Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journey into the interior
Elizabeth Jane Howard, most recently famous for her quartet of bestsellers about the Cazalet family, is memorable for her subtlety and emotional intelligence. Her novels, fed by sensitive observation and unflinching, often painful honesty, are compellingly, page-turningly readable without losing one jot of sophistication. The author has lived a long life and known many...
Published on 8 April 2003 by mrs L A Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A bit of a "woman's mag" story. Told in that manner and with characters to match
Published 6 months ago by Jothla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journey into the interior, 8 April 2003
This review is from: Something in Disguise (Paperback)
Elizabeth Jane Howard, most recently famous for her quartet of bestsellers about the Cazalet family, is memorable for her subtlety and emotional intelligence. Her novels, fed by sensitive observation and unflinching, often painful honesty, are compellingly, page-turningly readable without losing one jot of sophistication. The author has lived a long life and known many luminaries of the literary scene. Something In Disguise was wrriten when she was in middle life, married to the great comic novelist Kingsley Amis and stepmother to Martin.
It deals with surprises. May, mother of two grown-up children, lost her husband during the Second World War and has misguidedly married again. Her second husband is, she thinks, merely difficult and cantankerous. As the story progresses, the reader—and May—will learn how much more sinister this bumbling old soldier really is.
The children, Oliver and Elizabeth, make their own discoveries during the course of the novel. Attractive, shallow Oliver finds himself falling for a girl who simply won't succumb to his easy charm; and shy Elizabeth, hiring herself out as a dinner party cook in London, meets the unlikely man who will transform and illuminate her future.
Most touching of all is Alice, hapless daughter of May's villainous husband. Escaping life at home by drifting into marriage with a hideously well observed philistine, her marital agonies are recorded with relentless comedy and a wealth of compassion.
As always with an Elizabeth Jane Howard novel, the characters are fully alive and the story grips as tightly as a thriller. This isn't, in my opinion, one of her best works—I'd recommend The Long View, The Beautiful Visit and After Julius—but, coming from her hand, it can't fail to charm, enlighten and absorb. She is a beautiful artist and, once encountered, vividly colours the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and gripping novel., 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elizabeth Jane Howard is an excellent story teller. Like all of her novels this was unputdownable. Goodness knows where she gets such splendid plots, all her books that I have read I have liked. This was a real good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality paperback, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something in Disguise (Paperback)
The book arrived on time in the condition described and was also a good read, though something of a period piece. It was the first book by Elizabeth Jane Howard that I had read and has inspired me to read some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story that takes you back in time, the ..., 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story that takes you back in time, the time of memories you have heard of or or been a part of all those years ago. Thank you Elizabeth Jane .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny and clever at the same time. We know all these characters in our own lives! EJH at her most observant best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit of a "woman's mag" story. Told in that manner and with characters to match
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a Christmas present to my wife who enjoyed listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book I have read by this author. I had heard the Cazalet Chronicle series dramatised on BBC Radio, and expected to enjoy this novel very much. Although it starts well with interesting characters, the unlikely events led me to lose interest and, unusually, I did not finish it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something in Disguise
Something in Disguise by Elizabeth Jane Howard (Paperback - 2 July 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews