Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly his best ever.
I've read and enjoyed all of Hiaasen's books. 'Sick Puppy' was for me the best of them all and a real return to form for Hiassan. Buy this book if you love to laugh out loud as the scene's are painted out and the imagery builds in your head. Great characters combined with Hiassan's trademark tactic of creating totally believable situations and then just tipping them over...
Published on 3 July 2001 by SJB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I found this book was quite gripping and funny at times, yet at others it was a bit sick and it had many deranged characters. Not recommended for the light hearted I suppose. It is about a young man called Twilly who loves the environment and will protect it; at any length! He has some sort of mental issues or anger management problems. In his funny moments he dumps 3...
Published on 19 Jan 2010 by leora


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly his best ever., 3 July 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
I've read and enjoyed all of Hiaasen's books. 'Sick Puppy' was for me the best of them all and a real return to form for Hiassan. Buy this book if you love to laugh out loud as the scene's are painted out and the imagery builds in your head. Great characters combined with Hiassan's trademark tactic of creating totally believable situations and then just tipping them over the edge into almost riotous farce. If you like Tom Sharpe, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb characterisations, absurd situations, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
This book had me thinking how great if the Coen brothers made a movie out of this story. Strong visualisations abound. Anyone who has been to Florida and in particular the coastal-strip developments, will be prompted to think back to what it was like before the bulldozers buried the toads. The characters are very well crafted if a little predictable. A thoroughly enjoyable off the wall eco-romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classically inventive farce from Hiaasen, the master., 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
What other author is socially aware, enviromentally keen and uproariously bloody funny? Why, that would be the ubiquitous and omnicognisient fellow Hiaasen who can reflect the sick muggy twilighted world of Florida better than Florida can do so in reality. And I'm a true blue Australian; fancy that, eh? Yes, Hiaasen is quite the showman and is entirely perennial, and after reading my first Hiaasen novel not long before this one--"Native Tongue"--I was undeniably itching to read another Floridean Whackos Chronicle from the penman of the best protagonists found in realistic fiction. "Sick Puppy" is an ineffable menagerie of eccentric and bawdy characters, but it is much better complemented by the strong characterizations, the water-proof tight plotting and the satiric human observations which make you want to lie down before getting vertigo. Oh, and they make you laugh quite a bit as well. In my mind, I believe that it was Hiaasen and Quentin Tarrantino who founded this genre of excellence, and the Brits--Ben Elton, Robert Llewellyn and of course the majestic Guy Ritchie--have been attempting to steal it, and quite successfully so in later years. Yet "Sick Puppy" once again reassures which nation of red and white dappled stars actually secures the ability to use this genre in the best way. It's essentially black humour, and albeit one would not appellate it intrinsically as comedic, it is certain wry, and very, very funny. Twilly Spree is a preferable character to the tight-lipped Joe Winder, and Palmer Stoat--to all intents and purposes--shines as the unruly and unkempt antagonist. Our old companion Skink has once again an elongated (yet comfortably long) cameo, as does the ritualistic trooper, Jim Tile. As with Rob Grant's "Colony" and Terry Pratchett's "The Truth", "Sick Puppy" offers us a brilliantly sick insight into the world of gangsters, this novel doing so with the sadistic yet ultimately appealing, almost charasmatic villian Mr Gash, a.k.a. Furry Porcupine Head. And the irony of Mr Gash's final situation has to be not only the highlight of the novel, but the most hilarious but also--primarily--the tour de force. But of course it doesn't stop there, because we have Robert Clapley and his repulsively bizaare fetishes, the bumblingly moronic current governor Dick Artemis, the sadly ironic squirrel-aphobic Karl Krimmler, the silver spotted gruesome hump of lethargy which is El Jefe the rhinoceros and of course the canine most reminiscent of the Heinz breed who gives the meaning to the title of the novel, plus a score of supporting characters whom we will not spoil for enterprising readers. "Sick Puppy" is the absolute pinaccle of Hiaasen's writing as far as I have experienced, and I personally believe he far outranks the likes of Dave Barry, P.J.O'Rourke, Elmore Leonard, Christopher Brookmyre, and Kurt Vonnegut Jr. If you want a satirical outlook on the squalid Floridean life cycle, want something which is amusing and yet highly ingenious, or just something which is ritualistic Carl Hiaasen putting a new spin on various things "Sick Puppy" is the novel for you. Remember however never to get involved in leaving your top off a convertible and parking in two spots or else something highly unusual yet ironically depressing may occur. And be aware men who wear snakeskin vestments and carry weapons; they just might be encouraged to stick a rodent in your mouth.
Nevertheless, superbly unrelenting Carl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and funny with powerful message, 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
This was my first Hiaasen novel and I'll make sure it won't be the last. The action flies along at a fair old rate and our eponymous hero, Twill Spree is so flawed you just have to relate to him. Hiaasen's Florida is one where tourists, youngsters and ignoramuses (ignoramii?) couldn't care less about the litter they leave behind. The powerful eco-message is delivered through Twilly's acts of vengeance, some of which make you laugh yourself off whichever chair you're sat on. I was on holiday when I read this and it made me feel embarassed to be English. It was the first time I'd really noticed the litterbugs at work and I found myself shouting at some 5 year old who'd dropped a gobbet of chewing gum next to my sunbed.
Excellent, excellent fun and Mr Gash will surely go down in history as the most obnoxious hitman ever. The 'acquisition' of spare dog parts and discovery by the police is a spark of genius too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hiaasen at his usual best, 11 Sep 2007
By 
Saffron "Saf" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
This is typically Hiaasen - set in Florida, including an ecccentric eco-warrior, a beautiful woman, a truly repulsive baddie and numerous corrupt politicians bent on despoiling the beauty of Florida's coastline. As with all Hiaasen's work, good triumphs over evil, the baddies suffer painful and ignoble deaths. The reader is left with a sense of temporary satisfaction - the plan has been thwarted this time, but we just know that someone else will try it again soon.

I love Hiaasen's novels - they are easy to read, fast-paced and witty, with the usual thumbnail character sketches fleshing out absurd characters that are strangely realistic. The storylines are a little formulaic, but if it ain't broke, don't fix it. if you haven't read Hiaasen, do start - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The world needs more Twilly Sprees, 25 Dec 2006
By 
P. Dickinson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
For anyone who has been to Florida and only seen the concrete of the highway, the shopping malls and the coastal hotels. Twilly Spree and ex-Governor Clinton Tyree's respective campaigns to clean up Florida both environmentally and politically are hilarious, as are the sheannigans of the various scum-bags they run across. Very funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read!, 25 July 2000
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
A witty, sad, frightening tale of an ecco-terrorist who reeks havoc on the lives of those he catches in criminal acts against the enviorment. When main character, Twilly Spree, catches powerful and successful lobbyist Palmer Stoat, emptying the contents of his fast food lunch from his car window, Spree swings into action, and dumps a ten mile mound of garbage on Stoat's brand new parked BMW convertibile. This fast pace page turner is filled with intrigue, murder,and romance ... you won't be able to put it down. After reading "Sick Puppy," Your recycle bin will never look the same! I also just finished "A Tourist in the Yucatan" an interesting Thriller/mystery/adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Hiaasen, 11 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
After reading my first Carl Hiaasen book many years ago - I then read all of his books and have eagerly awaited each new one. Sick Puppy does not disappoint and he seems to have re-captured some of his old spark which I felt went slightly amiss in his last book. I thouroughly enjoyed this one and while he manages to create great characters in each book, Twilly Spree is definitely one of my favourites. Highly recommended - a great laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, he's back on top .., 21 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Hardcover)
... if you're a fan of Carl's ... you just HAVE to dive into this tremendous book. He's back on top again ... although I personally don't agree that he ever left. The characters are delicious, the corruption stinks just as much as ever, money is the root of all evil, everyone is unbalanced ... even the goodies ... a very very canny observation, as in real life ... and the story drags you kicking and screaming on the edge of your seat and laughing right the way through til book end ... buy it, read it, laugh a lot, and re-cynicyse y'self!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun book that is not for kids, 17 Dec 2004
By 
S. Greig (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sick Puppy (Paperback)
I read this book on the recommendation of a friend. I was intrigued by the description of the Hiaason books: "They are sort of thrillers, but a bit silly but good fun. All the characters have a funny quirk."
That sums up this book really.
Sick Puppy is the first Hiaason book I have read, great characters (e.g. a hitman called "Mr Gash" is fantastic) with a twisty dog napping tale (pun intended) to boot.
I will definitely recommend this book and I personally will be buying more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sick Puppy
Sick Puppy by Carl Hiaasen (Paperback - 4 May 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews