Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and moving.
Still new to Wilber Smith and enjoying his work enormously. If adventure is your thing then look no further than this guy. In his second novel we pick up a few years after where we left of in 'When the lion feeds' following spontaneous adventurer Sean Courtney. War is rife is South Africa and we travel with Sean into the Boer war. But soon we learn that a far more bitter...
Published on 1 Aug 2005 by JPR

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really into wilbur at the moment
Slow to get into not enjoying it as much as the 1st on one in this group,but will press on
Published 18 months ago by jayne hubbard


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and moving., 1 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound of Thunder (Paperback)
Still new to Wilber Smith and enjoying his work enormously. If adventure is your thing then look no further than this guy. In his second novel we pick up a few years after where we left of in 'When the lion feeds' following spontaneous adventurer Sean Courtney. War is rife is South Africa and we travel with Sean into the Boer war. But soon we learn that a far more bitter battle lies ahead for our hero. A deep family hatred is there for all too see. The way Smith draws you into the story is something special, and you find it hard to put the book down. When something happens to the characters involved, you find yourself taking the punches as they take them. The way the book describes the African topology and climate will create a desire to explore the country yourself. It is easy to see why Smith is so highly rated. He is quite a brilliant writer. Emotional and heart-warming, a fantastic sequel, not to be ignored!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint, 27 Aug 2009
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, the action certainly continues from where it was temporarily left at the end of the first book!

The author has skilfully woven a thrilling tale where every high and low experienced by the characters feels almost like a personal achievement or loss.

Deeply engrossing, you will soon find yourself cut off from the real world and majestically transported back in time to Southern Africa at the time of the Boer War. Putting this book down is a major irritation and inconvenience and I had to force myself to put it down on one occasion when the early hours of the new day were flying by!

War, romance, hunting, fighting, gambling, farming, politics; small threads which are interwoven yet help contribute towards this epic masterpiece.

If you enjoyed the first, you'll love this book.

If you haven't read any of Wilbur's books before, buy `When the Lion Feeds' you certainly won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the most engaging story tellers out there, an excellent second book in the Sean Courtney trilogy. now onto the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just read them... start at when the lion feeds then the sound of thunder and after this a sparrow falls, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't read Wilbur Smith it's about time you started... There are many books to read from over the years - just read them... start at when the lion feeds then the sound of thunder and after this a sparrow falls and move on from there ... This is the Courtney trilogy with more novels on this family to follow. Pictures in the mind, a great set of stories from which you will also learn a lot about South Africa ... Read on... There are so many good books to read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Thunder, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful follow-up from 'When The Lion Feeds'. I didn't think the 2nd book in the trilogy of the Courtneys could be anywhere near as good, but I thought it was really a super read - time flies by with these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WilSmith, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Sound of Thunder (Paperback)
I had been looking for this book for quite a while However Amazon yet again came up trumps.Have had great success with Amazon and will use them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such great story telling. I was completely absorbed in the characters and plot, just as good as the first book if not better. If you're a Wilbur fan this will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a follow up!, 13 July 2000
This review is from: The Sound of Thunder (Paperback)
After coming back from the wilderness, a rich man once again, only to find himself to have all his Ivory & money taken from him by the Boers, he find himself drawn into a war that divids the country. He has to make his mind up as to which side he will fight for ( & I won't tell you, because it will just ruin it! ) To gat there he has to cross through emeny lines, and it is here that he finds the woman of his dreams, but that would be all to simple. Togeather with this and the war its self, Wilbur Smith turns this into a compelling and exiciteing novel
What a way to continue the Courtney family saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Diana Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Saga continues, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had only just finished the 1st book in the series, when the lion feeds, and just had to find out what happened next. Wow....this book draws you in and you live alongside these wonderful, larger than life characters. Another epic? Yes
Predictable? At times. Could I put it down? Only when I fell asleep.......and I put that off as long as possible. Utterly riveting and so well written that you feel the heat from the African sun and smell the elephant carcasses rotting. Can't recomend enough and I have already started the last in the series A Sparrow Falls.....will be equally dissapointed and relieved when I finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of Thunder
The Sound of Thunder by Wilbur Smith (Paperback - 6 Feb 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews