Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary book about extraordinary ordinary people
"Cloudstreet" tells fantastic stories which are undiminished by the normality of its characters. Set in Australia 1930s-1960s, it tells the tale of the Pickles family and the Lamb family. Both families, suffering from tragedy and shame, move into a large ramshackle house on Cloud Street, and the stage is set for each character to tell their story as it entwines...
Published on 3 Feb. 2004 by Littlepig Littlepig

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting plot, not always well crafted
Perth, Australia, towards the end of WW2. Two families, the Lambs and the Pickles, find themselves sharing a broken-down house on Cloudstreet. They all carry their share of personal tragedies mixed with the everyday aspect of ordinary life, raising their respective families, trying to come to terms with the changes over the years, the impending 50s & 60s, the children...
Published on 28 Oct. 2009 by I LOVE BOOKS


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary book about extraordinary ordinary people, 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
"Cloudstreet" tells fantastic stories which are undiminished by the normality of its characters. Set in Australia 1930s-1960s, it tells the tale of the Pickles family and the Lamb family. Both families, suffering from tragedy and shame, move into a large ramshackle house on Cloud Street, and the stage is set for each character to tell their story as it entwines seamlessly with the lives of those around them.
No character in this book is dislikeable - the very humanity of each individual, the way that they are formed by their failings and triumphs, makes you truly care about them. Whether they be unfulfilled Dolly Pickles, guilt-ridden Quick Lamb, dreaming optimistic Sam Pickles or hard-working Lester Lamb, these people jump off the page and become your neighbour/friend/enemy.
'Cloudstreet' is fiercely funny, painfully moving, and above all an utterly captivating triumph of love, and life, over adversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unsentimental depiction of ordinary courage, 24 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
Winton has a sentimental affection for Western Audtralia and the land. However, Cloudstreet pays homage to ordinary people without the sentimentality that has spoilt similar novels. His characters are fundamentally decent people, coping with life's problems they best way they know how. Winton loves them enough to offer no excuses for their failings. Imagine people with nothing in common thrust into a house creaking with its own secrets and you have a reason to read cloudstreet. The novel sweeps through the years and its issues painlessly. The balance of humour and realism is wonderful. Winton has an unpretentious style which is easy to understand and sympathise with. He obviously loves these characters and you will come to as well. It's not a short novel, but it is well worth the effort. I am on my third read, and it is different every time. A book worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloudstreet, 31 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
This is an amazing book. Tim Winton has such a remarkable gift for writing characters that you can really visualise. His descriptions are breath taking and the characters are incredibly funny people, faulted as all people are, but loveable none the less. You will not be able to put this down and when you finish reading it, I suggest you read it again because its even better the second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting plot, not always well crafted, 28 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
Perth, Australia, towards the end of WW2. Two families, the Lambs and the Pickles, find themselves sharing a broken-down house on Cloudstreet. They all carry their share of personal tragedies mixed with the everyday aspect of ordinary life, raising their respective families, trying to come to terms with the changes over the years, the impending 50s & 60s, the children growing up with their own problems.
Twenty years must go by before the house can be sold again and what initially starts off as a forced cohabitation, slowly turns into a story of friendship and belonging.

Interesting concept, with a few almost `mystical' discrepancies which I found boring to follow and this rendered the reading a bit tedious, like the episodes connected to a talking pig for example.

Pig aside, a few refer to some episodes as `hilarious', well, I just did not think there was anything hilarious about this book. Mostly, it speaks about very sad situations dotted with a tenderness which can make you smile. And this is where the inner quality of the book speaks up for me. Another bonus is the description of some of the characters, very well drawn. And the hope and the acceptance that eventually ties everybody up, is another strong point of this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend Cloudstreet as a classic Australian novel., 9 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
I read Cloudstreet after seeing a stage production based on the book. For this reason, I was able to easily visualise the characters, and I'm not sure what proportion of my enjoyment of the book was attributable to my prior viewing of the play! The story is set largely in Perth, Australia, during the years following the second world war, and there is reference to events which actually happened in Western Australia during that time. The book spans a period of ten years, during which time two families unexpectedly become permanently entwined. We see the children of each family grown up, and watch the adults age and slowly decline. There are some extremely sad passages in this book, as we experience the struggles of each of the characters. There are many issues raised which are as relevant today as they were in the 1950s. I think 'Cloudstreet' is one of the best books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 9 Feb. 2000
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
To be fair to readers, I must declare that I am an Australian - but please be assured this review is not biased.
I am from the east coast of Australia. The book is set on the west coast - in a city of which I know little.
Cloudstreet revolves around the lives of two families in the 1950's. One family believe they live under the "shifty hand" of luck, the other family create their own luck through sheer hard work.
This novel is a gem. It is rich in atmosphere, character development and plot. It evokes a time which has long since past.
Although Tim Winton portrays the characters in a laconic, essentially Australian, way I sincerely believe that readers of any nationality will be able to relate to this book.
Put simply - it is a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloudstreet is a place where the surreal and the homely meet, 11 Feb. 2000
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
Cloudstreet is one of those novels that you'll never ever forget. Evoking a time gone by, you learn to expect the unexpectable, to laugh at the most tragic of events and you learn to take the pickles to your heart as if they were your own family.
Where else could see at the start of a novel a man who has to make a choice between saving his friend from a heart attack on a beach.... or saving the fish he's just caught from the sea.
Simply, this could possibly be the best novel written in the world....ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was sorry to finish this book, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
If you like stories of families and how the interact - then this if for you. A great tale, set in Australia, detailing the ups and downs of two families living side by side; so moments of hilarity, sadness and poignancy. This is one of the books I find myself recommending to random people - give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetic, 12 Mar. 2012
By 
J. P. Hayes "Libris" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
My son sent this book to me for my birthday in January this year. It is one of the best books I've read for ages. It's poetic. I rushed through to the end but I've started to re-read it. It's a great story of revival. It makes me absolutely lost for words to say just how much I loved it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reader from London, 29 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Cloudstreet (Paperback)
This is gem. The language is earthy and highly original, giving it a strong Australian flavour and sense of place. But Winton's motley cast are universal, we cannot help but share their hopes and fears. Cloudstreet is a little sentimental, but in a good way, as if Winton is utterly swept away by the lives of his characters. John Steinbeck's Cannary Row springs to mind. There are shades of all sorts of other writers - most noticeably Garcia Marquez. But Cloudsteet is an original: larky, brutal, and ultimately overwhelming. I sense the author hit his imaginative groove here and really enjoyed writing this. I certainly loved reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cloudstreet
Cloudstreet by Tim Winton (Paperback - 2 May 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews