Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Human. Honest
This is a right odd book - it comes in a box and consists of 27 loose leaf sections which, apart from the first and last sections, the reader is encouraged to read in a random order. The story begins when the narrator steps off the train in an unidentified East Midlands City on his way to an assignment to report upon the City V. United match. He begins to recognise the...
Published on 9 Aug 2000

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had me tied up in Notts...
This is indeed a box containing 25 unbound chapters that you are encouraged to read in any order - so long as they are braced within a designated first and last chapter. It works too. Cut this review into sentences and read them at random - you'll still get the gist, ha, although you probably won't bother to shuffle them and read it again. BS Johnson might (as Jonathan...
Published on 7 July 2011 by Sporus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Human. Honest, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
This is a right odd book - it comes in a box and consists of 27 loose leaf sections which, apart from the first and last sections, the reader is encouraged to read in a random order. The story begins when the narrator steps off the train in an unidentified East Midlands City on his way to an assignment to report upon the City V. United match. He begins to recognise the city and, upon searching his memory, reminisces about how his old friend Tony had once lived here. What follows (in an entirely random order) is a heart-rending tale about his friend's battle against cancer. The narrator's respect for Tony and his battle is apparent thoughout the book, yet his honesty about his own selfishness in his attitude to Tony's slowly fading life is, at times horrifying - largely because we can probably see a part of ourselves in the character traits he displays. This is one of my favorite books partly because of the way it portrays a city that I have known and loved, but primarily because it is so human
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous experimental novel about time & loss, 30 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
So, is this timely reprint produced in a box of loose sections like the original? I hope so. This is Johnson's infamous 'random' novel; the first and last sections are specified, the other twenty-odd can be read in any order.
But, more than just an experiment for the sake of it, this is a very fine novel indeed, the form arising organically from the subject matter.
Johnson's subject is bereavement, time and loss. The narrator, a football reporter, is sent to the city where his friend once lived. His friend is now dead from cancer. The book's form echoes the random workings of memory, as, through interior monologue, a story of regret and immense sadness is slowly unpeeled. Perhaps the random form is also an attempt to defy the finality and linearity of time?
Ironically, at the end of this day of painful recollections, the (public) result is a succinct report of a very dull football match.
Johnson's ear for language is spot on as ever. Highly evocative, the book is never sentimental, yet always poignant. And somehow it also manages to avoid being depressing.
This is my second favourite novel of all time (after Alasdair Gray's 'Lanark') - highly recommended.
Mike Alexander,
Brighton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handsome example of an experimental novel that works, 14 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
Books which monkey around with the reader's affections and attention - by all sorts of people, from Sterne to Italo Calvino - infuriate and inspire in equal measures. Johnson's novel is an example of a book of this type that actually delivers an emotional punch. What's more, the interactive format (which allows the reader to shuffle all sections save the first and last into an order of his or her choosing) says something genuinely profound about the way our minds work: it's strange how we construct linear story even when the elements of story are crazily jumbled. Johnson's is a brilliant yet also deeply human novel, and it would be a fitting tribute to this fine but neglected writer if Picador were to enhance the initiative they've taken in reissuing the title in harback by issuing a paperback (or should that be "paper bag"?) version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very true to itself......, 7 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
Reading this 'novel' was an experience for me, being the first BS Johnson book I have read. 'Read' however is perhaps not the right word, as it is really more absorbing someone else's memories. The format of loose leaflets to be read in any order appealed to me, as it was far more true to the reality of human memory. If I think of anyone I've known, I inevitably remember them as scenes or fragments at different times and different places.
This is well worth a read, even if you are unsure of the unorthodox style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 14 May 2009
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Firstly, a warning: Don't try to read this book on the bus or the train - you will get some very strange looks indeed.

"The Unfortunates" looks incredible - a paperback-sized box, inside which are twenty-seven thin pamphlets, the smallest of which is a single sheet, the thickest only twelve pages. One of the pamphlets is marked "FIRST", another "LAST", but the rest are unmarked and can be read in any order. This is why you can't read it on the bus or the train - it is a little awkward pulling leaflets out of the box, plus people wonder what on earth you are doing! Besides, the package is too attractive to treat with anything other than kid gloves.

So what is it about? Before I bought the book I had an idea that something so unstructured as this could only be dealing with a fragmented topic, such as memories or reminiscences, and that's exactly what "The Unfortunates" is. The book opens with a journalist (Johnson) arriving in a town to cover a football match, and he suddenly starts to remember an old friend who was killed by cancer. Each of the subsequent pamphlets covers a particular scene from his life, and they can indeed be read in any order. The writing is superb, sometimes tender, sometimes angry, sometimes laugh-out-loud amusing, but always excellent.

For fans of experimental fiction this is a stunning piece of work; for casual readers it could be a little overwhelming, but is absolutely worth the effort.

Now to find the rest of Johnson's work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter pleased !!!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
Purchased this unusual 60's lost classic for my daughter . She is studying and is very interested in 'experimental writing ' . This book is a perfect example of this genre .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Experiment, 20 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
A book that comes in a book-shaped box! Twenty-seven sections, one labelled `first', one `last' and the reader is free to choose the order in which they read the interceding 25 sections. This isn't a device for the sake of being tricksy, but the author wants to replicate the random and unreliable nature that our memories work.

A writer and journalist is sent to cover a soccer match in a Midlands town. As he steps off the train two hours ahead of kick-off, a host of memories rush into his head as this is a town chockfull of resonance for him. He met one of his best friends who was at University here when he had travelled up for a collaboration on student newspapers. His friend died of cancer at just 29 and the book is a series of chopped up recollections of the triangular friendship together with the man's wife, the narrator's own love life, the disease and the nature of writing itself.

As he makes his meandering progress to the football stadium, via café, butchers and pub, he recalls time spent with his friends in various towns. Sometimes the architecture eludes him as he can't pinpoint which pub or café, or sometimes the architecture itself has changed with progress. Equally he struggles to pinpoint whether the man's wife, or whichever of his own female consorts was present in some recollected event or not. As much as memory floods in on an emotional level, in its caprice some of the details are denied him and they of course can inflect his emotional response to the memory. It's interesting that one section is him finally sat in the press box, desultorily composing his report as the match proceeds, limited by both the clichéd language of sports reporting which he'd like to burst out from, plus the word limit of his column inches which pretty much predetermines what he can write even before the match kicks off and play takes what direction it will. On the inside of the box his final match report is printed, and reads very bland and lacking all the linguistic flourishes demonstrated throughout the rest of the book.

There were a couple of places where I didn't feel the narrative conceit was consistent. It was fortunate that the penultimate section I read happened to be him in the press box of the ground. What would have happened if I'd happened to read that after the `first chapter', the timing would have been way off. This did happen when an early section I read had him on the final part of his walk up to the ground, when later I read sections where he stopped off to buy some meat at a butchers. Just seemed to me that the author could have got around these timing problems easily enough but just hadn't noticed or tried.

And what of the overall effect of the narrative conceit? My path through is in all likelihood going to be different from any other reader, since their section choices will be different from mine. I think it worked well for both the horrendous rise and fall of hope as the path of the friend's cancer is traced and also that of memory's fragmentedness too. As Johnson has his protagonist comment, "yes how the mind arranges itself, tries to sort for things into orders, is perturbed if things are not sorted, are not in the right order, nags away..." This is by far the most interesting parts of the narrative as he struggles over whether it was his first visit to their house, or whether he drove as his friend had not yet passed his driving test, whether that was the occasion when he'd bought a certain book on architecture and so on. And then in the light of his friend's premature death, does any of it matter anyway? "My mind passes dully over the familiar ground of my prejudices, so much of thought is repetition, is dullness, is sameness".

Definitely an interesting read, if not a gripping one, since the subject matter is both mundane (in the sense of what is being recalled) and grim in respect of the disease. If you're interested in literary experimentation, or trying to get to grips with a more realistic mimesis of how the human mind works, I'd say read this novel. if however you are after an entertaining read for entertainment's sakes, then possibly not. It certainly sparked my creative imagination and helped me resolve a project of my own that had become stalled. The idea of a reader navigating their own path through a narrative (and not a quest or treasure-finding one) is deliciously enticing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed the book, I like the loose sections and the way it can be read in almost any order, a real classic. I am going to work my way through the rest of B.S. Johnson's cannon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kaleidoscopic Literature, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
So that's why I liked The Unfortunates.

And unlike so many books I've read, It can be a different book, again, and again. This is because it is an example of experimental literature, from the days of broken 'phones and Henry Kissinger, strikes and strikes and go-slows, when digital was a variation of manual, and Georges Monbiot hadn't even been thought about.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Unfortunates, even more than I enjoyed the adaptation on Radio 3.

Without doubt, this is the only book I've ever bought, edited, read and then changed, and certainly the only one that came to me in a box that was as vital a part of the work as the words. (The limitations of Kindle etc, are cruelly exposed by The Unfortunates)

The protagonist, having graduated from his maybe-happy student days, has risen sans trace to be a sports reporter.
He returns to the city where he studied to write a comically generic report of a football game. His best friend is now dying. Or is dead - depends on how you shake up the contents of the box, doesn't it?

Two details; inside a Yates Wine Bar, and a football writer's gag about his student memory of a pre-Raphelite painter. BS Johnson was an economical and highly observant writer, who deserved far greater recognition for his development of William Burroughs' techniques into something clever, sophisticated and loaded with meanings and questions.

Though I suppose the weather each time you pick up any book affects how what you think about it. There is, undoubtedly, a temptation to play with this box of a book... and leave it about for friends and (especially) children to mess around with.

And you get to mix up all the sections of the story, so it can be a kaleidoscope book....or incomprehensible drivel.

Maybe if I mix up the parts a different way, I'll come up with a different review - what do you think? I dare say this novel has influenced all kinds of writers and painters and film-makers in the many years since it was published, but what does that matter? All that matters, really, is the thing in itself, the work itself, and the times and people that made BS Johnson create it.

There is a good case, I think, for arguing that The Unfortunates is a form of art as writing, as well as a novel, in the sense that Map and 2HB in Scotland embrace writing as visual art in itself. Since when did any of us think of any experience in a defined, incontestable narrative, anyway? Any time you try, you end up with Rashomon...each experience is individual, experienced individually, and nothing is either true or untrue within that experience. Yet another fully-formed, fully effective plateau. And then it's gone.

I'll bet someone else does...and I did find it moving, and I imagine most people will be touched by what happens to Johnson's characters.

Though I guess that what makes one man's kaleidoscopic literature and another man's incomprehensible drivel has more to do with one's clothes, one's surroundings and one's friends, rather than whether the Unfortunates comes in many different bits, inside a box, with a pompous intro by Jonathan Coe.

There is however, something very sad about The Unfortunates; BS Johnson killed himself, far, far too young. His was a real and imaginative talent, and deserves far greater recognition than that received to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had me tied up in Notts..., 7 July 2011
By 
Sporus (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Unfortunates (Hardcover)
This is indeed a box containing 25 unbound chapters that you are encouraged to read in any order - so long as they are braced within a designated first and last chapter. It works too. Cut this review into sentences and read them at random - you'll still get the gist, ha, although you probably won't bother to shuffle them and read it again. BS Johnson might (as Jonathan Coe's introduction suggests) be attempting to mirror the autocthony of the mind and he might have 'admired' Beckett and Joyce. But, hey, so a book meanders in the way that thoughts cluster (let's duck Nabokov's assertion that we actually think in geometric images): well... so what? Johnson has none of Joyce's etymological depth and while at times he apes Beckett's rhythms his devotion to mundane contingency puts him entirely at odds with the runnel-faced Irishman. However you cut it, ha, Johnson is a 16-stone bloke who relates tales about women whose 'maidenheads are like dried washleathers' and who denigrates an ex-girlfriend who cheated on him because she didn't know how to cook or sew. Academics are 'ignorant bastards', while it's self-evident that blokes who like beer and football and affect not to know whether Descartes lived before Byron can't be pompous - even if they write 'experimental novels' interjected with the word 'ha'. In 1969 'The Unfortunates' was presumably a modish attack on form and convention that sat ha-handsomely next to the fondue set; today it feels like the polished chip on the working-class shoulder of a country that secretly knew it was being outpaced by the literature of almost every other continent. The argument that the book deserves respect for its 'sincerity' is at best undermined by Johnson's subsequent suicide (why should his mate Tony's death be accepted as a tragedy here, when BSJ himself evidently valued life so little?); while its aleatoric novelty has been long superseded by those splendid, dice-driven 'games books' that were such a rage in the 80's and 90's. Truthfully, I'm chuffed to possess such a novelty; but then I also have a fondue set. Ha ha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cac558)

This product

The Unfortunates
The Unfortunates by B S Johnson (Hardcover - 8 Oct 1999)
20.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews