Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning!
Unfortunately this story gives away secret about Father Christmas! So beware what age range you buy it for! Having said that my 10 year old daughter enjoyed the book and has requested more in the series.
Published on 17 Oct. 2011 by traceyg

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SANTA IS DEAD
So angry that this book as no age warning. My child is devastated that santa isn't real. She has only just turned 10 and we had hoped to have at least 1 more magical Christmas. Judy bloom had better avoid me as I am livid. I this review helps another parent avoid this.
DONT BUY FOR UNDER 12'S
Published 7 months ago by Melissa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning!, 17 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
Unfortunately this story gives away secret about Father Christmas! So beware what age range you buy it for! Having said that my 10 year old daughter enjoyed the book and has requested more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SANTA IS DEAD, 24 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
So angry that this book as no age warning. My child is devastated that santa isn't real. She has only just turned 10 and we had hoped to have at least 1 more magical Christmas. Judy bloom had better avoid me as I am livid. I this review helps another parent avoid this.
DONT BUY FOR UNDER 12'S
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Judy Blume!, 15 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
This book would make a great gift for an older child. "Superfudge" is the sequel to "Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing," another classic children's story. Twelve-year-old Peter Hatcher and his family are moving to Princeton for a year. Peter and his brother Fudge don't always get along. Their mother is going to have a baby soon, adding more uncertainty to their lives. Will the baby be like Fudge? What could be worse for Peter?

Kids, especially with younger brothers and sisters will relate to the problems Peter faces. The story moves quickly, keeping the reader's attention, and is filled with humor. The reader will definitely appreciate Blume's talent for writing a good tale.

As a children's book author, I highly recommend "Superfudge."...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars That way if children still believe it's fine, and if they don't, 4 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
Agree with other reviewers here that the big section about Santa not existing is not appropriate in this book. It is a shame as my six year old daughter has been really enjoying the other books in this series, and I felt that the language and reading level as well as the subject matter were ideal for age range. Luckily another mum tipped me off about the Santa part in this book, so I have taken this book off her shelf before she gets to reading to it. These books are perfectly readable by 6-8 year olds, although the main character is older, so why would the author assume that all readers already know about Santa? As a contrast, in The Lion The Witch and the Wardrobe, the children are much much older and yet Santa is still real in Narnia. That way if children still believe it's fine, and if they don't, then they can believe he exists in Narnia only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny to read, 20 Feb. 2003
By 
I like the book very much because there are strange and funny adventures of the kindergartener Fudge and his brother Peter. There is a lot of direct speech, so you can laugh about the funny things Fudge says. If you like laughing about books and funny things about a four-year-old boy who makes lot of trouble you should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you laugh!, 20 Feb. 2003
By 
We think Superfudge is a very funny, interesting and crazy book. The book tells about a family that lives in NY near Central Park, but they are moving to Princeton. The two brothers are named Peter and Fudge. Fudge is always making trouble. If you are unhappy you have to read this book and Fudge and his family will make you laugh a lot.
All inclusive: FUN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great bedtime listening!, 17 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This is the sequel to "Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing", and even better! Not only does Peter Hatcher have to cope with the arrival of a baby sister, Tamara Roxanne, or 'Tootsie', but the family decides to move away from the city, for a year. Listen to Peter and little brother Fudge's adventures in a new town, Princeton, with a new school, new friends, but most importantly, their new sister. How will Peter cope without his best friend, Jimmy Fargo, around? How will Fudge behave on his first day in Kindergarten? Listen to find out! This is a great story for kids of any age, but particularly suitable for approx. ages 6-11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is soooo funny!, 4 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
I read this book for the third time a couple of days ago! I found it in the children's section of the library, and since it's the only Fudge book I don't own, I decided "Lemme read!"
This book tells the story of Peter Hatcher, a kid with the brother from hell, and a cute little baby sister. When the Hatchers move away from New York, Fudge starts kindergarten, Peter makes new friends, and Tootsie, their baby sister, learns to talk!
This book is great, like all of Judy's other books! If you like her books, and feel like being a big kid - then pick it up today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super-duper-fudge, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. B. R. G. Lait "Ben Lait" (Hitchin, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
Super fudge is fictional book about a naughty little boy called Fudge. Fudge and his family moved from a bustling city to a quiet country town. Peter is Fudge's sensible big brother and Tootsie is his entertaining baby sister. Peter is going to a new school and trying to make new friends, but Fudge keeps ruining it.

I would recommend this book for children aged six and over, because some of the words used would be difficult for a younger child to understand. I enjoyed this story, because of the funny conversations between Fudge and his family.

Scarlett Lait (aged 7)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superfudge, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfudge (Paperback)
super fude was a amazing book it was full of humourue mistorey adventue and it just makes me want to read on.Ive alreedie ordered the next one.Lauren age 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superfudge
Superfudge by Judy Blume (Paperback - 4 July 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews