Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
Not up to the same standard as 'His Dark Materials' but it's aimed at a different market, I guess.
I found the writing good, creating that dreamlike, unreal, almost nightmarish feeling when your world is suddenly turned upside down.
The book grips you and you feel dragged along with our heroine as she tries to make sense of what is happening and the 'visions'...
Published on 3 Feb 2002

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars eh
The ending where everything of the families past is brought together in one big smack round the face was good,reminiscent of murder mistry novels. As well as the brutal murder of a childhood teddy bear which even though m 18 was scary.
However i found the characters unrealistic espesially the teenagers hwo had no commonsense what so ever between them- even for...
Published on 13 Mar 2006 by happymgee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 3 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
Not up to the same standard as 'His Dark Materials' but it's aimed at a different market, I guess.
I found the writing good, creating that dreamlike, unreal, almost nightmarish feeling when your world is suddenly turned upside down.
The book grips you and you feel dragged along with our heroine as she tries to make sense of what is happening and the 'visions' she has; the only failing is the ending which seems a bit of an anticlimax.
Nevertheless, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for teens, 28 Jan 2010
By 
M. S. Trujillo "Bookworm" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
I first read this book when I was twelve or thirteen and, going back to it now, in my early twenties, still find it fresh and interesting. Coming from an ethnically mixed family myself, with complicated arrangements involving half-children etc., I could relate to the issues of belonging and self-acceptance in the book. The main character is engaging and thought-provoking, and the whole thing is just beautifully written. I loved the His Dark Materials trilogy, but was just as delighted to find this relatively little-known gem by Philip Pullman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't pass this by because it's not His Dark Materials, 10 Aug 2003
By 
Star_Sea "Xing" (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
I've seen a few negative reviews for this book so far, mostly because it's not the same as His Dark Materials. Of course it's not: it's not fantasy. It's focused completely on our reality, and the themes of adolescence: identity, secrets, sexuality.
The story focuses on Ginny and her discoveries about her past. Every so often, we get a page in italics detailing her few memories of the time before she lived with her father. Gradually, they take their place in the story. As soon as one thing is revealed, another is obscured. One of the greatest shocks is Ginny discovering that she has a half-brother. It's refreshing to see that although they predictably hate each other at first, by the end they have developed an understanding after being confronted with prejudice and psychotic rage. Ginny herself grows up a lot and learns to forgive people for their faults. Whilst not possessing the awesome reach or imagination of His Dark Materials, this story does showcase Pullman's talent for examining psychological issues and characters who aren't what they seem. It's rhythmic, and pacey, but it doesn't tie up all the knots.
An involving read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has to be one of the best books I've read!, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
If you like "people" books you'll love this one. It's so vivid and sensitive, yet so action-packed and exiting. The Broken Bridge is about a black girl in a white world searching to find out who she really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 11 Dec 2007
By 
L. Monkam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
this really is a wonderful book about discovery and i have read it several times - it never gets old, even when you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars eh, 13 Mar 2006
The ending where everything of the families past is brought together in one big smack round the face was good,reminiscent of murder mistry novels. As well as the brutal murder of a childhood teddy bear which even though m 18 was scary.
However i found the characters unrealistic espesially the teenagers hwo had no commonsense what so ever between them- even for teenagers!!
Worth a read when there's nothing else but it wont be coming top of any list i write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ..., 3 Oct 2006
By 
Wrecky World (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
oth "The Butterfly Tattoo" and "The Broken Bridge" are decidedly avarage books, which is pretty much all there is to say abou them. Coming from Philip Pullman they are utterly disappointing. I loved both the "His Dark Materials" trilogy and the Sally Lockhart books, but fiction seems to be Philip Pullman's (only?) weak point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "pullman does it again!", 17 April 2006
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
philip pulman's book ''the broken bridge'' is really good.It kept me gript and i enjoyed reading it fully.The book was easy to get into and i would definetly recommend it to any adult or teenager.The book was just as good as ''the fire-work makers daighter" which i would also recomend though proberly to the lower age group of 8-12.Ginny in this book is the main charactor and is about how she wants to find out more about her life and who her real parents are.as it gets close to her finding out the truth when she goes to meet her grandpaerents with her half-brother you really can't put the book down.it's totaly gripping and a fantastic read.BUY IT!!!!you won't regret it........

by amara (age 13)...........big reader...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pants!, 2 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
Well I could do no better but Mr Pullman can. It was alright but with things like Northern lights and the Shadow in the North on his c.v a book like this is penny DREADFUL stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak and incoherent, 31 Dec 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broken Bridge (Paperback)
Having read the "His Dark Materials" trilogy I expected great things of this book and was sorely disappointed. I thought the themes were trite and badly handled and the characters were lame. The only well drawn character for me was Joe Chicago, who had depth and interest. One of the main themes of the book was perception and Pullman uses the imagery of the art world to back that up but I thought it was handled messily and stuck out like a sore thumb. It seems like an early work where there was a lot to learn. I'm glad to say that all that learning paid off eventually, just not here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broken Bridge
The Broken Bridge by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 1 April 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews