Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute favourite book
this was my absolute favourite book when i was younger and i still read it now. i believed totally that there were such things as gumps, doors leading to other worlds, and i always hoped that i would find the one hidden on platform 13 so that i could live on the island and see the mistmakers. i was enthralled as i read the adventures of Odge Gribble and her magical...
Published on 6 April 2002 by ozolf@aol.com

versus
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cliches, cliches, cliches. A black-and-white-world
This review contains spoilers about the story. So, please be aware of that. I am writing this review so parents can be aware of what they are buying for their child.

I feel that 'The Secret of Platform 13' presents a strong "black-and-white world" in which the characters are simply tired archetypes. The villains have no redeeming qualities and the heroes are so...
Published on 31 July 2012 by Sera


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute favourite book, 6 April 2002
This review is from: Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
this was my absolute favourite book when i was younger and i still read it now. i believed totally that there were such things as gumps, doors leading to other worlds, and i always hoped that i would find the one hidden on platform 13 so that i could live on the island and see the mistmakers. i was enthralled as i read the adventures of Odge Gribble and her magical friends who go through the gump to find the long lost prince who was stolen 9 years before. it is a completely original, funny, magical and heartwarming story and i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Harry Potter you'll be amazed by this!, 22 April 2002
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
Because years before Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone was written, Eva Ibbotson thought up the same story. At platform 13 of King's Cross there's the opening to a magical world of witches, hags, giants and creatures called mistmakers which puff out mist when they hear music, so keeping their island refuge secret. The King and Queen of the island have a little prince born to them, but when his three nannies take him through the gump to enjoy fish-and-chips, he gets kidnapped by the rich and horrible Mrs. Trottle. Nine years must pass before the little Prince can be rescued. But when the rescue party (consisting of a wizard, a gardening witch, and ogre and a little hag, Odge) arrive in our world they find Raymond Trottle a gross spoilt bully. Only the despised odd-job boy, who is as nice as Raymond is nasty, will help them....
A gloriously funny quest with an ending that brings tears to the eyes. We particularly enjoyed the Mrs. Thatcher-style harpies who knock out enemies with their disgusting handbags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it six stars if I could!, 22 April 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
Years before J K Rowling invented Platform nine and three quarters, IvaI bbotsen created her wonderful book: ‘The Secret of Platform 13,’ about asecret portal beneath a railway station leading to a mystical island kingdom far, far away. Unfortunately, this portal (or gump) only opens briefly once every nine years … and last time it opened the king and queen’s newborn baby was stolen. Now the royal family send four islanders to rescue their son: An elderly wizard, a magical fey, an invisible ogre and a young hag. Unfortunately, the now nine-year-old prince doesn’t want to be rescued.
The writing is a sheer delight, describing the fantastical characters with such charm that they are easy to visualise and become utterly believable.This book is perfect for 8 – 9 year-olds to read on their own – or would make a great bedtime story read nightly to 6 – 7 year-olds. It’s exciting, magical, mysterious … but best of all, there’s nothing too frightening and plenty to make you laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Richard (Twickenham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
(This review was written by my 9 year old daughter)
Amazing, I think The secret of platform 13 is GREAT. Before I bought this i wanted to know who the lady on the front was. I think everyone should have a copy in their house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it six stars if I could!, 6 May 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
Years before J K Rowling invented Platform nine and three quarters, Iva Ibbotsen created her wonderful book: 'The Secret of Platform 13,' about a secret portal beneath a railway station leading to a mystical island kingdom far, far away. Unfortunately, this portal (or gump) only opens briefly once every nine years ... and last time it opened the king and queen's newborn baby was stolen. Now the royal family send four islanders to rescue their son: An elderly wizard, a magical fey, an invisible ogre and a young hag. Unfortunately, the now nine-year-old prince doesn't want to be rescued.
The writing is a sheer delight, describing the fantastical characters with such charm that they are easy to visualise and become utterly believable. This book is perfect for 8 - 9 year-olds to read on their own - or would make a great bedtime story read nightly to 6 - 7 year-olds. It's exciting, magical, mysterious ... but best of all, there's nothing too frightening and plenty to make you laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and Wonderful!, 15 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
A gump is a hidden door opening every 9 years, leading to another world, and there's one on platform 13 at Kings Cross Station...and this one leads to a island full of weird and wacky creatures, determined to rescue their prince stolen 9 years before. But the prince has become a difficult and horrible boy, and the rescue won't be easy! Ogres, wizards, hags and ghosts all play their part in the rescue. A not-to-be missed book, is easy to like because of its' delightful characters, and great storyline! I couldn't put it down, and then couldn't wait to read it again! (So I did!)All children fascinated by Harry Potter will love this too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enchanting, 16 July 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
the secret of platform 13 was about a baby prince being taken by his 3 nanny's through from the most mystical island to the streets of london, every nine years the gump opens to get through, for nine days.......... the baby prince was stolen by a rich lady and her husband, she really wanted a baby of her own and there was no baby's she could adopt...........
after the gump closed it was a sad nine years and rescuers had been chosen to go and steal back the prince from his fake mother, would it work or would they have to have more help?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming, though predictable tale, 19 Mar 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
This book is a great choice for any young reader. Before Potter found his platform to Hogwarts, there existed another hidden platform close by, one that leads to an island teeming with fantastic creatures and magical beings, who for the most part live happily together.
The thing is, the doorway to the island only opens for nine days every nine years, and almost nine years ago, the baby prince was kidnapped by an obnoxious but wealthy woman. The time has finally come again for the portal (or gump) to open, and a SWAT team of magical folk has been assembled for the search and rescue mission.
This relatively simple expedition gets very complicated when they find that the prince doesn't live up to expectations, and isn't willing to return to the island. Fast moving, sometimes funny and always imaginative, you won't want to put this one down, even though you can figure out the plot "twist" very early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Harry Potter !, 21 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Secret of Platform 13 (Paperback)
Next to Harry Potter this is my faviorite book. The secret of Platform 13 can thrill the imagination to dizzying heights whether you are 6 or 66.Step into the mysterious world concealed behind the cloak room of Kings cross station and discover dreamed up creatures that put a whole new light on every day life.Laugh and gasp as you become enthralled in Eva Ibbotson's enchanting tale.You find out something new every time you read it and You can't help loving all the unbeatably funny characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a fantastic, page-turning book!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The next chapter was even more exciting than the one before. Whilst reading the book I felt like I was part of the magical story. Eva Ibbotson wrote an amazing story with the most ingenious creatures you could ever dream of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret of Platform 13
The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson (Paperback - 6 Feb 2009)
£5.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews