Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of Love, Duty and Compulsion
Reversible Errors has a grand sweep, much like the great Russian novels of the 19th Century such as Crime and Punishment. The book is filled with passion, conflicts, and hopes . . . while grimness grows as the days until a scheduled execution dwindle.
I found Reversible Errors to be the most eloquent anti-death penalty book I have read. It's even more moving than the...
Published on 21 Jun 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rescued by Reviews
I try to avoid consulting reviews before I read a book, preferring to come to it with an uninfluenced mind. In the case of Reversible Errors I struggled to page 150 before abandoning my principles, whereupon I discovered a number of other readers who had suffered similarly.

Scott Turow made his reputation, and first seduced me, as a skilled purveyor of...
Published on 28 May 2010 by G. M. Sinstadt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rescued by Reviews, 28 May 2010
By 
G. M. Sinstadt - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
I try to avoid consulting reviews before I read a book, preferring to come to it with an uninfluenced mind. In the case of Reversible Errors I struggled to page 150 before abandoning my principles, whereupon I discovered a number of other readers who had suffered similarly.

Scott Turow made his reputation, and first seduced me, as a skilled purveyor of courtroom dramas. Sadly, it now looks as though success has gone to his head, tempting him to essay The Great American Novel. Reversible Errors begins with a suggestion that a murder conviction may not have been valid. Presumably, the novel ends in the court room, but far from being the substance of the story the pursuit of innocence becomes merely an excuse to investigate the problems and neuroses (and there are many) of the conflicting characters (and there are many). From chapter to chapter, the focus changes so that the reader, confronted say with 'Muriel', has to turn back several chapters to reconnect with that strand. The technique stalls the narrative flow. So, too, does the psychological interpretation of words spoken or thought within the chapters.

Reversible Errors is certainly a page turner, but the turning is back. Turow's reputation suffers in parallel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only so-so, 10 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
I found Turow's first novel, Presumed Innocent, one of the most gripping crime novels of the last twenty years. Since then, there has been a steady decline, but I started Reversible Errors hoping that there might have been a return to his original form. Unfortunately, my hopes were disappointed. This story of the final legal battles to prevent the execution of a mentally subnormal petty criminal for a triple murder contains plenty of shocks and surprises, and Turow's coarse one-liners are as amusing as ever. But his four central characters fail to engage the reader, their philosophising about the human condition is banal and tedious and, at 550 pages, the book often feels interminable. Good story that would have been better at 300 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Average, 5 Jan 2004
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
I last read a Turow book some years ago and returned to him as an author with this effort.
What has happened in the last few years ?
I found this book like treading through treacle. It was slow and worse still boring. No twists ,turns excitement at all, instead it seemed to concentrate on rather elongated love stories.
Sad to say I will not be looking out for the next effort from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Turow's twisted tale of a last minute death row appeal, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
I thought it was strange that at the end of "Reversible Error" I found myself enjoying the romance in Scott Turow's latest novel, although I suspect that has something to do with the desire for there to be a happy ending of some sort for the hero in such a tale. The story begins with the commonplace of the last minute appeal of a death row inmate. Rommy "Squirrel" Gandolph was convicted of a trio of brutal murders in 1991 and his final appeal has been tossed in the lap of Arthur Raven, a competent but uninspiring lawyer drafted by the federal appellate court, and his quixotic associate, Pamela Towns. Raven is fully prepared to go through the motions, based on his commitment to the process more than his belief in the client, until he receives a letter from another inmate promising vital information having to do with the innocence of Squirrel.
Actually this story reminds me of a really good debate (as in high school/college forensics), where two sides hammer away at each other and every time somebody finishes speaking you are convinced that their side should win the day. The way in which Turow builds the evidence is quite compelling, especially as it brings us closer and closer to the truth. Early on it becomes clear that there is something going on here that neither side understands, and while the ultimate revelation is certainly not on a par with what Turow unveiled at the end of "Presumed Innocent," the way the author was able to place so many layers around that truth is pretty good.
Readers will find many of Turow's Kindle County cast of characters popping up throughout the novel, but they are all minor figures in the tale. Arthur Raven is finally having his moment in the sun and he offers the sort of stolid character whose nobility is only recognized under such rare circumstances. This is a good man trying to do the right thing, and might finally be recognized by his peers for the qualities he has always exhibited. On the other side of the fight is prosecutor Muriel Wynn and detective Larry Starczek; she has ambitions for political office and he wants to rekindle their relationship from way back when. Again, there is the opportunity for the characters to revert to traditional stereotypes, but both exhibit openmindedness even as they reentrench their position. Also involved is Gillian Sullivan, the judge who convicted and sentenced Rommy at the end of the original trial, after which she was ended up in prison after a bribery conviction. She becomes perhaps the most interesting character of all in this little legal quagmire.
As with all of Turow's novels there is an attention to legal detail that I admire and a way of constructing the maze of facts and evidence that I appreciate. In "Reversible Error" I especially liked the way the character of Arthur Raven is caught up with the case and the events as the readers. It is not, therefore, all that strange that at the end we want Rommy saved from death row not because of a sense of justice but rather because we want Arthur to come out ahead at the end of the nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Reversible Error, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Kindle Edition)
Am a fan of Scott Turow but Reversible Errors is turgid ,slow moving ,boring with boring characters and definitely not worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot but rambling, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Kindle Edition)
Like his other novels the plot is interesting but the story is rather rambling with a lot of characters .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Interminable courtroom yawn-fest, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Bill (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
Hell's teeth, this is boring! More than 550 pages long, with a plot that could be written on the back of a matchbox, and peopled with deeply flawed and repellent characters, all of whom you'd cross the street to avoid and whom you won't give a damn about. And the courtroom scenes are few and far between, and as riveting as a district council budget meeting.

The twists and turns of the drama, which involve endless re-tellings of the same incidents, are staggeringly uninteresting, and each time a new facet of the crime is revealed, your reaction is merely to shrug and say 'so what?' There are no big fireworks in the final pages, and the whole thing just peters out like a damp squib.

The sort of book which gives blockbuster airport novels a bad name, and makes me ask myself just why do I read junk like this, when I could be re-reading the great American classics by Scott Fitzgerald, Ford Madox Ford or Richard Yates, or even the rattling good yarns of George Pelecanos or Elmore Leonard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Average, 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
This was a major disappointment and I share the views of a couple of other reviewers. The book was very long-winded and without the twists and turns which could reasonably have been expected in a work of this nature. 350 pages would have been about the right length.
This is a long way from the star of all the death-row books : Andrew Klavan's "True Crime".
I have read Turow before, but have noted a decline which will discourage me from more purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of Love, Duty and Compulsion, 21 Jun 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Paperback)
Reversible Errors has a grand sweep, much like the great Russian novels of the 19th Century such as Crime and Punishment. The book is filled with passion, conflicts, and hopes . . . while grimness grows as the days until a scheduled execution dwindle.
I found Reversible Errors to be the most eloquent anti-death penalty book I have read. It's even more moving than the evidence that many people on Death Row were innocent when DNA tests were first applied to the evidence. Our justice system is supposed to set free 20 guilty people rather than convict one innocent one. In death penalty cases, we probably aren't doing so well. Innocent people have been executed in many cases. Once that happens, there's little good we can do about it. As we judge, so shall we be judged.
The criminal justice system isn't as neat and objective as television, movies and novels usually make it out to be. But naturally, most people who write about the system do so as nonparticipants. Mr. Turow writes from the vantage point of being both a top-flight lawyer, but also someone who works on death penalty appeals. It's clear that he writes from first-hand experience as to the poor defense work in many of these cases.
In Reversible Errors, Arthur Raven, an earnest corporate attorney, is appointed by the court to handle a death penalty appeal. Like most, he views this assignment as undesirable and likely to end in frustration. His client has been convicted based on his own confession to a gruesome triple murder. Arthur's a man who hasn't found love, and assumes that he never will. His commitment to the law does show his love of fulfilling his sense of duty.
The brilliantly plotted story shows how "neat" pictures of "who did what to whom" usually aren't so neat in reality.
If you don't like your stories realistic and graphic, you may not enjoy this book.
After you finish this book, think about times when you've judged a situation incorrectly . . . and lived to regret what you've said and done. How could you have handled the situations better? How can you reverse the error now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is it a book or a film script?, 25 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reversible Errors (Hardcover)
While I did not dislike the book, with so many legal thrillers turned into movies I had the impression that the book was just that, a film script. The plot is very simplistic, descriptions are superficial and characters are described in such a way I could see which actors could be selected for the movie.
"Reversible errors" is easy enough to be read on holiday, but otherwise I would not choose this book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reversible Errors
Reversible Errors by Scott Turow (Paperback - 20 Jun 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews