Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books about European mushrooms
This photographic guide by Roger Phillips was a wonderful book when it was published first, and still is one you must have if you're interested in mushrooms. I have a lot of photographic mushroom books in my library, and, nearly twenty years after its publication, this one has one of the highest standards in colour illustrations of fungi. The mushrooms have been...
Published on 5 Jun 2001

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book terrible service initially
I ordered a hard-back copy of this book in excellent condition. What arrived was a paperback copy in shockingly poor condition. Creased cover and heavy biro inscriptions and library stamps on first 6 pages. After several Emails which got me nowhere , I telephoned the seller who agreed to refund my purchase price and said I could keep the book or give it to a charity...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books about European mushrooms, 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
This photographic guide by Roger Phillips was a wonderful book when it was published first, and still is one you must have if you're interested in mushrooms. I have a lot of photographic mushroom books in my library, and, nearly twenty years after its publication, this one has one of the highest standards in colour illustrations of fungi. The mushrooms have been photographed on a pan, not in the woods, but this only helps you to better see the features of each species. The identification of species - unlike other recent guides - is nearly perfect and stands very well after almost two decades. All in all, a very complete and magnificently illustrated book to start identifying mushrooms. The only reason I gave four and not five stars is that the publisher should think to prepare an updated edition with up-to-date nomenclature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must' for all fungi-philes, 2 Oct 2001
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
Without question the best overall look at European fungi. There are shorter guides for those who are only interested in eating mushrooms (like myself), but they should still arm themselves with this book to confirm their identification. It is both comprehensive and user-friendly: a rare achievement when it comes to the myriad of confusing species that confront the would-be mycologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pioneer - and still the best guide for identifying European fungi, 8 Nov 2005
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
I bought this pioneering book when it came out in the early 1980s for identifying British fungi. At the time it was revolutionary as the use of photographs allowed the author to depict mushrooms much more accurately than the paintings of earlier guides. It is still one of the top field guides to this region (also check Courtecuisse & Duhem and Jordan). I still use this volume a lot for identifying American fungi, both in the tropics and North America. Although I have over 200 field guides of different sorts on my shelves this remains one of my all time favourites. If you're interested in fungi, don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding, thorough and brilliantly illustrated guide, 9 Aug 2001
By 
Richard McDonald (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
This was the first substantial book on the subject that I acquired, nearly twenty years ago, and it remains unsurpassed as an accessible yet thorough work with outstanding illustrations. Having searched primarily in Europe, I would choose to review some of the assessments of frequency, and location, but this book remains a first class achievement, and an excellent choice for a collector who wants to upgrade from a worthy but superficial pocket guide. My favourite mushroom book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable guide book., 14 Aug 2001
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
This book is quite simply invaluable to the mushroom collector. Having previously used books with illustrations, I found the photographs of enormous help. Their clarity is a testimony to the hardwork that must have gone into the making of the book. The author successfully conveys an enthusiasm for the subject which spurs you to keep looking for that elusive fungus. This book is worth it's weight in chanterelles!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite field guide, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
I have a lot of field guides for various areas of natural history, but this is my favourite. Ok so its a little big to take into the field, but the fun I've had with the visual as well as written key, the excellent photographs and the brilliant coverage for each species, wonderfully condensed to just the right level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Bible for all Mushroom addicts, 11 Sep 2007
By 
Michael Latham "Truffle hunter" (Chichester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
There really is very little more to say about the Roger Phillips guide other than no-one interested in collecting and identifying fungi should be without a copy. It is THE BIBLE for all collectors. But it is a "big book" better on the shelf than in the haversack. Keep this one at home but also buy ( yes.. you REALLY need two) the Eyewitness series Mushrooms by Thomas Laessoe pub by Dorling Kindersley as the ultimate field guide you can take out with you. Almost as good as Phillips !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
This book arrived promptly and in very good condition. It has excellent photographs of each species, including a cut cross-section, and the descriptions are detailed. Almost impossible to make a mistake on most species. Valuable addition to the mushroom-hunter's library (it's always best to cross-reference several books when in any doubt).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 Mar 2013
By 
D. Greenwood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything you need to know about mushrooms. Excellent photos aid identification, including all angles, ages, and cross sections of the mushrooms. May be more suited to specialists, Rangers, land managers and field study surveyers. Not really a beginners guide. It was perfect for my needs as an environmental educator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is there mushroom in your bag, 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Hardcover)
only prob with this book is its big but it needs to be big as its packed with great photos,i use this still after many years and its kept my interest going but i tend not to carry it around with me.its all you need buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original)
Used & New from: £8.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews