Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Wilbur Smith!
Once again the Courtney family, their lives and adventures, keep you gripped from page one. In this book Isabella Courtney takes centre stage and we follow her from London to Spain and, of course, back home to Africa. She falls in love with a handsome foreigner- but who is this man really? What are his true intentions? She is trapped in the lair of the 'Golden Fox'. The...
Published on 27 April 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down ending
I love Wilbur Smith books, having read most of them. But this one I found a bit of a let down at the end. He's very descriptive in most things, which we all love, especially the wilderness of Africa. But the ending to this story was a let down, almost as if the editor told him he had to finish it in 3 pages flat. I would have liked to read about when Nicky got back...
Published on 8 Aug 2007 by D. A. Clewes


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Wilbur Smith!, 27 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden Fox (The Courtneys of Africa) (Paperback)
Once again the Courtney family, their lives and adventures, keep you gripped from page one. In this book Isabella Courtney takes centre stage and we follow her from London to Spain and, of course, back home to Africa. She falls in love with a handsome foreigner- but who is this man really? What are his true intentions? She is trapped in the lair of the 'Golden Fox'. The book follows her life in Africa as she undergoes emotional torture and blackmail which only her strength of character and determination allow her to endure. She is torn between family love and loyalty, and loyalty to her country. Her brothers become embroiled in the troubles and are set one against the other. Will the Courtney family survive this unseen enemy? A book with something for everyone - adventure, love, the world of spies and revolution, and the beauty of Africa. You will turn each page in eager anticipation - what will happen next?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vivid tale of intrigue and adventure in 1970's Africa, 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: Golden Fox (Hardcover)
A thoroughly enjoyable book. Starting at a Rolling Stones concert in London's Hyde Park and ending with the potential slaughter of innocents in South Africa this book paints an intriguing picture of third party interference in Africa in the 1970's. Part of the Courtney series, this one focuses on Isabella although her three brothers and other prominent members of the family feature heavily, not least because Isabella's action as the result of her relationship with a mysterious foreigner set brother against brother. Well thought through and written, the book keeps you engaged from start to finish and makes you wonder whether such events really could and did happen. The deep sea fishing section I found particularly engaging and a tribute to Wilbur Smith's descriptive abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down ending, 8 Aug 2007
By 
D. A. Clewes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Fox (The Courtneys of Africa) (Paperback)
I love Wilbur Smith books, having read most of them. But this one I found a bit of a let down at the end. He's very descriptive in most things, which we all love, especially the wilderness of Africa. But the ending to this story was a let down, almost as if the editor told him he had to finish it in 3 pages flat. I would have liked to read about when Nicky got back together with the family, how Isabel is doing now after all the treachery she did, etc., etc.. Although I've kept some of his other books to read again at some later stage, this one I will definately not read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super tale ruined by grammatical errors and spelling mistakes, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the last of the Courtney novels and is as well written as all the others in its' original Wilbur Smith form. Unfortunately, the Kindle edition has been poorly put together, littered as it is by errors in translation.

A number of other Kindle books have suffered from the same problems; although not to the same extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kill the Publisher, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent Wilbur story, or, at least, it would have been except that the countless typos, spelling, grammatical and syntax errors made it almost impossible to read.

Amazon/Kindle need to get to grips with this, and stop selling books until they are in a readable condition.

I truly believe Amazon should make a full refund to anyone unfortunate enough to have purchased this crisp.

Can't see this happening though.

Wilbur Smith fans, don't waste your money on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An excellent narrative spoiled by too many typos., 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual, Smith writes material which I greatly appreciate. Some typos appear in most of the books but there is a problem with this Kindle version. There are many types of typo present, i.e the inclusion of incorrect phonetically similar words, erratic inclusion of punctuation notably the hyphen, and others. I can overlook a few typos in a publication but the Kindle "Golden Fox" overflows with them to the extent that parts of the narrative are, to say the least, obscure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Storyline -Appalling conversion to Kindle, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As others have pointed out the conversion to Kindle format is appalling.
Seems to have had no proof reading whatsoever, numerous errors not just spelling but lines repeated
and completely wrong words used. Really spoils the enjoyment.
Storyline up to usual Wilbur standard , ending a little weak but would still recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle transcriber should be fired, 5 Mar 2012
I have read the paperback and first edition of this book many times but must say that whoever transcribed it for Kindle should be fired. The massive amount of spelling mistakes make the book look like it was written by a child... Wilbur Smith is most certainly not an amateur author and I have no doubt he would be severely disappointed by how badly his book has been destroyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly designed adventure story, 21 Jun 2007
By 
HORAK (Zug, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At a party in London Isabella Courtney - daughter of a wealthy family in Cape Town - meets Ramón de Santiago y Machado - from an old Andalusian family who settled in Cuba - and instantly falls in love. They marry and have a son, Nicholas.

What Isabella does not know is that Ramón is in fact a recruit of the Cuban army of liberation in exile now working for the KGB where he is known as El Zorro Dorado, "The Golden Fox" and that his sole purpose in marrying her was to make her into an agent code named Red Rose by kidnapping her son. The KGB plan to orchestrate a campaign in the ghettos and on campuses of America for comprehensive mandatory sanctions supposed to destroy the South African economy and bring its government crashing down in ruins, unable any longer to protect itself or to keep its security forces in the field. When that happens the KGB plans to step in and place their own surrogate communist government in power.

Readers looking for suspense and adventure will undoubtedly enjoy the plot. The book is very nicely read by British actor Christian Rodska for BBC audiobooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my daddy!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He's a massive W.Smith fan and wanted to start collecting all of his books even though he's read them all. Bought this one for him and he was chuffed to bits and read the whole thing that day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Fox (The Courtneys of Africa)
Golden Fox (The Courtneys of Africa) by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 7 April 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews