Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars78
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2011
Set in Africa during the Congo crisis Bruce Curry is given the mission of liberating a towns citizens (and the diamonds) from the marauding rebels.

There are only him and 3 other white men with him, a disgraced alcoholic doctor, a repressed homosexual and the ever bullying Wally Hendry. They have to lead a small mercenary band on this mission encountering bloodshed at every turn.

A page-turner of a novel with some very nice gory touches which include torture and cannibalism.

A few parts were a bit too slushy for me... (Why do they always fall in love after about 6 hours...?) but a very good read all the same. I especially like the way Smith shares the characters thoughts as well as what they say.

Will definitely be seeking out more works by this author.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
I have read countless Wilbur Smith books because they contain colouorful and interesting characters who bound along an involving adventure but this book is a really poor effort lacking any particular 'guts' to the story or likeable characters.
Like 'Vicious Circle' the authour seems to think that every action novel needs a gratuitous rape scene which for a supposedly fast moving thriller is totally unnecessary IMO.
After the last two novels I don't think i'll be buying any more of his books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2002
The 'Dark of the Sun' is one of Smith's most violent books. That doesn't mean it is not a good book, but I recommend it only to those with strong stomachs and people who have served in the armed forces. If you can read through the violent scenes then you realise that Smith has written a brilliant story with no unnecessary long-winded descriptions, a story that keeps the reader's attention from the beginning to the end. Especially if you are man this book makes more sense to you. I particularly liked the way Smith presents the development of the relationship between the leader of the mercenaries and the girl he meets. I think it goes to the very essence of how and why relations between men and women are formed (or at least from a man's point of view).
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Not the style of book/story that I have become excited about from Wilbur Smith. Very hard to get into. So far put in the wait for a very rainy day to finish!! Disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Bought a new copy to replace a very tatty well read copy. A great adventure story. Mr Smith always takes you on a very memorable trip through Africa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Having read loads of Wilbur Smith's novels we were disappointed with this one. It was readable but the plot was not his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I do not wish to spend my time writing on items. In the main it is something I wish to have & no more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
A great early novel from Wilbur Smith. This is still classic story telling which may be forgiven for being slightly dated now in its outlook and occasionally of questionable morality. It reflects and embraces its era with unashamed aplomb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
This book is a typical Wilbur Smith with on stop action from start to finish about the civil war in the Congo. It's a mite gory in places but that's probably how it really was. All in all a really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
What one would expect from Wilbur Smith - great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.