Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius!
What a fantastic book - what a brilliant concept. Hundreds of words simply wasting their time hanging around on signposts. Hundreds of objects, situations, states of mind etc. for which there are no words in common use.

Two quick examples...

Have you ever walked along a street, only to encounter someone coming in the opposite direction, at which...
Published on 20 Aug 2001

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Bough after hearing a really funny radio interview with the author - book was not as funny as the interview.
Published 20 months ago by Name


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars a good laugh, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I remember friends at work laughing at this when it first came out. Its silly premise, of using place names for real things/sensations/nuances that don't have names hasn't dimmed with age, though I bought it for the kids and their verdict is as yet unknown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
Brillant light hearted reading. lots of locations that are real and seem to fit quite well with the teams interpretaions. a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Size doesn't matter, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
It's a great laugh, but Do look inside before buying to make sure it's appropriate if you're buying it as a present. It's 'cheeky'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Douglas Adam's The Deeper Meaning of Liff, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I don't know what it says about our family's sense of hunour, but we bought it for all the (grown/up) children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life is richer for 'The Deeper Meaning of Liff', 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Douglas Adams, we miss you ..... but you did leave us this quirky, charming, oh so humourous without anyone being the butt of the joke (ie intelligent and creative humour)

Essential reading. And if you cannot think of anything to give to a father-in-law /uncle/ or stray cousin for their Christmas or Birthday present - choose this. You cannot go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chucklesome, 9 Jun 2010
By 
bart4books "db" (bristol, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
very very funny. having said that my wife didn't find it so. but I am entirely in tune with Douglas Adams. if you want to annoy people on a train by constantly chuckling this is the book to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book ever, 7 April 2009
By 
K. Alliston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I first read my friend's copy of this book over 10 years ago and it still makes me laugh to this day. Even now when I stand on an tube station platform and smell the 'foul wind that precedes an underground train' I think-that's a Chicago. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Deeper Meaning of Liff, 18 Dec 2009
By 
S B DEMPSTER (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I have read all Douglas Adams's books and every one has provided endless laughter... and astonishing imagination. One of the best authors EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed Smiles, 7 Feb 2009
By 
R. H. M. Simmons (Gravesend Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
This book is a delight from beginning to end, there is a chuckle on every page. A fine example of the quirky wit of the late Douglas Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deeper Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
Got this for my sister as a gift as I remember we used to laugh together at the original book years ago.
Just as fun as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Deeper Meaning of Liff
The Deeper Meaning of Liff by John Lloyd (Paperback - 23 Oct 1992)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews