Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know Your "Selves" Better
As most people can guess by the title, the "inner game" of tennis is the game that takes place iin the mind of the player and is played against barriers such as nervousness, self-doubt, etc.

To gain clarity on the mental problems in tennis, the book looks at the concepts of "Self 1" and "Self 2". Self 1 is the name that is given to the conscious ego-mind which...
Published on 17 Jun 2010 by tennismom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great purchase, quick delivery.
Published 4 months ago by Timothy Bretherton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Inner Game - not just for tennis, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
If you've ever served at break point, and despite extra care served a double fault, here's why. And a zillion other little niggles that all lead back to the same basic problem. This is a classic, hugely influential on generations of would-be Federers, and asks the reader to consider some very fundamental questions.

The lessons learnt, and the progress that ensues, are lessons for life, not just for tennis. Follow this book for a how-to on nurturing yourself, on feeling good about your shortcomings, and on building the confidence needed to tackle and reverse them. I don't know who wouldn't benefit from this book.

Oh, and watch the damn ball, stupid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for ALL coaches not just tennis, 1 Mar 2007
By 
K. Mcdougall "keithmc" (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
I was recommended this book not to improve tennis (I don't play at all) but to improve my understanding of coaching and improve my own coaching skills.

The book is written by a tennis coach and is of course about tennis, however it is more than that. The skills and principles of the inner self and the competing elements of `I' and `myself' can be applied to all types of coaching whether that be sports, lifestyle or executive.

If you are a coach or want to become a coach this is a great book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lessons in coaching - tennis and life, 26 May 2009
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
An excellent combination of philosophy, yoga and spirituality applied to achieving success in the tennis court as well as in life and business. Has brilliant insights for people who might consider coaching and mentoring at the workplace and elsewhere. Not to forget amateur and professional tennis players - great tips on concentration, improving your game and a new way of looking at competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a musician, and the Inner Game of Music helped me enormously with my focus, many years ago. The principle is to pay attention to what is actually happening- without judging; notice what occurs and trust the body to do what it has rehearsed, without 'trying' too hard, or beating oneself up. It's incredibly effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a unique view of why sporting endeavours can be so frustrating, and using this metaphor why many things in life generally can be so and how to overcome it. I reread it frequently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a game changer! and not just for your tennis., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great book to help us focus on the present moment and to trust your natural abilities. I don't play tennis but this book came highly recommended so I gave it a read. The book is very accessible, flowing well from start to finish making it an enjoyable read. All the concepts about how we consider ourselves and how we can focus our attention are well explained and practical. Worth making the time for this one, and to really get the most out of it save a little time to think over its content between chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars inner game of tennis, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
Book arrived in good condition as described. Still working through it, but a good coaching book regardless of the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful for tennisplayers (and athletes in general), 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
An experienced coach recommended me this book for my 17 y. old daughter(an ITF player).I 've started reading it too. It has plenty of useful tips and it is also easy to understand; you 'll have a lot of fun reading it.I believe its very helpful for the (neglected) part of players psychological preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't play Tennis, it is a must read for everybody!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Angelica Ardley "Meg" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
I don't play tennis, but this book is not only about tennis. It is about the game everybody has in their own minds.
Timothy Gallwey talks about the feeling of "flow", 40 years earlier than researchers and psychologists first discussed about it.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changes the way you think, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Dr. J. M. Zhang (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a colleague at work. I don't think he is a pro tennis player but the advice from this book can be applied to other situations both within and outside of sports so I would fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inner Game of Tennis: The classic guide to the mental side of peak performance
£6.29
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews