Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars406
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2014
Great book only spoiled by the prologue at the beginning was missing from the e book. Great read this is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Keeps you on your toes do not want to put it down
Cannot wait to read next book for a sleepless night
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
This a brilliant book, you just cannot put it down once you start reading it. Great Author will be missed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Another good read from James Herbert and a good twist at the end. I'll never look at rats in the same way
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Easy to read and quite enjoyed it Would read the other books related to this one Love James Herbert books
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I first read this book 34 years ago and its still as wonderful now as it was then a truly excellent read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This is one of the books you can keep going back too. Horror at it's best. Five stars for James Herbert.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2007
James herberts first book served a purpose in the 1970's that has more recently been filled by Harry Potter, in that it introduced youngsters to reading.

The story is that of huge rats (some the size of small dogs)which were a product of radiation induced mutations, terrorising London. Herbert is no Edgar Allen Poe, but his longevity alone surely must show he does have something. The style is very easy to read, and edge of the seat suspense and continuous action will keep you going to the next page.

To the more learned, or to the older, the book is also a fine reflection in may ways of 1970's Britain. Herbert really manages to capture the feeling of an era which we now look back on as defined by the 3 day week, strikes, disollusionment, beakdown of society etc etc.

So this is a book which can be read on a variety of levels, and perhaps one day may even find a place among more serious literature for its sociological aspects.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A great read, can't wait to start next book, would recommend this book to anyone who likes a scary book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
A superb book, keeping me on the edge of my seat until I finished it. A real page turner - brilliant!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.