Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... started with this one and already can see how good it is
Just getting started with this one and already can see how good it is. I bought the higher-level "advanced editing" version before this which even as a newbie to FCPX I was easy able to follow. However, this version has the same structure but with a much better twist - you work on one project continuously so you can understand the learning within the context of an...
Published 9 months ago by Greg Rushworth

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - THIS BOOK IS OUT OF DATE
I just want to warn potential buyers that this book is out of date. If you have the latest version of Final Cut Pro X you have to download 64 A4 pages of amendments to the book!! It is not only very tedious to have to refer back and forth to the update document but expensive if you prefer to print them out. I really think that Apple and Amazon should have put this...
Published 4 months ago by Clive Bennett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - THIS BOOK IS OUT OF DATE, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
Clive Bennett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
I just want to warn potential buyers that this book is out of date. If you have the latest version of Final Cut Pro X you have to download 64 A4 pages of amendments to the book!! It is not only very tedious to have to refer back and forth to the update document but expensive if you prefer to print them out. I really think that Apple and Amazon should have put this warning on this product and discounted it a lot further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... started with this one and already can see how good it is, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just getting started with this one and already can see how good it is. I bought the higher-level "advanced editing" version before this which even as a newbie to FCPX I was easy able to follow. However, this version has the same structure but with a much better twist - you work on one project continuously so you can understand the learning within the context of an actual production.

Having been pretty proficient with FCPX from the other book, I am already learning new tips and shortcuts in the 1st three chapters of this one such as what external an managed media is and the pro/cons; using JKL keys in brower windows; how to import multiple favourite sections of multiple clips and many more.

If you are new to FCPX then this is 100% for you. The material is interesting and with the context of an ongoing production throughout, you really get a good idea of the power of this awesome application. If you're looking at this book, then don't think anymore - just get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough and easy to understand, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Terry (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
I was already editing in FCP X 10.1 when the book arrived, and I am so glad that I decided to start again and go back to square one with this text book. (Yes, it was a real book, not an electronic one.)
The structure of the lessons, and the patient explanations are not patronising, but make sure that you really understand the minute details, and the reasons for structuring your editing in the way you are taught.
You start by downloading media which is used in the lessons to demonstrate and practice the various techniques in all aspects of post-production.

It's not for the faint-hearted, and certainly not for the quick-edit of your holiday video. Designed for the aspiring professional editor, and for the serious amateur, like me, it will open your eyes to a range of possibilities previously unknown.

I haven't yet finished the whole course, but so far cannot fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book and course comes in a poor second place to the Diana Weynand book which is ..., 24 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
This book and course comes in a poor second place to the Diana Weynand book which is a great introduction to FCPX. I am afraid this is Apple applying the 'fix it when it is not broken'. It is a great shame that they did not get Diana Weynand to do an updated book for the 10.1.3 version as the Brendan Boykin approach will put many people off fcpx.However it is helpful for experienced editors who need a conversion course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book itself in great, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent content written in a very easy to understand way which assumes very little prior knowledge. However the kindle formatting is all over the place making parts of the book almost unreadable. If you can get the iBooks version which has none of the problems of the Kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book is great,but, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. A. Singleton "Andy Singleton" (West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
I recently purchased this book as it's the only one available for 10.1. The book is great,but you will need to redeem a code,that is printed in the back of the book to download the media files so that you can carry out the tasks. If you are unfortunate,like me,to have a slow internet connection,then you are in for a long wait. In my case,I have been trying to download the media files for the past three days. The media files can only be download and are not available to purchase on DVD. Big mistake by Peachpit Press, the publishers of this book. Once you have brought the book, and register your code,that is in the back of the book, on their website, the book with the code can not be passed on and used by anyone else.
I have rated this book with three stars,it would have got five had the media files been supplied on a DVD in the back of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why No DVD?., 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
Hello I have just bought the new Mac Pro because of the good reviews on Final Cut X. After working on a PC for a number of years MACs are different. However after buying the previous edition of Apple Pro Training by mistake, this edition is a step too far with no DVD to download . I have wasted hours downloading the files from the internet and they will not open in their Zip form into the edit section of the training programme. It looks a great training series and it will take a lot of time to study pity the files wont open for me. I have asked the Publishers for help. Should be no stars at all at the moment for all the wasted time will keep you posted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like others, I dislike the fact that you have ..., 12 July 2014
By 
J. R. Ekins "chunky" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
Like others, I dislike the fact that you have to download the tutorial files. But it's even worse than that - you have to register at Peachpit too. If I could rate this as minus 5 stars I would do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You need to be a nerd., 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production (Paperback)
Seriously complicated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple Pro Training Series: Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Professional Post-Production
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews