Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2000
If you liked 'Take It Like A Man' by Boy George, you'll probably enjoy Marc Almonds account of his antics in the 80's and 90's. He writes frankly about the friends, musicians, producers, record company bosses and general 'hangers on' with whom he surrounded himself. An odd mix of self depreciation and total belief that he is a 'star'. You dont need to be an a Soft Cell or Marc Almond fan to enjoy this.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2003
Marc reveals himself warts and all in a highly entertaining auto-biography. His account of the "art-terrorists" at Leeds Poly, though only 2 or 3 paras long, is a hoot - though shocking too to the animal-lover in me. His conversational style is engaging, though too often he uses cliches and tautologies - all deaths are "sad" or "tragic", someone does something with "serious determination" (when was determination ever frivolous?)
He's very insightful on the nature of fame and not afraid to reveal his petty side: he didn't like Rowan Atkinson's Not The 9 o'clock News skit on him - and didn't understand it either - so calls Atkinson's talent into question. ("He" answered the interview while miming to a tape that kept slowing down and speeding up - some at the time wrongly imagined ALL electronic bands' performances were recorded).
Despite my reservations on style, it's an absorbing and substantial read, well worth the money.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
Marc Almond show's that he has a real flair for writing and comes over as funny as well as a great musician. He certainly doesn't pull any punches about the depths he sunk to in the drug world and could possibly be the first pop ecstacy junkie in the U.K. alway's a trend setter Marc...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
The 80's was my era and having quite recently read (& loved!) both Boy George's & Steve Strange's literary offerings I was expecting great things with Marc's story and although this is not quite as good as the aforementioned tomes, I felt that Marc gave an earnest, forthright, emotional and personally responsible view of his childhood, his outrageous years at art school, the rise and fall of Soft Cell and his solo career, in an intimate and conversational way, that proved both captivating and informative.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
This is certainly the best autobiography I have read for a long time. Marc has not used a ghostwriter, which gives the book a greater intimacy - and he certainly writes well.
Whether you care for his music or not I recommend this book highly as it gives a lucid insight into the highs, lows and excesses of the pop world.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
I was very pleased with this purchase. The book was exactly as described by the seller and arrived quickly and in good order. I would have no hesitation in buying from this seller again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2000
This book focuses on Marc's llife from where he grew up in Southport to his Soft Cell days and present day. It is a fantascinating book that any fan should buy because you get to know the real marc - the truth that you do not here in the papers!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2006
I love well-written and long books, so this fit the bill reasonably well. It's full of anecdotes about Marc's colourful life and evokes the early 80s really well. The childhood reminiscences are frequently powerful and unflinching. But there's also a lot on the music and it's fascinating to see Almond commenting on 'Torment And Toreros'. In short, it combines his creative and personal life very well and I was pleased to see that it was 400+ rather than a briefer bio. Almond's story is eventful enough that this should appeal to general rock fans as well as Soft Cell aficiandos.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
marc takes the reader on a roller coaster ride which is his life,extremely well written,Marc's sense of humour shines through,considering some of the events along the way it's a wander he survived to tell the tale,he's definately one of a kind.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2004
I read this on my morning and evening commute, and every now and then couldn't help but blurt out a chuckle. Don't get me wrong, this book takes you through the highs and the lows. But the way it's written, it's like he's actually there telling the stories about Lydia Lunch or about Andy Warhole - in fact the whole trip, but it also felt like he really needed to write this to exercise the ghosts - his dad - the manipulators. A book like this normally takes me a couple of weeks, but I found myself sitting on the train after everyone had gotten off, because I was so absorbed. It only took me 5 days to read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)