Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent story from a master of writing about many different periods and places in Africa
The story is of an intriguing battle for the heart of a woman occupying the wit of 2 likeable but very different heros- and is set against a tragically inevitable unfolding of the colonial ambitions of Fascist Italy, just before the 2nd World War. Every page rings true and contains humour and believable characters on a grand scale. There is pathos and joy, and the huge...
Published 5 months ago by Pete the Pixie

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
I am an avid reader of Wilbur Smith and have read most of his books. In fact the very first book I ever read was 'When the Lion Feeds' and I have re-read it since and believe it to be a masterpiece of action and adventure. 'Cry Wolf' was boring and drawn out from the start to the unfinished ending and I have no difficulty it thoroughly not recommending it to your...
Published on 4 Sep 2012 by D R Keeble


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Audio Download)
I am an avid reader of Wilbur Smith and have read most of his books. In fact the very first book I ever read was 'When the Lion Feeds' and I have re-read it since and believe it to be a masterpiece of action and adventure. 'Cry Wolf' was boring and drawn out from the start to the unfinished ending and I have no difficulty it thoroughly not recommending it to your customers. Wilbur Smith usually takes you on a high octane adventure which makes it compulsive reading from beginning to end. In my opinion he just churned out this dross to keep his publishers quite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent story from a master of writing about many different periods and places in Africa, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
The story is of an intriguing battle for the heart of a woman occupying the wit of 2 likeable but very different heros- and is set against a tragically inevitable unfolding of the colonial ambitions of Fascist Italy, just before the 2nd World War. Every page rings true and contains humour and believable characters on a grand scale. There is pathos and joy, and the huge backdrop of historical events is understood at all times by the reader- whilst we wonder about the outcome of the male struggle to secure the affections of a strong female lead character. The tale is fast paced and very difficult to put the book down- a true sign of a well-written and riveting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action adventure, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Paperback)
A change from his wonderful South African land based stories, a really good new hero, I have bought the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bargin from this seller thank you so much, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Audio CD)
Wilber Smith's stories are always gripping and transport you to exotic places.
his audio cd's pass the time on a journey in a delightful way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cry Wolf, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Hardcover)
Another volume by Wilbur Smith which I have read and enjoyed, I can recommend this story to everyone who likes reading a good yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
Really disappointed with this book.I'm a big fan of wilbur smith and was looking forward to cry wolf. It starts ok but soon descends into unbelievable plot and ridiculous characters. The more I read it the more it became monotonous. I persevered for as long as possible,hoping that it might get better. It didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
another great read from the master of suspense a must have in any library could be reread over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars exciting adventure story, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book, it rattles along at a fast pace. Lots of humour as well as an exciting story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Yvonne Brown (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Paperback)
This is not the best of Wilbur Smith's novels. The plot was confusing &, at times predictable/mundane. Quite a let down having enjoyed many of his novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf (Hardcover)
This is one of the Wilbur Smith's older novels I had not read, it brough home when reading it how much his style has changed and how good his early bboks were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry Wolf
Cry Wolf by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 8 July 1988)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews