Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful compelling and frank book, 7 Feb. 2008
By 
Cal Duncan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
I have just finished this, and I couldn't put it down for a heart beat. Bramley manages to portray a very personal tale of heroism, loss and hardship.
There is no icing on this account, it is told as if he was sitting opposite you with a pint each between you on a Saturday afternoon. Many a brave man went to those islands, be it by plane or ship, British or Argentinean. Bramley manages to show this in a very stark open and honest way.
The camaraderie depicted I find especially touching as it is what I miss the most from my own time in the armed forces and again it is captured precisely.
A very good book, one to be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Unforgettable Insight, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
I have read general accounts of the Falklands campaign over the last 25 years but have only recently started reading those written by the boys on the ground. So far this is the most shockingly superb, I read the 220 pages in two sittings which is surprising for me as I read slowly & methodically, taking in every word. And there is so much to take in here, Bramley writes exactly as I want a soldier to, he tells it like it is but using a good turn of phrase & descriptive, colourful language. He paints the battle in such detail that you almost live it in all of its horror & despair. Thoroughly recommended, but don't expect to sleep too well for a few days after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
great product , great price , great service , would use this vendor again and they are really good to do business with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. been meaning to read it for so ..., 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
Excellent book.been meaning to read it for so many years,finally have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. D. P. Osbourn (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic insight into the Battle for the Falklands for the Parachute Regiment. It will make you want to read it all in one go. I could not put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Andy McNab of the Falklands, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
High Seas Drifter (On the road in Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
Not the best-written book, as you'd gather from my title. But it's a good first-hand account of being in the thick of it in the short war. Worth a read, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
Excellent honest account of the Falklands war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle (Paperback)
Great Value and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle
Excursion to Hell: Mount Longdon, a Universal Story of Battle by Vincent Bramley (Paperback - 24 April 1992)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews