Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetic ode to labour and love
I read 'The English Patient' some years ago and enjoyed it immensely, prompting me to buy this earlier work. Regrettably, I buy more books than I get around to reading (I can't be the only culprit...), but I am so, so pleased that I've finally got around to reading this wonderful book...
In the Skin of a Lion is set in Canada, moving between rural Ontario and...
Published on 4 Mar. 2005 by gavinrob2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I find this author difficult as I am never sure what the point of the stories are and this book was the same. I had hooped to read about the development and growth of Toronto but feel that I am really none the wiser.
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by Anne Farmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for intellectuals, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
This book has marvellous moments but the intervening story seemed to lack a coherent story line. It is, however beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful book I have read, 21 April 2012
By 
George Marshall (Wells, Somerset Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
Simply the best book I have ever read. Every time I convince a friend to read it I feel that I have made the world a better place by sharing the sublime, unpretentious, poetic beauty of this extraordinary book. The soft, tender and gently melancholic tone of the novel will stay with you long after the beautiful images have faded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a sensational read, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
A very memorable read, dramatic and muscular, truly unusual. I read one chapter all over again, just for pleasure, straight after reading it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read., 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
Not quite as powerful as The English Patient, but it gives the intriguing back story to some of the characters in the later novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
very good book up to his usual standard.I shall be buying other books of this type for sure for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental, 13 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
This book is an explosion of language, a clever plot and an engrossing account of the hard lives of tender people. If you love language and are invigorated by story telling of the highest order, read this as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very "difficult" book, 24 April 2005
By 
D. Leivers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
In saying this I'm probably going to be on a few peoples hit list but I found this book on the whole a fragmented and frankly quite boring affair. The entirely narrative structure of the novel destroys any notion of story and as a writing technique is sadly very poorly executed in this particular case. That is not to say the book is totally without merit as there are flashes of brilliance but unfortunately these were merely highlights that did little to shake my apathy whilst reading what turned out to be a very "difficult" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unflowing, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) (Paperback)
The title of the book does not really reflect the overall story. The chapters jumped from countries and characters and made it difficult initially to pick up the plot/direction in which the author was trying to take you. Whilst I wouldn't dismiss the book, it's not one I'd rush out and get (unless in a book club).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books)
In the Skin of a Lion (Picador Books) by Michael Ondaatje (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2003)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews