Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A briliant, laugh out loud, crime novel
Welcome to competitive bass fishing in Florida. There is a backdrop which I never expected for one of the funniest novels I've read in a long time. You have got to love the Skink character, a sort of lunatic eco-warrior who is actually a secondary player in the novel to the hero Decker.

Mr Hiaasen weaves together an absolutely wonderful supporting cast of...
Published on 22 July 2009 by Officer Dibble

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Double Whammy Carl Hiaasen
An entertaining read as always with Carl Hiaasen, although It's based completely on competetive Bass fishing in America of which there was little mention in the reviews. Quite a boring subject matter, unless you are into fishing.

However, as always the descriptive characters, romance and humour kept me going.
Published 10 months ago by GINA HUTCHINGS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A briliant, laugh out loud, crime novel, 22 July 2009
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
Welcome to competitive bass fishing in Florida. There is a backdrop which I never expected for one of the funniest novels I've read in a long time. You have got to love the Skink character, a sort of lunatic eco-warrior who is actually a secondary player in the novel to the hero Decker.

Mr Hiaasen weaves together an absolutely wonderful supporting cast of characters in the middle of his Green versus Greed main theme. There is a huge amount of violence, death and general mayhem much of it caused by Queenie (read it and see!).

This is a genuine, laugh out loud, funny book. It is also just so bizarre; as another reviewer has mentioned there really is a character going around with a dead dog clamped to his arm. There is also a very vivid example of the sort of conversation not to have at a funeral.

Just so brilliant but with a biting undertone about the fruit-cakes on the loose in the Deep South. This is strongly recommended and really is a five star read; now where can I find more of Mr Hiaasen's stuff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carl Hiaasen is King!, 25 Aug 2003
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
This is yet another fine piece of fiction from one of the true masters. Sharp, fast and very very funny, this is the story of life in the Florida Bass fishing circuit. A whole host of typically-Hiaasen characters are present, from the 'hero', with a personal life more stuffed with problems than an episode of Eastenders, to the villain of the piece, whom Hiaasen deals with in a suitably spectacular and hillarious way. If you've never read any Hiaasen before (and if not, why on earth not??) then this is an excellent novel to start with. If you are a returning fan of Hiaasen then you will not be disappointed. The master does it again, with a novel that blows all competitors out of the water!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 29 Aug 2013
I'm a late convert to Hiassen and I couldn't be happier. If you like sarcastic wit and believe a writer could interest you in fishing competitions then you won't be disappointed. Verging on farce, Hiassen's strength is he actually tells a story rather than simply bombard with funny anecdotes. Quality. I'm dying to read his other offerings. 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bombshell of a novel, 12 Nov 2014
This review is from: Double Whammy (Hardcover)
The novel under discussion was the first that made me realise that books could be funny: also the sewn & (['&'-Lawrence Block says that's called an ampersand]) stitched, "hung, dryed and starched" (Sherwood Anderson?) and paper-milled, woven 'n'printed story that made moi realise that detective novels were worth following.
I'm confused at different trans-atlantic? rules of direct and indirect speech:" and '. Sometimes P. Straub (ie Floating Dragon, Ghost Story), Paul Doherty, L. Block et al use one quotation mark for direct speech (and " for indirect, secondhand conversation or dialogue); whereas in John Sandford's 'n' M. Connelly's, ('n' I think) R. Crais's novels, and in Double Whammy, it seems direct speech is denoted by " (and indirect, secondary speech by ').
(maybe it's all whether/whither it's third person or 1st person narrative or 'nother reason that occludes me)...
I'm probably, very probably, definitely, or very, indubitably definitely outa line to make such comments...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollicking good stuff, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
Hiaasen's second novel and setting a cracking pace. Dirty deeds in the bass fishing world, murder by rednecks and the wonderful ex-Governor Tyree -- inhabiting the wilds like an insane avenging angel.

Reverend (self-styled of course) Weeb is building a "Christian City" in Florida. With the sort of peole he wants to attract, bass fishing is a big lure (boooo that pun). Millions are at stake so the little matter of fiddling fishing competitions and murdering the odd journalist isn't too important.

You'll snigger throughout and laugh out loud at the set piece finale.

Although a journalist by trade Carl Hiaasen is an expert novelist. He also has a nose for corruption and an eye for the absurd - both feed this work - highly recommended.

ps a Double Whammy is a fishing lure. And a largemouth bass is one of the ugliest fish in Christendom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Carls the man!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
I love all Carl Hiaasens books and this is one of his best Ideally I would like to collect the full set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Double Whammy Carl Hiaasen, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
An entertaining read as always with Carl Hiaasen, although It's based completely on competetive Bass fishing in America of which there was little mention in the reviews. Quite a boring subject matter, unless you are into fishing.

However, as always the descriptive characters, romance and humour kept me going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride, 17 Nov 2013
By 
R. Gray (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
This is the best book i have read for some time. It's a page turner. Where on earth did "skink" come from?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful anarchic book, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
This book is an antidote to sanity to brighten a dull autumn day with hilarious fantasy skink for governor or better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta love Carl Hiaasen!, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Dr. M. Everard (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Whammy (Paperback)
I think we have all Carl Hiaasen's books, and love their irreverence and quirky plots. A strong recommendation for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Whammy
Double Whammy by Carl Hiaasen (Paperback - 7 May 1990)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews