (Paperback)
Wizard stuff comprehensive and profound investigation into modern journalism and its origins a must for those entering the profession or those who seek to understand it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Journalism exposed., 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew Marr's book gives an good view of current British journalism especially related to current British politics. Very much enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dizzying read!, 19 April 2013
Crammed with info and delivered at speed in typical Marr style. Always interesting and with great insight honed over years of experience and obviously good research and knowledge of his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable, iteresting history, 27 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although scholarly in approach, research and historical accuracy, it is not scholarly in tone; it is an enjoyable, relatively undemanding read but full of fascinating insights into history and journalism by someone who is very familiar with both.
He manages to maintain that journalistic objectivity so many strive for but fail to attain, particularly in these days of tabloid, sensationalist journalism. He learned his trade well from established, well-known and respected journalists at a time when it was considered a profession and he continues the tradition.
Well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate insider's guide, 28 May 2011
This review is from: My Trade: A Short History of British Journalism (Paperback)
With my trade, Marr has created a book that sheds light on all the secrets of the trade that journalists ply. He also recommends several other books (from which he takes examples)and will leave you feeling like you are in for a lifetime of reading. I've already ordered a copy of the book which deals with an editor-in-chief's sacking at the hands of Rupert Murdoch. Marr is not only an expert on his own profession, but also the most well read in the subject.

He is also brutally honest, and can leave you feeling a little cold when he describes the ultimate aim of most journalists. The book at times is also very funny - from being sacked to being hired to being sacked again, but what amazes most is how Marr has condensed his experiences into such a tightly written little book that will keep you up to the early hours.

Fantastic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Style Needs Visual/Auditory Medium., 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although very interesting, at times fascinating, in itself, this book was ruined for me by the regular, although not all-pervasive, use of the colloquial style that Marr uses to such marvellous effect on TV, but which did not, for me, lend itself at all to a medium using only the written word. Without the visual and auditory cues (facial gestures, grimaces, hand and body movements, accents etc...) that Marr uses for emphasis, mood-setting, emotional import and so on on TV, the frequent use of a heavily clipped, abbreviated, colloquial delivery often fails to make written sense: I found myself having to read many sentences/passages repeatedly, each incident creating greater irritation.

Further, the absence of decent grammar and punctuation in the style was compounded by typos and plain bad English of a more regular kind. In all, I have rarely read such a poorly edited book (relative to author and subject matter). I finally gave up two-thirds of the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and entertaining, 31 Aug 2005
By 
I bought the audio CD - something to listen and chuckle to in the car on the way in and out of work. Really enjoyed it! Shall miss Andy Marr as BBC Political Ed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Historical, a bit Tedious, 26 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Trade: A Short History of British Journalism (Paperback)
My Trade is part history, part autobiography. Marr, who claims he “stumbled onto journalism,” takes readers through British journalism’s past and present, as well as predictions of its future highlighting the vices and virtues that appear throughout the history of British journalism.

He does this by using ample evidence, in the forms of quotes from the field’s major players coupled with excerpts from old newspapers. This is all tied together by Marr’s own insight and experience from working in various positions within the trade.
Marr’s book is a short, but detailed and sometimes tedious history of British journalism and the trade as it exists today. Reading the book, one can imagine Marr pouring over towering stacks of autobiographies and old newspapers, eagerly trying to squeeze every quirky newspaper proprietor, drunken editor, ruthless reporter, and mad Victorian news story into a volume of less than four hundred pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Trade: A Short History of British Journalism
My Trade: A Short History of British Journalism by Andrew Marr (Paperback - 1 July 2005)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews