Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great indoor entertainment for word freaks!, 7 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
We keep buying this series of crossword books because they are the best that we have found for our level of knowledge. We can't always complete the crosswords but it is fun trying :) When we reached the last one available we just re-oredred the first book again as we could not remember all the clues and answers anyway after a longish period of time! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you'd expect, 21 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
This is a book of crossword puzzles with many clues based on (sometimes very obscure) general knowledge. I have to say that I find some of the clues pretty poor actually but it's fine for flights and holidays. However, I am intrigued to see 'Used' copies available. How much demand can there be for used crossword puzzles ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not without fault, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
R. J. Hole (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
These crosswords, first published in 1999, all use 15 x 15 grids which is a format that is easy to fit onto the page. The level of difficulty often seems easy but not always and there may be some clues which stump you. If you guess the answer you will often be right. I.e. the question may seem complex but the answer is very often a common word. However, I also struggled a lot on some of them even to the extent of giving up and looking at the answer. I might not have done so if I had not mistrusted the clues. There was the occasion misprint or errors. E.g. one glaring mistake was that Patrese won the 1992 Portuguese Grand Prix, not Mansell. (Patrese won the 1992 Japanese Grand Prix). Something like that can really spoil a crossword. On balance though, the puzzles are a great test of your knowledge, spelling ability, and your powers of finding answers. Some good reference books or the internet will be needed to solve them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunday Telegraph First Book of General Knowledge Crosswords, 2 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
Great Fun and not too difficult, why isn't there No 2 - 3 - etc. I ended up buying the same edition as the one that we had completed so had to pass it on to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for a coffee break., 29 Oct. 2012
By 
M. Godwin (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
The crosswords in this book are just right if you have a short break. They contain a good mixture of clues for a range of abilities which can stretch your thinking but give you the satisfaction of solving a puzzle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUNDAY TELEGRAPH BOOK OF GENERAL KNOWLEDGE CROSS WORDS, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
MY DAUGHTER PURCHASED THIS FOR HER FATHER IN LAW. WE ARE NOT INTO CROSSWORDS BUT HE WAS WELL PLEASED AND ENJOYED DOING THE CROSSWORDS. GREAT PRESENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crossword book, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
this is one of two i bought to take on holiday with me. i knew i would have plenty of time on my hands so it suited my purposes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars General Knowledge Crossword Book, 14 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords is a first class crossword teaser and always enjoyable and challenging. Book arrived on time and well packaged. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super price and fast delivery :), 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
Excellent service and quality item, would definitely recommend to others.
Item is just what i was looking for and more than happy to buy from you again in the near future :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encourage the brain cells, 1 Jan. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords (Paperback)
bought as a gift, recipient very pleased, will keep him occupied for many hours, buying the 2nd book for another gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords
The Sunday Telegraph Book of General Knowledge Crosswords by Telegraph Group Limited (Paperback - 21 May 1999)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews