Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instructive guide for photographers working professionally, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: Everything You Need to Know Before, During, and After the Shoot (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Mastering the Model Shoot is a front-to-back guide on how to set up a shoot, work with the model, light, pose and execute the images, post-process them and sell them. It's written for people who are photographic professionals, who aspire to be, or who are very, very serious amateurs.

As such there is much more about marketing, building up a portfolio, work flow, colour calibration and solving problems than in other books on the same subject. Commensurately, there is no information about how to buy your first camera, how to focus it and what to do when it stops working: it isn't that kind of book.

If you quite fancy shooting some nice pictures of models and getting to know your camera equipment better, then I recommend Photographing Models: 1,000 Poses. If you want to earn money from photography, be taken seriously in the profession and land some big gigs, then I recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: Everything You Need to Know Before, During, and After the Shoot (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I own quite a few photography related books and buy regular magazines always looking for something a bit different. This book is something different it contains such a wealth and depth of detail it is a must for the serious amateur and budding professional. The images in the book I think are worth the price alone. There is so much good content from ideas, lighting advice, general advice on the full process. And again there is so much inspiration from the images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is all you need to know about mastering a model shoot, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
M. D. Norton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: Everything You Need to Know Before, During, and After the Shoot (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
I've read a number of books about model shoots, styling a shoot and lighting one. This is without a doubt the best one I've come across. The biggest reason why isn't just the fact that Frank has taken to time to set down a lot of his creative process and that of the team he works with. It's the fact he is very honest about the troubles you may encounter, and the curve balls that any shoot has with them, he also outlines ways of taking such unknowns and making use of them. The book is very in depth, but using a plain speaking way of describing things, it also leaves out a lot of the pretentious BS that some photographers add in their books. There is nothing of the "here is a shot only I could take." kind of attitude you will find in other books. There are sections on everything and to the point tips that will impact on the way you shoot the next time you have a set, lights and model to shoot stood in front of you.
I bought this and I got it for my kindle too so I can have it as a reference when I'm traveling

If you're keen on upping your game with your photography, buy this book, read it and use the knowledge you gain from it. I have and it worked for me..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photo technique, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good comprehensive look at the photographic work flows
. Great insight into different types of model shots and camera techniques. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book written with a pleasant sense of humor. It includes lots of tips and must-know. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative reference book, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well laid out book, a very informative read, and good to refer to for both studio and outdoors. What it does show you is really ordinary backgrounds and locations with a little thought can produce some really excellent portrait photography, really pleased I purchased it, no frills, just facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to sit and read, or as a reference in the future., 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book. Franks view of photography is great, a brilliant mix of being laid back, having great attention to detail and using whatever he can to get the shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great and well illustrated book by the talented Frank Doorhof. Great guide and support when starting to photograph models. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book from a master of the art, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you buy one book on photography this year buy Frank's

This is so NOT the usual collection of pictures, lighting diagrams and kit lists which is the norm for this type of book.
Crammed full of great tips and insight in a clear, open and well written format. There is a wide range of subjects covered from different light sources, locations, studio, model casting and best practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!!! 😊, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: Everything You Need to Know Before, During, and After the Shoot (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Wow! This book deserves more than five stars! It's a sensational book!
Beautiful from cover to cover!
It tells you everything you know to get that great model shoot!
I recommend this book. It's a gem for beginners or anyone that has an interest in model photography or even a hobby if they so wish! The price if the book is cheaper than buying it in the shops.
Great wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews