Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Education!
When I first read this book it was controversial as it was a book for teenage girls that described sex explicitly and from the perspectives of a teenage girl and boy experiencing their first sexual relationship. At the time I was going through the same experiences as a teenager and really valued the book as something to relate to. It sympathises with teenagers when they...
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by S. Murray

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forever - Judy Blume
Originally posted at Miss Inga Page.

I was asked to read Forever as a part of the “Young Adult” component of my Masters degree. I was fully aware of the novel and its subject matter… Hell, it was banned at my Secondary School (even though they had a copy in the library… you just couldn’t check it out?). I knew that it was infamous...
Published 7 months ago by Miss Inga Page


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Education!, 24 Sep 2006
By 
S. Murray "Nurse_Sooz" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
When I first read this book it was controversial as it was a book for teenage girls that described sex explicitly and from the perspectives of a teenage girl and boy experiencing their first sexual relationship. At the time I was going through the same experiences as a teenager and really valued the book as something to relate to. It sympathises with teenagers when they really feel they have found "the one" and how this feels for the first time. It deals with issues of peer pressure, virginity and STI's and I think every teenager should read it. Great for parents to give to their teenage daughter to avoid embarrassing talks! It's also a really good story and guaranteed to make you cry at the end! We've all been where Katherine has! Heading for 22 now I really look back and value this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. Amy Boyce (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
I am now 36 but still remember reading this when I was 15-6, yes there was a furore about it, none of my friends were allowed to read it. My mum was so cool, I was allowed to borrow it from the library and I still consider it a seminal text of my youth. It isnt up there with Dickens, it is not a work of massive literary content, but it is a work that is accessible by teenagers, spoken in a language that they understand about something that is scary at that age. Times have changed massively in the last 15-20 years, what was scary and unknown to me at 15 then, is not now but I believe this is timeless. I would still recommend it to teenage girls. And I recommend it to Mums that are a little nervous to get it for their teenage girls... you never want them to do it.. this will make it safer and easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think I'm speechless!, 6 Oct 2001
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
i'm not speechless because it was a fantastic book, in fact, as most of Judy Blume's books are, it was easy to read, written in a simple, easy and fairly patronising way. What i like was the fact that Judy Blume wasn't scared to really describe sex. Many adults and teenagers feel embarrassed about this subject and i think that its good that there is a book out there telling the complete and utter truth.
This book handled many subjects that are still confusing for teenagers today even though it was written 25 years ago. The obvious subject was love and relationships, but also, drugs, alcohol, pregnancy, contraception, sex, friendship and depression.
This book is about Michael and Katherine falling in love, they take their love to the furthest level and then they are forced to spend a summer apart..........
This book does not end how you want it to do, but very realistcally.
Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this book to all my friends, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book my mum had to pull it away from me at midnight because i was still reading it. i know a good book when i read one and this is definety one of them. It is'nt for a child younger than 12 its definetly for a teenager as it say on the cover its self! i read in 2 days which means how good it was. If you are the romantic type and love novels that are romantic this is the book for you i really do advise you to read it!!I like the way 'Judy Blume' hasnt been afraid to use BAD LANGUAGE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My all time favourite, 26 Feb 2000
By A Customer
I first read this book aged 13. Now I'm 20 years old and it still takes pride of place on my book shelf. EVERY young adult should read this book. I know of many adults alike who have also read it and enjoyed it greatly. It made me laugh, it made me cry and it's still after all these years 1 of my all time favourites...and very true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book to read and re-read!, 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books i have ever read, and one i shall probably read again. Gives an interesting insight into a youngsters life and the discovery of the opposite sex. Beautifully writen and with a brilliant story line. If you only read 1 book this year make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing book ever!!!, 17 Mar 2007
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Judy Blume, and like to think that as I get older, there are more and more books of hers to read. Just As Long As We're Together was my favourite book of all time, until I got older and read Forever. It is an amazing story about love, hurt and confusion. A lot of people have said that the end is sad, which it is, but I think it's in a positive way (I can't say anything more, you'll have to read it yourself!). Now I'm reading some of her adult books, but I doubt any will ever beat the experience I had when I read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for younger teenagers, 7 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
This is a great read when you are young as it talks of the physical and emotional aspects of sex. Theerefore it is an educational read, so all those parents out there who don't like it should take time to actually read it. It is a way to understand sex without either party being embarassed. It is also well written and frankly is a good piece of fiction.I would reckommend this to anyone who will enjoy something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parents will always hate it, Teenagers will always buy it., 30 Mar 2003
By 
Lucy Reynolds "Lucy" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
This book will live on for generations. I remember when I was a teen, Forever was notorious and every girl read it even if their parents forbade them to buy a copy.
The reason why it is different from other books that are aimed at a teenage audience is because Blume doesn't patronise her readers. Instead she explores at full depth, the feelings, emotions and physical aspects of "first love".
I think that the biggest mistake made by parents is the assumption that this book is porn for teenagers. Yes there is detailed references to sex, but it's certainly not gratuitous and if anything it's more likely to teach teens that sex isn't about getting cheap thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forever, 19 May 2014
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
Forever was first published in the 1970's and was surrounded by a huge amount of controversy because of Judy Blume's realistic (and fairly graphic) portrayal of teenage sex and relationships. Compared to the kind of YA books we see published today it doesn't have the same shock factor that it did at that time but even when I first read the story (back in the 90's) it was one of a very small minority of books aimed at teenagers. As a teen I knew that picking up a book by Judy Blume I was going to get a story with characters who I could relate to and about relationships that were relevant to the things I was experiencing at the time so I read all of her books over and over again.

I was nervous about reading this book again now, after all it's been 20 years since I read it last and I was worried that it would be outdated. To be honest in a lot of ways it is, there is no mention of mobile phones or the internet, something that didn't matter when I first read it because they weren't common then either but that teenagers today will probably raise their eyes at! I don't think you get many 17 year olds meeting up to play backgammon and scrabble at fondue parties with their friends these days (even the dirty word variety) when they could be on the PlayStation or Xbox or out clubbing instead so there are some parts of the story that new readers won't necessarily connect to.

However, the important part of the story, the realistic look at first relationships - falling in love and thinking it will last forever, deciding when you're ready to have sex for the first time, how to deal with heartbreak - all of that is still just as relevant today as it was in the 70's. The latest version has a note from the author at the beginning talking about how birth control methods have changed and raising the point that it just as vital to protect from diseases by using condoms as it is to protect from pregnancy by using the pill (which is the method most girls prefer in the story) but what I enjoyed most was that it shows a much more lifelike version of sex than most novels.

The sex in Forever isn't perfect, it's messy and complicated but that's what makes it true to life. Most people's first time isn't all sunshine and roses, even if you're with a partner you love - especially if you're both fairly inexperienced. Boys don't always last forever and girls don't always orgasm but there is nothing wrong with that. This is the kind of book that will give teenagers realistic expectations about sex and how even if the first few times are a disaster that doesn't mean it won't get better. Practice really does make perfect in this case, especially if you're with someone who is willing to work at it!

I also love the message that Judy Blume sends about never letting anyone pressure you into doing something you're uncomfortable with. You are the only person who can decide if and when you're ready to take that step and there is nothing wrong with wanting to wait. Kath's reaction to her ex-boyfriend says it all:

"Sex was all he was ever interested in, which is why we broke up - because he threatened that if I wouldn't sleep with him he'd find somebody who would. I told him that if that was all he cared about he should go right ahead."

There are so many books aimed at teenagers these days that talk about similar issues and probably do so in a way that modern teenagers will find easier to relate to but Judy Blume had such a huge impact on teenage me and I will always love her for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forever
Forever by Judy Blume (Paperback - 4 Feb 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews