Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Education!
When I first read this book it was controversial as it was a book for teenage girls that described sex explicitly and from the perspectives of a teenage girl and boy experiencing their first sexual relationship. At the time I was going through the same experiences as a teenager and really valued the book as something to relate to. It sympathises with teenagers when they...
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by S. Murray

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Explicit but not dirty
To begin with, I would have to take issue with a previous reviewer's comment that from the first paragraph, this book is "dirty".

If anyone here is looking for a "dirty" book, I suggest you buy a Mills & Boon. The sex scenes in "Forever" are explicit, certainly, but are the least erotic scenes I have ever read. I'm not a fan of excessive bodice-ripper language...
Published on 10 Jan 2007 by Shadow


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Education!, 24 Sep 2006
By 
S. Murray "Nurse_Sooz" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
When I first read this book it was controversial as it was a book for teenage girls that described sex explicitly and from the perspectives of a teenage girl and boy experiencing their first sexual relationship. At the time I was going through the same experiences as a teenager and really valued the book as something to relate to. It sympathises with teenagers when they really feel they have found "the one" and how this feels for the first time. It deals with issues of peer pressure, virginity and STI's and I think every teenager should read it. Great for parents to give to their teenage daughter to avoid embarrassing talks! It's also a really good story and guaranteed to make you cry at the end! We've all been where Katherine has! Heading for 22 now I really look back and value this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think I'm speechless!, 6 Oct 2001
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
i'm not speechless because it was a fantastic book, in fact, as most of Judy Blume's books are, it was easy to read, written in a simple, easy and fairly patronising way. What i like was the fact that Judy Blume wasn't scared to really describe sex. Many adults and teenagers feel embarrassed about this subject and i think that its good that there is a book out there telling the complete and utter truth.
This book handled many subjects that are still confusing for teenagers today even though it was written 25 years ago. The obvious subject was love and relationships, but also, drugs, alcohol, pregnancy, contraception, sex, friendship and depression.
This book is about Michael and Katherine falling in love, they take their love to the furthest level and then they are forced to spend a summer apart..........
This book does not end how you want it to do, but very realistcally.
Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
I have had a copy of Forever by Judy Blume since 1986, when I was 14. I thought I'd lost the book, but then found it again whilst cleaning up the house. I have since re-read it twice, and even though I'm now older, it still has the same charming qualities about it, and is an addictive read for all ages. It was also a humorous book when I was 13, mainly because my Dad is called Ralph. Readers of Forever will understand what I mean by that!! Brilliant read. Recommend it to everyone - young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Enough, 4 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever.... (Piccolo Books) (Paperback)
I'm 14... Old enough for some things, not old enough for others..I think one of the things I'm old enough to know is about sex and first love. Although, things like TV, friends, and my mom, helped me answer some questions, I was never satisfied. I had so many question about what first love was like or what's it like to my virginity? This book answered all my questions and I a person who will never read and only use sparknotes,read this book in two days! I read it on the way home from school on the bus and late at night. I didn't care what people thought because this is the best book and now it's my favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great teenage classic!, 14 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
This book really is a teenage classic. As well as being a great read, it really helps you to understand the reality of sex and the responsibilities that come along with the pleasure.
The story of Katherine and Michael is so true to life. They are both lovely people and of course their relationship isn't perfect because this book isn't a fairy tale is genuine relationship which slight problems.
Anybody even looking at these reviews should definitely buy it whether they are male or female because it is the truth about sex. I would especially recommend this book to mothers and daughters as it will help them to understand each others point of view on sex.
As well as being educational, it is actually a great story book with lovely characters. Judy Bloom really did a great job of making learning about sex fun and it was a fab idea to make it fiction as it doesn't make you cringe so much when it's somebody elses sex life you are talking about!
READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft Porn??, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
Love, sex, pregnancy, alcohol, drugs. This book should be called 'The answers for every teenager'. I first got hold of a copy of 'Forever' when I was 13. The pages were worn and some falling out from the many teenagers hands through which it had past. The original owner was long gone! 'Forever' was my first experience of sex. Its a love story, but what makes this book so popular is the way Judy Blume peeled back the skin of sex and wrote it how it is. Surprises, experiences, are all put into the written word - so real!! I recommend any teenager picks this up - Your Mum and Dad wouldn't tell it this well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forever...., 11 July 2006
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
I first read this book when I was 15 in Mrs Price's Home Economics lesson! By that time 40% of my class had read the book, by the end of the school year about 75% of our year had read the book. It is a fantastic book for girls of that age, when forever really does seem like it means forever! It's a great coming of age book and after 2 years of hunting for it (it has such a simple title but I couldn't remember it!) it really was worth the wait....even now I'm 23!! A book you could read over and over again and reminice about with your friends as they all should read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. Amy Boyce (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
I am now 36 but still remember reading this when I was 15-6, yes there was a furore about it, none of my friends were allowed to read it. My mum was so cool, I was allowed to borrow it from the library and I still consider it a seminal text of my youth. It isnt up there with Dickens, it is not a work of massive literary content, but it is a work that is accessible by teenagers, spoken in a language that they understand about something that is scary at that age. Times have changed massively in the last 15-20 years, what was scary and unknown to me at 15 then, is not now but I believe this is timeless. I would still recommend it to teenage girls. And I recommend it to Mums that are a little nervous to get it for their teenage girls... you never want them to do it.. this will make it safer and easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will forever be with me!, 11 Jun 2007
This review is from: Forever (Paperback)
Firstly, I'm my 30's - and felt I needed to share my thoughts on a book that has never left me - and highly recommend. I first read it when I was 11 years old and then re-read it several more times after. It's a teenage self-help book about love, friendship, relationships and all those feelings your having but are afraid to ask/talk about/even think in those teenage years. When you meet your first love you will understand. I have since given it to my sister (who is 14 years younger than me) - and feel no teenage girl should miss out on what is a classic read by Judy Blume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book to read and re-read!, 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forever: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books i have ever read, and one i shall probably read again. Gives an interesting insight into a youngsters life and the discovery of the opposite sex. Beautifully writen and with a brilliant story line. If you only read 1 book this year make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9c0ac8)

This product

Forever.... (Piccolo Books)
Forever.... (Piccolo Books) by Judy Blume (Paperback - 7 Sep 1984)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews