Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book
Vintage stuff is one of my favourite Tom Sharpe books and the superb reading by Stephen Fry does it full justice. The central comic situation revolves around the two main characters. One is a man who yearns for adventures in the manner of John Buchan or Bulldog Drummond. The other is a boy who prefers his heroes to come from the pages of an Ian Fleming or Frederick...
Published 16 months ago by matt1971

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Sharpe's best
Tom Sharpe is always violently funny, bawdy, rude beyond expectation and totally un-politically correct. This book follows that pattern precisely.

It tells the story of the rivalry between two masters at a below par public school. One obsessed by old fashioned adventure stories and the other obsessed with getting revenge on his rival. Throw in a stupid school...
Published on 7 Mar. 2009 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe witted, 10 May 2009
By 
Kerry Johns (Hampstead, London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book during a short stay in hospital. I was glad not to be in a busy ward as my laughing would have kept the other petients awake. Years ago I read the two south african farces by Tom Sharpe and found him hilariously un-PC but seriously "right on" nonetheless. Then I forced myself to wade through the Wilt books and to be honest decided to stop reading books which had began to appear quite samey. My goddaughter brought me this book since she knows I have a weakness for old fashioned writing and it was a revelation. satirical yes, but also a celebration of jingoistic British Boys Own nonsense. A colision of two worlds. I loved it. And I may well start buying more Tom Sharpes again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it!, 7 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Hardcover)
This is, in my opinion, Tom Sharpe's funniest piece of writing.
A tour through public school rivalry between teachers and their egos, it is based on one masters efforts to bring down another master, and for that to happen we are taken across the channel to France, and through it's excellently depicted countryside.
Peregrine stands out as the loyal sidekick, and assistant, to Glodstone... a kind of retarded Robin following, (tho' sometimes leading) a demented and deluded Batman.
The situations and predicaments that the characters find themselves in had me laughing, often, throughout the book, and there are plenty of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth reading if you like a laugh, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Funny as expected and there are places where you laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Tom Sharpe so has to be very good. I'm a Tom Sharpe fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Below par slapstick - needs to be much Sharper, 13 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
I hadn't read a Tom Sharpe book in maybe ten years, but what I remember were absurd but still gruesomely funny, bawdy adventures in the world of slapstick (the episode in The Throwback with the prophylactic, the oven cleaner and the cheese grater remains one of the funniest things I've ever read).
Well, I stumbled upon Vintage Stuff in an charity shop the other day and thought I'd give it a go for old times' sake.
I wish I hadn't bothered. Tom Sharpe's literary star has waned of late (having reached its zenith in the early Eighties), and reading this book it isn't hard to see why.
The thing about slapstick - and Sharpe should know this, as he's a (past) master at it - is to exaggerate and caricature; extrapolate and inflate, but never so as to totally break the bounds of credibility. There need to be scenes and situations which any of us might find ourselves in, and only the unusual confluence of all of them at once suggests this could never really happen in real life.
In Vintage Stuff, this simply isn't the case. Even the premise is ridiculous, and the decisions, behaviour and reactions of all the characters are plainly silly, without ever hinting at being funny. Sharpe's writing style, usually so light, is leaden; the dialogue isn't credible and the denouement is both unpleasant and anticlimactic. You may spy also a rather spiteful, laboured, resentment of the public school system.
This has all the hallmarks of an empty barrel being scraped. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Stuff, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
The title says it all. I loved this book and in places was literally laughing out loud with tears running down my cheeks. Tried to read out the parts to those around me but couldn't get past the giggles. Wonderful use of language. The Major's reasons for calling crampons tampons brings a smile even now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worthy of the time to read, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
excellent read as is usual for tom sharpe books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will laugh out loud!, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
Being an avid reader of Tom Sharpe books, I have to say that this is one of the funniest.
The Gripping plot, lined with Sharpe's clever twists of fate and unique humour, will have you finished the book in hours. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant Tom Sharpe, as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vintage Stuff (Paperback)
Tom Sharpe is incomparable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vintage Stuff
Vintage Stuff by Tom Sharpe (Paperback - 20 May 1983)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews