Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Sharon Creech so when I found this in my library..., 4 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
...I picked it up of course! It's brilliant - the chapters are really short, but I like that. It's a very difficult to put down, and the way that Sharon Creech describes things is great!
It's about a girl called Sophie who goes across the Atlantic Ocean to Britain from America. The diary features her story, and her cousin's diary, and it's quite unusual, having a story from two points of view. I like it though.
This book is a must for anyone who likes stories about people who discover themselves, or who likes Sharon Creech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is an Excellent book, 3 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wanderer (Hardcover)
I'm 12 years old and really enjoyed this book. It's about a girl called Sophie.Who with her uncles and two cousins (both boys) she is sailing across the atlantic ocean. When they reach England they will stay with Bompie. But Sophie has never met Bompie so how does she know his stories? A really good book mysterious and exciting. I would recomend Bloomibility, Walk two Moons, Absouletly Normal Chaos and Chasing red bird all by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Sharon Creech, 21 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
Sophie is on the adventure of a lifetime, crossing the Atlantic on board her Uncle Dock's boat, The Wanderer, with her three uncles and two cousins, Brian and Cody. On the way, when they're not too busy battling to keep the boat afloat, Sophie entertains the others with stories about their grandfather Bompie, who is waiting for them in England. She claims to have heard these stories from Bompie himself, but the others know that she has never actually met him.
The story of their journey is told partly from Sophie's journal, and partly from her cousin Cody's 'dog log', which he is reluctantly writing for a school project. Everyone thinks Cody is too flippant and doesn't take life seriously enough, but in his log he reveals himself to be sensitive and thoughtful, and also offers the reader another insight into Sophie's character.
The mark of a good book, for me, is that it leaves you thinking long after you have finished reading it. I stayed up late last night to finish reading The Wanderer, and I woke up thinking about it this morning. Sharon Creech creates such lovable characters that you really care what happens to them, and continue to hope things work out right for them even after the book has ended. If you enjoy this book as much as I did, you will also love her latest book Ruby Holler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wanderer, 3 May 2006
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
This was almost the longest English story that I have ever read before, at first, I was not a really good reader at first at the age that I was. Because of this book, it change my view of all the English books, I don't like English books at first, but now, I like to read them.

Sharon Creech describe the details in the action when Sophie and her cousins were in the ship, and Sophie, the main character was an orphan, she lives with her uncle in normal days, but one day, she heard that one of her uncle has build a ship and Sophie always has a dream that she wanted to sail in the sea, so this is the chance where she could sail lots of island. This is how she has started the journeys of her. She likes to tell story about her uncle: Mole. The story that Sophie told was only a fake story, but she added lots of action in it, I really enjoy the story that Sophie told, those were really fantastic action describe story!

And in Cody's dairy it told a bit more on the trip in the ship like looking at the dolphins and the whales.

I really recommend this book, because I really enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read!, 12 July 2007
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
I bought this book as a holiday read and i was hooked from the first page! This book is really well written and structured as well as being thought provoking. One to read again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is full of excitement of Sophie's famlies past., 9 May 2000
By A Customer
"I am not always such a dreamy girl, listening to the sea calling me. My father calls me Three-sided Sophie: one side is dreamy and romantic; one is logic and down to earth; and the third is hardheaded and impulsive." Thirteen-year-old Sophie, skipping between "dreamland or earthland or mule land," hears the sea calling her. Much to the concern of her fake parents, she decides to join her uncles and male cousins on a sailing voyage from Connecticut across the Atlantic to England on a 45-foot sailboat. Not only does she want to make the trip; she feels she has to Sophie is the only girl amongst the hotheaded crew of The Wanderer made up of her three uncles and two cousins. The sea calls to Sophie--promising adventure and the chance to explore and discover. But the personal journey she takes brings her deeper in to forgotten past than she ever knew she could travel to. Sophie's thirteen-year-old cousin Cody isn't even sure why his father brought him along on this voyage. Everyone, including his dad, thinks he's nothing but a knucklehead doofus. But behind all the goofing off, he wonders if he has the strength to prove himself to the crew and to his father. Through Sophie and Cody's travel logs, the amazing experiences of these six wanderers and their perilous journey unfold. Stories of the past and the daily challenges to survive at sea swirl together as The Wanderer sails toward its destination, and its passengers search for their places in the world. Along the way, Sophie proves her bravery and competence to the rather grumpy all-male crew; intrigues and captivates her cousin Cody with her beautiful, odd stories of Bompie that always somehow ends in underwater disaster and apple pie; and spills her heart into a daily journal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book for every reader, 1 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
I was asked to read this book for a book review at my school. I usually prefer to read Judy Blume titles, but i gave it a go and i am so pleased i did so. The book is written about a journey a young girl, Sophie, of around 12 takes with her cousins and uncles, on a boat. It describes her emotions and uncovers secrets and feelings as she takes to the ocean in an imaginative, caring way. At first i found the book hard to get into, but after a few chapters i found it hard to put down. The beautiful language and colourful adjectives Ms Creech uses really spring the book to life. The storyline was interesting and always kept you guessing the ending. As it was on a boat, the author wrote using the correct terms for the instruments, and usually i find this uninteresting and offputtting in a book, if i do not understand the meaning of the content, but it did not matter because Ms Creech's language expressed such emotion that it did not matter, all in all an excellent read, brilliant for all people, whether they're in love with sailing, or love with books, or just need a change, whatever this is a perfect read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars when she started reading it she said that it was the best book she`d ever read, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
I got this for my daughter (age 11) to read, when she started reading it she said that it was the best book she`d ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 April 2015
By 
W. Gaskell "Gaskell" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wanderer (Paperback)
Yet to read but looks interesting and came highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is about a girl, Sophie, that liked sailing., 24 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wanderer (Library Binding)
I liked this book because it was interesting + exciting. The genre of this book is adventure. The book is about a girl that liked sailing the girl is called Sophie. Her mum didn't want Sophie to go sailing but nothing would stop her. Also her two uncles tried to talk her out of it. But Sophie wouldn't change her mind. So one day after fixing everything on The Wanderer, Sophie and her two Uncles Mo + Stew + her two cousins Cody + Brian, decided to go sailing, but on there voyage from Connecticut to Crosshaven, across the Atlantic Ocean something terrible happened........
I think that the opening is very effective because it makes you want to read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wanderer
The Wanderer by Sharon Creech (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews