Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory Reading for Football Lovers
Bobby Robson? He's old, boring, and surely senile. Not!
I am ashamed of my first impressions of the man. Lingering images of him helplessly grimacing and gesticulating on the bench, his less than eloquant performances in press conferences, and countless negative press reports of the man have taken its toll. His inability to remember names is legendary and...
Published on 30 Aug. 2000

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brief overview of somebody who has done so much
Even though the book gives an overview of Robson's career, I always feel that a book like this should either give an insight into the profession, or put the 'meat to the bones'. I would say this book is a good buy for anyone who has not read his career history in a newspaper, if you have, it's up to you.
Published on 6 Jan. 2000 by colinbutler@talk21.com

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory Reading for Football Lovers, 30 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad (Paperback)
Bobby Robson? He's old, boring, and surely senile. Not!
I am ashamed of my first impressions of the man. Lingering images of him helplessly grimacing and gesticulating on the bench, his less than eloquant performances in press conferences, and countless negative press reports of the man have taken its toll. His inability to remember names is legendary and hilarious. Yet, I rate this as one of the best books written by a manager who is still very much in the front line of the game.
Mr Robson doesn't just give you chronological blow-by-blow summary of his life. The book is filled with views and opinions on the game today. Mr Robson had no hesitation in persuading Barcelona to buy Ronaldo at what was considered an astronomical figure back then. Barca subsequently made a tidy profit on Ronaldo. The fees involved were paltry compared to the fees today. The point is, Mr Robson is not a man of the past. Mr Robson has foresight, and he has much to contribute to the game today. His views are relevant and worth listening to.
Mr Robson's enthusiasm (why does he still bother, you wonder?), honesty and integrity (Harry Redknapp's autobiography makes an interesting contrasting study), warmth and humour (yes, he has a sense of humour, the chapter on his time at Ipswich Town is hilarious), and his immense managerial experience (he succesfully coached teams in 3 countries) make this compulsory reading for all students of the game. You'll learn something and be entertained at the same time.
Respect. The man deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book written by a brilliant manager, 5 May 2002
By 
attan111 (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad (Paperback)
Bobby Robson is rightfully a football legend. He looks back upon his career in this book with great fervour and pride. The book gives a good account of his times a various clubs but for me seems to focus more on his relationships with various chairmen as opposed to those formed with players such as Figo and Ronaldo. Bob could have given a more detailed insight into this and possibly a more detailed look at how he adapted to living and integrating into the various cultures and countries where he managed. Nevertheless, this is a fine read. enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is Only One Sir Bobby, 30 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad (Paperback)
Sir Bobby Robson is a legend not only in Newcastle, where he was born and now manages but all over the world.
Bobby talks about his run ins with World Class players like Romario and Figo. Not many managers can talk about managing world class player in our era like SBR can. Players like Gascoigne, Liniker, Butcher, Beardsley, Shilton, Figo, Ronaldo (Twice), Van Nistlerooy, and Shearer the list goes on.
SBR is also the most successful English manager and shall in many people’s eyes be a legend. He also talks about his time as Barca boss and the way he was treated, coming Runners up and winning a cup over here in England would been seen as a great triumph this is not so on the continent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Football from a global perspective, 31 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad (Paperback)
A good book this providing a variety of views across a number of tiers starting from scouting in English lower divisions right up to globe trotting for the creme de la creme on behalf of Barcelona. We see the traumas of being involved with several colourful directors and are presented with several ways forward for the English game that other autobiographies from current leaders like Ferguson cannot offer due to their junior years. The Barcelona affair make for fascinating reading in terms of really understanding what pressure is all about at a really big club. Perhaps most impressive of all is the way Robson adapted to his new role as Barcelona's Director of Football when many others would have walked away after having to make way for Van Gaal. So much so that he made the job the envy of many others in the industry.
The only bad point is that Robson is somewhat of a self publicist and it's clear to see that this book is a bit of a C.V. for either the England job or a top premier posting judging by the number of hints he drops throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brief overview of somebody who has done so much, 6 Jan. 2000
This review is from: My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad (Paperback)
Even though the book gives an overview of Robson's career, I always feel that a book like this should either give an insight into the profession, or put the 'meat to the bones'. I would say this book is a good buy for anyone who has not read his career history in a newspaper, if you have, it's up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocker, 7 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad (Paperback)
I've long since given up trying to find any real wisdom in the pages of biogs "written" by football's ego-maniacs. But wor Bobby really surprised me. A bloke I've always respected managed to put himself across as a very self-serving piece of work. Robson clearly has achieved a lot in the game, but there's no real insight here: what did he actually do at Ipswich that brought all that success? He certainly does come over as a mass of contradictions. One moment he's banging on about how he's an honourable man and would never break a contract but forgets that he's spent the previous chapter explaining how he's attempted to do this repeatedly and actually managed it once. Throughout the book he goes on about how he's got football in the blood and money's not important, but he continually frames all his decisions with their financial benefits and, at one stage, doesn't take the opportunity to manage Benfica (becoming the only person to manage the big 3 in Portugal) to stay a year at Barcelona in a fairly unclear "Director of Football" role - because the £350k a year that Benfica are offering isn't enough to tempt him. Barca were prepared to top up his shortfall (so keen were they to get shot) but he refused to confirm to Benfica how much they were contributing (so he could lever as much as possible). Just seems odd - if you're a self serving old money-grabber and you write a book about how you're a self serving old money grabber, don't think that peppering it with comments about how you're not money motivated will give you any credibility. Not the worst biog ever,just a painfully average account of an interesting life, told without irony, insight or self-analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Answers, 19 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
As an addition to the previous review. Robson has managed some of the most skilled football players in the world; Romario, Ronaldo, Gasgoigne, Barnes, Figo and Stoichkov are just some that he has trained. But yet, he actually believes that Alan Shearer is a player comparable to those greats. Does Robson actually know football? His book is just an example of how many English managers perceive the game with a working class mind. That is why so many great individual players have been left out of England teams when it really mattered and why England have failed to produce since 1966. It is also the reason why the Premier League's top teams are run by foreigners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad
My Autobiography: An Englishman Abroad by Bob Harris (Paperback - 13 Aug. 1999)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Farewell but not Goodbye: My Autobiography
Farewell but not Goodbye: My Autobiography by Bobby Robson (Hardcover - 27 July 2005)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28)   

Sir Bobby Robson: A Life in Football
Sir Bobby Robson: A Life in Football by Bob Harris (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2009)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   

Bobby Robson: Farewell But Not Goodbye - My Autobiography
Bobby Robson: Farewell But Not Goodbye - My Autobiography by Bobby Robson (Paperback - 15 Sept. 2005)
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)