Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars9
2.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£27.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2014
I just want to warn potential buyers that this book is out of date. If you have the latest version of Final Cut Pro X you have to download 64 A4 pages of amendments to the book!! It is not only very tedious to have to refer back and forth to the update document but expensive if you prefer to print them out. I really think that Apple and Amazon should have put this warning on this product and discounted it a lot further.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Just getting started with this one and already can see how good it is. I bought the higher-level "advanced editing" version before this which even as a newbie to FCPX I was easy able to follow. However, this version has the same structure but with a much better twist - you work on one project continuously so you can understand the learning within the context of an actual production.

Having been pretty proficient with FCPX from the other book, I am already learning new tips and shortcuts in the 1st three chapters of this one such as what external an managed media is and the pro/cons; using JKL keys in brower windows; how to import multiple favourite sections of multiple clips and many more.

If you are new to FCPX then this is 100% for you. The material is interesting and with the context of an ongoing production throughout, you really get a good idea of the power of this awesome application. If you're looking at this book, then don't think anymore - just get it!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I was already editing in FCP X 10.1 when the book arrived, and I am so glad that I decided to start again and go back to square one with this text book. (Yes, it was a real book, not an electronic one.)
The structure of the lessons, and the patient explanations are not patronising, but make sure that you really understand the minute details, and the reasons for structuring your editing in the way you are taught.
You start by downloading media which is used in the lessons to demonstrate and practice the various techniques in all aspects of post-production.

It's not for the faint-hearted, and certainly not for the quick-edit of your holiday video. Designed for the aspiring professional editor, and for the serious amateur, like me, it will open your eyes to a range of possibilities previously unknown.

I haven't yet finished the whole course, but so far cannot fault it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
This book and course comes in a poor second place to the Diana Weynand book which is a great introduction to FCPX. I am afraid this is Apple applying the 'fix it when it is not broken'. It is a great shame that they did not get Diana Weynand to do an updated book for the 10.1.3 version as the Brendan Boykin approach will put many people off fcpx.However it is helpful for experienced editors who need a conversion course.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Excellent content written in a very easy to understand way which assumes very little prior knowledge. However the kindle formatting is all over the place making parts of the book almost unreadable. If you can get the iBooks version which has none of the problems of the Kindle edition.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
I recently purchased this book as it's the only one available for 10.1. The book is great,but you will need to redeem a code,that is printed in the back of the book to download the media files so that you can carry out the tasks. If you are unfortunate,like me,to have a slow internet connection,then you are in for a long wait. In my case,I have been trying to download the media files for the past three days. The media files can only be download and are not available to purchase on DVD. Big mistake by Peachpit Press, the publishers of this book. Once you have brought the book, and register your code,that is in the back of the book, on their website, the book with the code can not be passed on and used by anyone else.
I have rated this book with three stars,it would have got five had the media files been supplied on a DVD in the back of the book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Hello I have just bought the new Mac Pro because of the good reviews on Final Cut X. After working on a PC for a number of years MACs are different. However after buying the previous edition of Apple Pro Training by mistake, this edition is a step too far with no DVD to download . I have wasted hours downloading the files from the internet and they will not open in their Zip form into the edit section of the training programme. It looks a great training series and it will take a lot of time to study pity the files wont open for me. I have asked the Publishers for help. Should be no stars at all at the moment for all the wasted time will keep you posted.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Like others, I dislike the fact that you have to download the tutorial files. But it's even worse than that - you have to register at Peachpit too. If I could rate this as minus 5 stars I would do so.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Seriously complicated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)