Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written and unputdownable
Marking Time follows the Cazalet family into the early years of the Second World War. The children are getting older and developing into strong characters. Louise achieves her ambition of going on stage and, separately, meets her future husband and Polly worries about everyone except herself, focussing particularly on her parents and on Louise's cousin Christopher. But it...
Published on 12 April 2001

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angry about frequent Typos in the text
I did like this book but the frequent typo's in the text really disrupted my enjoyment. This seems to be a common feature of e-books, and of this series in particular. Why are they not proof-read before being retailed???? Surely this fundamnetal level of quality is what we are paying for. I would be very interested in a hearing your reply before taking this complaint...
Published 14 months ago by Gillian Howell


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written and unputdownable, 12 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Marking Time: Cazalet Chronicles Book 2 (Paperback)
Marking Time follows the Cazalet family into the early years of the Second World War. The children are getting older and developing into strong characters. Louise achieves her ambition of going on stage and, separately, meets her future husband and Polly worries about everyone except herself, focussing particularly on her parents and on Louise's cousin Christopher. But it is with Clary where your sympathies lie as she steadfastly refuses to believe that her beloved father Rupert is dead, despite being missing in action for some time, inventing elaborate stories to explain his whereabouts.
The children are Marking Time, waiting to become adults when their lives will really begin. Clary is Marking Time waiting for her father to return, as she knows he will, and the whole Cazalet family are Marking Time, in those strange early war years when no-one knows how long it will last and when their lives will return to some sort of normality. The characters are beautifully drawn and their stories carry you with them, so that by the time you get to the end, I guarantee you will, as I did, go straight out to get Confusion, the next volume in the Cazalet Chronicle, to follow their lives further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautifully written, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. Jane H. Parker "Curvy Creations" (Paignton Devon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't wait to read this volume of the Cazelet Chronicles and was not disappointed in the story and characters at all. However, the typing errors are appalling and sometimes I couldn't even work out what the typo word was meant to be. This really isn't good enough, especially when the Kindle books are as expensive as the paper ones. Sometimes it looks as if someone is typing the book in their second language which might be the reason for the wierd spellings and indecipherable words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angry about frequent Typos in the text, 8 Feb 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did like this book but the frequent typo's in the text really disrupted my enjoyment. This seems to be a common feature of e-books, and of this series in particular. Why are they not proof-read before being retailed???? Surely this fundamnetal level of quality is what we are paying for. I would be very interested in a hearing your reply before taking this complaint further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on the Cazalets!, 1 Dec 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am completely hooked on the Cazalet saga, of which this is the second book in the series. In 'Marking time' the focus shifts from the adults in the family to the older children all on the cusp of becoming adults, trying to make sense of their lives while the war (WW2) begins to slowly affect everyone's lives, I am still only half way through but am loving every second of it. Apart from the wonderful characters what resonates with me most is the simplicity of life for people at that time. Clothes were worn until they fell apart, anything that could be darned and mended was repaired until it was too far gone. When new clothes were bought people went to one good shop (Peter Jones for example) and bought what they needed - generally something that would last them for years. Food was managed economically and left-overs re-hashed until they were used up. A far cry from our excessive shopping habits and throwaway society today. However, none of this is idealised in Elizabeth Jane Howard's writing. Brought up during the period she writes about there is a strong sense or authenticity that can only be created by someone who has lived during this time. Once I have finished 'Marking time' I will be buying the third book in the series immediately. Haven't been so captivated by a saga since 'Poldark'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hooked!, 18 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am loving these books, such insight into character and motivation and ability to evoke the atmosphere of the war period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series of books, 13 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These Cazalet chronicles are perfect escapism. If you like Downton Abbey or other early 20th century books I'm sure you'll love these. Wonderful characters living through tough times. You feel like you are a member of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a lttle slow moving, 3 Mar 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved these books when I read them years ago. Now they appear a little dated and slow moving. Some of the characters are beautifully drawn, especially the children. I will persevere because I want to read the final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 22 Feb 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been totally immersed in the lives of the Cazalet family side starting this series. There is a fantastic description of the house towards the end of this book which made me realise how effectively Howard presents life from the point of view of each character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 15 Feb 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read these books many years ago and decided to reread ...just as fantastic second time round if not better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 10 Jan 2014
By 
L. Cook (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hate family sagas. This, however, is captivating and absorbing, as well as brilliantly written. I really didn't want it to end. Can't wait to start the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0ddaf90)

This product

Marking Time: Cazalet Chronicles Book 2
Marking Time: Cazalet Chronicles Book 2 by Elizabeth Jane Howard (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews