Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving story of life during the 2nd World War
This is one of those 'once picked up you can't put it down' books. A very descriptive and moving story about a girl from Birmingham and her life through the 2nd World War. Murray gives vivid descriptions of life in the poorest areas of Birmingham and how the 1st World War is still having an impact on people when the 2nd begins. It is a story of dreams and ambitions being...
Published on 24 April 2001 by jan.brookes@mitford.co.uk

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Birmingham rose
Didn't enjoy this book I found it really hard to connect to the story which is a shame as other reviews seemed so positive it's the first book that I've ever not finished usually I see a book to the end even if I don't like it but I couldn't with this one
Published 10 months ago by Sue


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving story of life during the 2nd World War, 24 April 2001
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Paperback)
This is one of those 'once picked up you can't put it down' books. A very descriptive and moving story about a girl from Birmingham and her life through the 2nd World War. Murray gives vivid descriptions of life in the poorest areas of Birmingham and how the 1st World War is still having an impact on people when the 2nd begins. It is a story of dreams and ambitions being dampened by the reality of war. Families are torn apart but new friends and relationships are made. The experience of serving her country gives Rose the much needed opportunity to escape from Birmingham and realise her dreams. An excellent book for easy (but tearful!) reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
So exciting from start to finish with love romance heartache and pure terror but was a brilliant read , the people in it were so real you felt like you know them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brings back memories, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
I live in Birmingham so can relate to many of the things and places that annie talks about, so whilst she is writing them I will read them. They are well written and very true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good story, 18 Nov 2013
By 
eeyore (burton on trent uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
i love annie murray books I can never put them down for long highly recommend to anyone love the Birmingham setting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birmingham Rose, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
I love ALL Annie Murray books
They are always an excellent read
I would recommend her books to anyone and everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Birmingham Rose a good read ., 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this book , have read it before ( a few years ago ) in paperback, good to see it on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely story, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
very interesting could not put it down a real page turner,and the history of the second world war was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Birmingham rose, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
Didn't enjoy this book I found it really hard to connect to the story which is a shame as other reviews seemed so positive it's the first book that I've ever not finished usually I see a book to the end even if I don't like it but I couldn't with this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Whilst the story is fairly good, the punctuation is awful, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
Whilst the story is fairly good, the punctuation is awful. The mother had just given birth and in the next sentence she is running out of the door because one of re children has had an accident. Really puzzled me until I realised there was in fact a time difference of a few months. This happened a few times in the story and really detracts from following the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good book for me, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Rose (Kindle Edition)
Not one of Anne Murray's best, for me I thought I was going to really enjoy the story, but some how the middle part in Italy was long and drawn out and rather boring. It just didn't read true to life somehow. It was not a story that you just couldn't wait to put the kettle on for a five minutes coffee and a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birmingham Rose
Birmingham Rose by Annie Murray (Paperback - 7 May 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews