Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a clear, photographic guide for grass identification
This book is an excellent guide, and comes in A4 dimentions so the pictures are large which makes for easy identification of all species of grass and mosses - a must have for all flora enthusiasts
Published on 9 Oct 2000

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better - but still useful
It is difficult to think who, apart from the environmental professional, will get the use out of this book. Clearly Jane Colley does, and clearly I thought I would when I bought it. Trying to use it, however, I found it less successful than other Roger Phillips ID guides. In many cases, especially with the grasses, the diferent species are very similar in appearance. At...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Grasses,ferns, mosses and lichens, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I know the book about mushroom by roger philips (excellent), this one for me is
For grasses and ferns excellent, for mosses good, for lichens disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting old book, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Chris (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I bought this as I have an interest in...you guessed it, Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens. The book is crammed full of alright quality images of a myriad of species. Because of the books age, some photos aren't the best of quality, but it's just about passable, especially when considering just how well put together the whole thing is when compared to modern day texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
though i don,t use this as much as my other book by phillips ,i find the photographs great .i,ve used it a few times to identify ferns and its been useful but as a browser its nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Check out the greenery, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
A comprehensive book but I'd envisaged a "pocket - size" guide. This one is Atlas dimensions so for specific outings not country walks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I love his books even he did allegedly try to kill his wife with weed killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. G. Knight (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend's birthday and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second Hand Book, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Tilt (Yorkshire Dales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland (Paperback)
Book arrived in good condition as described by the seller, with just a little discolouration on the edges of the pages, but otherwise in excellent condition. Arrived well wrapped and in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grasses, Ferns, Mosses and Lichens of Great Britain and Ireland
Used & New from: £8.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews