Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great and very realistic!
This is a great book about a young girl who discovers she has scoliosis (curvature of the spine) and the effects it has on her life. It's all about how she reacts to it and learns to deal with it, and with her friends reactions to the scoliosis and in particular the brace she has to wear.
As a 'girl' with scoliosis myself, I found this book very realistic and...
Published on 26 April 2002

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some disparity of style and age appropriate content
This short book is aimed at a young pre=teen audience. Deenie is a 7th grader who has a mum and aunt who adamant that one day she will be a famous model. Their expectations for Deenie's sister, Helen, are that she will have some type of high flying academic career. Neither of these things are what the girls want for themselves.

Deenie is discovered to have...
Published 18 months ago by adele


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Still current despite being over 30 years old, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deenie (Mass Market Paperback)
I remembered every detail of this story even though I read it 30 years ago! My ten year old loved it - be warned though, it deals with periods and masturbation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brillent, 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deenie (Piccolo Books) (Paperback)
i reaaly enjoyed this book it made me relise how lucky i am and that youll allways be loved no matter what you look like!!! you have 2 read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an enjoyable read!, 3 April 2002
This review is from: Deenie (Paperback)
This book didn't occur to me to be a book that I wouldn't be able to put down!
Deenie the main character is fine until she finds out she has a problem with her spine. Her mother doesn't make it better with going on about a model agency. She says that Deenies older sister is the brainy one while Deenie is the model.
Deenie doesn't want to be a model, but her mother forces her. When she finds out Deenie has a spine problem she says it's her own fault.
Will Deenie have the courage to go on? Read and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deenie (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished this book and I think it is amazing I also liked dear God it's Margaret read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read for teenagers, 28 Dec 2005
By 
LisaR (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deenie (Paperback)
I read this at 13 and picked it up again the other day and read it as an adult. The story is very readable and the messages about appearance, vanity, appreciating what we've got and understanding others' misfortunes are great for kids of any age. I found the parts about masturbation unnecessary though - this is inappropriate for many children of the age the rest of the book is aimed at and it seems to have been added for "spice" factor rather than as part of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 17 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Deenie (Piccolo Books) (Paperback)
When I read this book I was very young but I learnt a lot about human values - such as it is not what is on the outside but on the inside that counts !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of bravery and courage..., 26 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Deenie (Paperback)
Imagine the feeling of having the whole world in your hands. You are young and beautiful and have your entire career planned ahead of you. But then your life takes a sudden turn and you see your bright future fade away in front of your very own eyes. This is a story about a girl whose life is turned upside down within minutes.
It seemed like the end of the world for thirteen-year-old Deenie Fenner when the doctor discovered that she had scoliosis-a spinal deformity. Her mother had always dreamed that Deenie would become a teenage model, but that dream would now have to wait. Having scoliosis meant that she would have to wear a hideous metallic Milwaukee brace, from her neck to her hips for about five years, in order to straighten her crooked spine. Deenie wonders why it had to be her, out of all people. What was the crime she had committed to deserve this? To her, five years sounded like a lifetime. Within time, she realizes that her problem was beyond her appearance at this point; it would affect her well being if it wasn't treated. A few snickers and laughs were surely not going to hurt as much as a lifetime of being a hunchback. s
After getting though the first chapter, I can guarantee you that you will want to superglue the book to your hands. Without using vocabulary that will send you straight to your dictionary, Judy Blume expresses Deenie's feelings in such a captivating way that you will never want to put the book down. You feel as if you are experiencing Deenie's life firsthand-a life that slowly heading downhill.
Along with many excellent features, the book contains a couple of flaws. For example, it fails to include a noticeable and exciting climax. I continued to read and read, patiently awaiting the part of the book where Deenie would release all the anger and pain that had been building up inside her. But, this part just never seemed to arrive and before I knew it, I had reached the last page. The story has an abrupt and unfinished resolution. It ends, giving us the feeling that Deenie had adjusted to her new condition. Personally, I would have liked to know more about what happened to her later on and whether or not she got to live her mother's dream of being a model.
In this book, Judy Blume deals with issues such as parental expectations, stress, confidence, discrimination and what it's like to cross over to another what seems like a completely different world. Suddenly matters that you were previously unaware of because of youth and inexperience are unexpectedly thrown at you and dealing with them can often be hard. Judy Blume boosts the self-esteem of all her readers and makes them believe that they can and will get through times that seem unmanageable. She does this by using the main character of the book (Deenie) as an example. It takes a strong willed person to see the worst events as a change for the better. Judy Blume teaches her readers how to see the worst possible situations in a different light.
No book has touched or affected me the way Deenie has. It makes you stop, wonder and realize exactly how fortunate you are-not having to face physical disabilities, serious financial problems or anything of the sort. It gives you the confidence to deal with problems that come your way. If people just like you can bring out the courage and bravery to cope with situations of much greater seriousness, there is no doubt you can handle your minor problems. Apart from a few weak points in the plot, Deenie is certainly worth a read, especially for teenage audiences. The book has a lot of valuable lessons to teach and is guaranteed to leave an impact on you. You will not know how it will alter your feelings and attitude towards life until you read it, so take my advice and buy your own copy of Deenie..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Review On Dennie, 15 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deenie (Piccolo Books) (Paperback)
Dennie's mother wants her to be a model but Dennie's not sure whether she does, she is also very keen on a incredibly cute boy. but when she has to wear a brace for four years due to her crocked spine life seams to fall apart.This is a strong story that is really going to get you thinking. For eight to twelve year olds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deenie's a great and very interesting book!, 15 Sep 2001
By 
Emily (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deenie (Paperback)
Deenie is a teenager whose mother wants her to be a model but she's not sure she wants to be one. Then she finds out that she has a very rare problem with her spine which means she has to wear a brace for four years.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is exellent, you really feel for DeeniE., 1 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Deenie (Paperback)
dEENIE IS ABOUT A GIRL WHO HAS A RARE PROBLEM WITH HER SPINE, THIS MEANS SHE HAS TO WEAR AN UGLY BRACE. SHE HAS TO WEAR IT FOR 2 YEARS, BUT IS IS ALL FOR THE BEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deenie
Deenie by Judy Blume (Paperback - 3 Jun 2011)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews