Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Book: A Lesson For All
Glancing back from the vantage point of 2010, it's difficult to believe how much Northern Ireland has altered since Colm Toibin set out on his lone journey of the border area in the summer of 1987.

Toibin's ability as a writer, literally drags you along on his initial quest to explore and experience his painful religious pilgrimage to Lough Derg, concluding...
Published on 5 May 2010 by Damian Mc Donagh

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Great Disappointment !
The Prose in this book is beautiful and wonderfully descriptive !
The walk is described and meanders back and forth across the border BUT THERE IS NO
MAP ! I got most frustrated and confused as to where we were, which spoiled this book for me.
I then read that this book was originally called "Walking Along The Border" with photographs and MAP !
That...
Published 19 months ago by Gray Hamme


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Book: A Lesson For All, 5 May 2010
By 
Damian Mc Donagh (Galway Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border (Paperback)
Glancing back from the vantage point of 2010, it's difficult to believe how much Northern Ireland has altered since Colm Toibin set out on his lone journey of the border area in the summer of 1987.

Toibin's ability as a writer, literally drags you along on his initial quest to explore and experience his painful religious pilgrimage to Lough Derg, concluding with his tearful ending in the killing fields of South Armagh.

Bravery, yes bravery abounds too as Toibin a southern Catholic leaves little to the imagination when he inadvertently finds himself in the middle of a heated Protestant demonstration aimed at the hated Anglo-Irish Agreement in Derry city, one in which he manages to escape unscathed.

Through his wonderful book, Toibin has created his own piece of Irish history that will certainly mark a troubled time in Northern Ireland's recent past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Blood - difficult roads, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border (Paperback)
I found this a very interesting read. Toibin's journey was difficult and scary in places and his writing conveyed a real feeling of the difficulty faced by people living in the area at the time of his journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent account, 14 Mar 2014
By 
pamela maclennan (highlands of scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border (Paperback)
I did not really appreciate the great divide between the North and South until I read this thin volume. Much to consider, and the book is well paced ( sorry for the pun) Colm Toibin is an excellent writer and I am now looking forward to his other travel books as well as his fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a walk along the Irish border in darker times, 21 Dec 2013
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border (Paperback)
In this interesting book, Costa prize winning novelist Colm Toibin, relates the tale of his walk along the border between the Irish republic and Northern Ireland in 1987, and the people he met along the way. It is remarkable to think how much has changed for the better in a relatively short period of time and just how tragic and dangerous the troubles were for the people and their families who were directly involved or caught up in them.

Toibin meets quite a few interesting characters on both sides of the divide, and brilliant recounts the mixture of friendliness and sometimes deep suspicion which greeted him during his travels. The book would certainly have benefited from a map - it can be hard to follow his progress at times without one - but an informative, though often sad read nontheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Great Disappointment !, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Gray Hamme (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border (Paperback)
The Prose in this book is beautiful and wonderfully descriptive !
The walk is described and meanders back and forth across the border BUT THERE IS NO
MAP ! I got most frustrated and confused as to where we were, which spoiled this book for me.
I then read that this book was originally called "Walking Along The Border" with photographs and MAP !
That book is the one everyone should buy instead of this short changed paperback.
I wrote to Com Toibin (via his agent) to tell him about the lack of map in the Picador version but no reply as yet>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border
Bad Blood: A Walk Along the Irish Border by Colm Toibin (Paperback - 21 May 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews