Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2001
A nice over-view of general livestock management, however it has a dated look. Not only are the photos out dated some of the information especially regarding the laws concerning keeping livestock are dangerously behind the times. References to legal requirements should not be relied on. The book tends to cast a dubious shadow over the farming industry - with hauliers, autioneers and dealers coming under particular scrutiny. Naive considering the vast amounts of legislation actively enforced in this industry. However a nice introduction for those new to the industry.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2002
I was given this book by a good friend to read as I have a few hens. I found it to be such a good book that she has not got it back yet and wont till my copy is here. It has a very readable text with very helpful information. Even how to dispach and prepare poultry for the table. A taboo subject for most writers
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2001
Thanks to this book and of course the all knowing John seymour, I am a city girl who now owns Sheep, ducks and hens. Soon to move to a small holding, I am confident that I can also cope with goats and donkeys - And make a small income from the land and feed the family! It gives you the info you need to care for the animals, but also to talk to others without looking a complete novice! As soon as you have a bit of knowledge under your belt, others with heaps more experience are soon happy to give you good advice and before you know it - you really DO know what you are doing!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2000
This book covers all aspects of livestock and poultry as is claims. The illustrations are rather dated and some of the photographs are not as clear as they might be to be useful. However, it gives nearly everything you need to know.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
have started to read this book but cannot get into it, im sure if i get the chance to give it another go it may end up being money well spent, i know it wasnt a new item, i dont think id of bought it if it was new. not quite the book the reviews made it out to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
This book is written by one of the most knowledgeable smallholders in the business - Katie Thear started up one of the first smallholding magazines many years ago. It is a really useful and realistic guide to keeping different sorts of animals on a small scale, and an authoritative reference to have on your shelf. If you just want a couple of hens in the garden, then maybe it is better to start with Keeping a Few Hens in Your Garden , or Starting with Chickens, but if your ambitions run to pigs or goats then this will set you on your way. We started with as dreamers with a couple of hens in the garden and now run our own smallholding, and still consult this book on a regular basis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Ideal for people like myself who have reached a point in life where they can no longer face 'the day job' and want to do something new like take on a small holding - lots of very useful information packed into these pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
Backyard farmers interested in having a readily available source of eggs and meat are provided with non-technical information on housing, feeding, raising and butchering animals.

Not many `intro' guides to livestock farming out there but this one is clear and concise.

A bit dated now and can be pricey new so look out for a second-hand copy of this classic. Also, seems to 'have it in' for the farming industry which can be a bit of off putting but some good solid content in there..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2006
For a complete starter to raising livestock this book is easy to read and understandable. A little outdated with regards to the pictures but the information is a great starting point. Following on from this book we have taken a pig husbandary course which brings it all together.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
I bought this same book a few years ago and have used it for reference so many times as we have a farm.This copy was bought for my sister who has goats and already
has used the references for little health problems.It's a must have if you have a lifestyle block.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)