Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but for absolute beginners
I bought this book before starting their iOS book. I already knew Java beforehand but had never used Objective-C (or C/C++). Perhaps because the syntax is so similar to Java, I found this book a bit simple. It assumes NO knowledge of programming or OO at all. It will take you through Strings, Arrays etc.

Having said that, if you want to start programming for...
Published 15 months ago by The Lurker

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars if I could - it's oK but tbh it's a bit of a chore and definitely not fun. It runs through the various important aspects
I'd give this book 2.5 stars if I could - it's oK but tbh it's a bit of a chore and definitely not fun.

It runs through the various important aspects of Objective-C in a concise manner, with short chapters so you do feel like you're making progress as you run through it.

However, the challenges at the end of each chapter are an absolute chore and...
Published 6 months ago by worzel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but for absolute beginners, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book before starting their iOS book. I already knew Java beforehand but had never used Objective-C (or C/C++). Perhaps because the syntax is so similar to Java, I found this book a bit simple. It assumes NO knowledge of programming or OO at all. It will take you through Strings, Arrays etc.

Having said that, if you want to start programming for phones & have no experience of programming at all, this book or a similar book for Java (if you want to make Android apps) would be an excellent starting point. It is clearly written, explains everything well and covers all the stuff you'll need to start making simple tools. Note that you do not make many (only 1) actual iPhone app (and a very simple one to boot!) - that is a topic for the next book in the series - 'iOS programming'.

So what do you do? make command line tools that print stuff to the console. WAKE UP! yes it sounds boring but it's where all programmers start and you can plough through this book in a week or two and get onto making real apps. Think of it as a painful ordeal all wannabe programmers have to complete! On the plus side, you won't ever have to go this basic again - even for new languages (unless you're me and buy this book by mistake!).

So ONLY buy this book if you're looking to get into programming from scratch. If you know some other OO language it is not necessary - just complete a basic online tutorial for objective-c and go straight to the excellent iOS Big Nerd Ranch book which assumes very very little knowledge of objective-c just a bit of syntax & what OO is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
While a reasonably experienced programmer, various Assembly Language instruction sets, a bit of perl, C, etc, I have very little working knowledge of Class based languages.

I am looking to branch into Mac programming so was looking for a book that demonstrated the syntax and usage of Objective-C without assuming the reader was a complete novice to programming.

Yes, you do need a working knowledge of programming to get the best of the contents, but the book is nicely structured, new topics are introduced by building on the previous topics and examples. The examples in the book are nice and short so you feel more inclined to type them in rather than downloading the code from a web site.

In short, a excellent book that complements their Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
Great book and very easy to follow. I did Java several years ago and wanted to get back into programming. As I work through the book I start to remember bits from Java - obviously not the same, but they do have similarities. The only issue is a few black lines running down the middle of a few pages between chapters 5-7, but I am sure it was a mis print and it doesn't block out any words, just a bit more difficult to read. Other than than, can't complain. Happy. Enjoying learning again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, informative read., 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reads like a book.
Great style.
Looks great on monochrome kindle.
First stop on the journey to my million dollar game ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good book !, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
Mmmm very good book. Walks you step-by-step. Starts teaching C then ventures into OC. Explains almost every detail. Just get it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great info, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
Like all the other Big Nerd Ranch guides, you won't be disappointed. A lot of information, the right way !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. T. Tubbs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
Can't wait for the Swift version this Spring.
Still need to do the basics, so this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for an absolute beginner, 2 May 2014
By 
GCW "scullsxx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
I've been a COBOL programmer and wanted to have a look at programing apps. I've not completed the book yet but so far it has been very good. It walks you through the programing process and also give you additional tasks for many of the subjects being presented. As I already had a programing background I found the book useful in getting to grips with Objective-C. The style isn't too sterile and you feel that your being tutored rather than lectured to.

Certainly worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the future with this book....., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
......as an aging programmer. mainly COBOL and other early languages, who is retires I thought I would retrain in the more modern programming stuff. I have a grandson on his way up so I feel I need to know about this kind of thing.

The book is an easy read. Each of the exercises work and make sense.

I like what I have done so far and find it takes me along at a pace that makes sense to me. Good book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
By 
N. Lyons (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides) (Paperback)
excellent book, good examples, id look for more by these guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Objective-C Programming: The Big Nerd Ranch Guide (Big Nerd Ranch Guides)
£18.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews