Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT GET CAUGHT IN...THE FOG
This is a superlative, well-crafted horror story with a quite original storyline. Taking place in foggy, old England, a dense, yellowish fog suddenly arises from the depths of the earth, infiltrating the minds of all whom it envelops and taking away all restraint. Suddenly, all formerly sane individuals find themselves acting as if they were beings out of Dante's Inferno...
Published on 19 Jan 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of blood
James Herbert has a very vivid imagination only half way through and I'v lost count of the dead.But I will say you have to keep reading.
Published 17 months ago by Nobby


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT GET CAUGHT IN...THE FOG, 19 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
This is a superlative, well-crafted horror story with a quite original storyline. Taking place in foggy, old England, a dense, yellowish fog suddenly arises from the depths of the earth, infiltrating the minds of all whom it envelops and taking away all restraint. Suddenly, all formerly sane individuals find themselves acting as if they were beings out of Dante's Inferno. It is a disaster from which there is seemingly no end.
As the fog moves from place to place, it leaves in its wake a swath of grisly devastation, as murders, rapes, mass suicides, and looting become a way of life. Even animals succumb to the fog, as treasured pets turn on their owners. Only one man has managed to emerge with his sanity still intact, and a group of scientists in an underground laboratory are laboring to find out the reason for his seeming immunity. For in him lies the secret to the fog's destruction and the liberation of mankind from the effects of the fog. Time, however, is of the essence and is running out.
This is really a terrific novel, well paced, tautly written, and totally absorbing. It is an absolute page turner, with scenes of horror matter factly written, making it all the more believable and horrific, while tinged by a trace of dark humor. The tension is crisply maintained throughout the entire book, from start to finish, and makes for a riveting read that is hard to put down. This is a must read for all those who love a good horror story. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treat from the 70s, 17 May 2011
By 
Mark West (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
When an apparent earthquake, in a sleepy Wiltshire town, creates a rupture in the road, a fog escapes. Holman, a government worker looking into potential misdeeds by the MOD, breathes it in and turns insane, before being successfully treated. The fog then makes its way along the south coast, turning everyone who encounters it into a maniac, until it reaches London. Published in 1975, my memories of this (read when I was in my teens) encompass three key set pieces - the gym, the pigeon fancier and the sex scene and as a more world-weary 42 year old, the gym sequence still works very well. The pigeon fancier suffers the same fate as many other `incidents' - you get to know the characters, in the full knowledge that they're going to die shortly - and the sex scene is remarkably coy (so much so that I wondered if I'd missed one). There's also a lengthy section in the middle, where Holman goes to a meeting at Whitehall, that is so full of exposition it literally stops the story dead. Having said that, this is full of terrific sequences - the church attack, the madness-induced fight that Casey (Holman's girlfriend) and Holman have and the superb Bournemouth sequence, which is truly brilliant, whilst making you cringe at the sheer scale and terror of it. The climax descended a little too much into 50s/60s sci-fi tropes for me, but a good read nonetheless and it still packs a solid punch. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant example of horror writing. A total classic., 17 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
As a childhood fan of every horror film from Nightmare on Elm street to Dawn of the Dead, I never had any trouble with any form of horror. Most books I had read completely failed to scare me. Until a friend recomended James Herbert's books to me. I went out and bought The Fog the next day, not believing that a book could ever be so scary. But when I started reading I found that not only could I not put the book down, reading for several hours straight, but I was near terrified! I had never read a book so bleak, so impossible, yet completely believable ,due to the brilliant descriptions of the events which take place. If you have not read it, buy it. If you have read it, don't you think it's time you read it again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Kindle Edition)
The Fog is a well crafted novel and fun to read. There is always something happening in the book, it doesn't go on for pages describing like some of Herbert's later novels. The story line is brilliant and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Workmanlike British Sci-Fi Horror, 18 July 2011
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: THE FOG (Audio CD)
A gripping story of an accident and its aftermath. The central character is well realised and there is empathy generated for all of the characters which are the strongest part of this novel. The idea of a government-military mistake and the attempt at cover up contrasted with the bravery of all those trying to deal with it, is described better than most novels. It is a bit dated being clearly set in the 1970s but that does not detract from the story. However do not expect too much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book!, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Kindle Edition)
This book is so well written and hard to put down. Makes you wonder what chilling secrets our own government may be hiding and what cover-up may have already taken place! On to the next book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes other horror seem tame., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I started it with trepidation. I erroneously associated with a good but rather tame John Carpenter film. This book is much more visceral than I expected. However, it is not the gore or level of violence that makes this novel work it is the pacing. From the very beginning we are quickly brought into the character's individual worlds only to watch them become twisted and warped both physically and mentally. A much recommended book that thrives on its portrayals of madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars foggy days, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Paperback)
Another great book by James Herbert. Absolutely brilliant. An unforgettable read. You'll certainly think about walking in the fog. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fogs, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fog (Kindle Edition)
This was a great read you didnt want to put it down and you could almost imagine that this could actually happen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BE AFRAID...BE VERY AFRAID..., 22 Nov 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fog (Hardcover)
This is a superlative, well-crafted horror story with quite an original storyline. Taking place in foggy, old England, a dense, yellowish fog suddenly arises from the bowels of the earth, infiltrating the minds of all whom it envelops and removing all restraint. Suddenly, formerly sane individuals find themselves acting as if they were beings out of Dante's Inferno. It is a disaster from which there is seemingly no end.
As the fog moves from place to place, it leaves in its wake a swath of grisly devastation, as murder, rape, mass suicide, and looting become a way of life. Even animals succumb to the fog, which turns treasured pets into killers that their owners cannot control. Only one man has managed to emerge with his sanity still intact, and a group of scientists in an underground laboratory are laboring to find out the reason for his seeming immunity. For in him lies the secret to the fog's destruction and the liberation of mankind from the effects of the fog. Time, however, is of the essence and is running out.
This is really a terrific novel, well-paced, tautly written, and totally absorbing. It is an absolute page turner, with scenes of horror written in a spare, no nonsense, matter of fact style, making it all the more believable and horrific, all while tinged by a trace of dark humor. The tension is crisply maintained throughout the entire book from start to finish, which makes for a riveting read that is hard to put down. This is a must read for all those who love a good horror story. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fog
The Fog by James Herbert (Paperback - 23 April 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews