Customer Reviews


12 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect field manual to Free To Play games, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away (Paperback)
I pre-ordered Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away several weeks in advance of it's launch. Whilst I already work in the freemium social/mobile games space I am always hungry for great resources that pull all the various elements and issues together in a cohesive way. Until this book came out, there was precious little available in that respect. Now there is and I would heartily recommend Will Luton's work to anyone looking to be part of the games industry over the next decade and beyond.

To thrive in the free to play games business, one needs to gain a decent appreciation of multiple topics, some of which have hitherto been completely alien to many otherwise capable games designers, producers or product managers. These topics include the role of game data and the analysis of this to drive engagement, retention, revenue generation and other, business-critical success criteria. Luton goes beyond simply defining the illustrating the key characteristics of Free To Play design; notably he provides commentary, insight and clear guidance on the issues that will help shape (or otherwise, break) a digital games business. This isn't a book tailored for new Goliaths such as Zynga et al; this is a well-structured, concise and practical - and often very witty - field manual for people performing multiple diverse roles in the games industry.

Luton addresses issues that are currently the source of frequent, heated debate at almost every game conference and in most studios globally. Issues such as the role of 'data-driven design' and the targeting of children with virtual IAPs, and does so with a refreshing and mature tone, neither advocating some of the sharp practices that have sometimes been applied yet never also apologizing for what Free To Play is....a BUSINESS model; one designed to earn revenue. His message is consistent. It is one of ensuring that you provide a level of service and quality of offering that people will naturally desire and thus be positively willing to pay for. This is not a dark guide to churning some evil box of black monetisation magic to exploit the ignorant masses. Rather, this book is about how we, as a mature industry, can find new ways to serve and delight our audiences on a scale never before believed possible.

If you are already receptive to and/or embracing of Free To Play games design and monetisation then you will very likely get value from this book. If you are currently firmly-footed in the 'camp of Free To Play naysayers', but hope to play a productive and positive role in the modern computer games industry, then do yourself a favour and invest the time and money to read this book. I predict that you will gain a new perspective; one that will stand you in good stead. And if not...you can always resell it on Amazon.

What's to lose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone who designs games needs to read this book, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
Martin Linklater (Wallasey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away (Paperback)
I've been a pro game developer for 20 years, and thought that this book wouldn't be able to teach me much about my art. How wrong I was. This book breaks down the nuts and bolts of game design in a methodical manner, and is a real eye opener. Some of my most long held preconceptions about player motivation and value of certain design decisions have been turned on their head. The author has a clean, easy to understand way of demonstrating what motivates people to play games, and what keeps them coming back for more.

Even if you're not working in the free to play space there are tons of great rules of thumb and examples which will be of great use to you.

Buy this book now. You owe it to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 25 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away (Paperback)
Making a great Free to play game is hard but Will helps to break down all the key areas in an easy to read format.
There is tons of information here from Economics, Monetization and Analytics, to Gameplay design and keeping your plays coming back. Need some help with Marketing? He's got that covered too.

If you're making a Free to play game or considering it, you'll find this book very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 18 July 2013
This review is from: Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away (Paperback)
This is a great introduction to free to play design for the uninitiated that also works as a great resource for those already well versed in the subject matter.

With clear, simple and objective writing, it's very easy to read and manages to pack a lot of information into an economic and well organised structure that manages to nicely echo the 'core loops' discussed within the book.

For those less inclined toward the specifics of free to play, the book also works well as a more general guide to game design, with many of the principles behind free to play mechanics still relevant and applicable to more traditional design models - particularly those regarding player motivation.

The book also contains valuable and useful insights into marketing for those looking to publish their own titles.

A great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best F2P game book I've come across, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away (Paperback)
I've been in the F2P gaming space for 6 years now. And over the past 6 months I have searched around for books to help enhance my knowledge of the subject outside my own experience. I've spent a couple hundred pounds on different books, and this one has to be the most insightful.

It's a well written and well designed book, full of the key information you need to run a F2P game. Although a nice chunk of it I knew already, there was some good insights and examples I didn't know that I can draw from going forward.

This book should be more than £19 when you compare it to other books on the market. Great job Will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable tool in the Game Designers arsenal, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away (Paperback)
This book helps makes it easy to understand the F2P business model. Whether you've been designing games for years, or just getting started this is a must read, even if you don't plan on making a F2P game, it'll help you understand the market.

It teaches you basics that extend far beyond F2P such as Analytics and Marketing insights that can used for any digital product across the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable resource, 14 Sept. 2013
Being a keen follower of the author (@will_luton) and a novice indie developer I was very much looking forward to reading this book. It far exceeded my expectations.

The author clearly knows his stuff and introduces the concepts and backs up the theory so well that I have been left with a thirst to tackle the behemoth that is the appstore.

Don't waste time reading my review hit that buy now button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Decodes F2P in a straight up succinct way, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
John Griffin (RANCHO SANTA FE, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Free 2 Play theory is a complex area. It encapsulates game design, running games as a service, behavioral economics, psychology (more than Maslo), data science and analysis and much more. It is one of the scariest developments in the games industry for developers as its hard to get right while at the same time being one of the biggest opportunities. Its a potential leveling field for the indies' against the larger studios. This book is a great starting point for your journey into the Free 2 Play domain. It decodes a lot of the jargon so often bandied about and is a down to earth book that will equip the games designer with the fundamentals of what they need to think about. These days, success will largely be determined by how much one masters these skills so I would say this is a 'must read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic introduction to F2P concepts, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great intro to all the important elements that make up creating, promoting and growing a F2P title. Perfect for anyone trying to demystify what can often seem like an impenetrably complicated realm. A must-read for designers, PRs and anyone else entering the space for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a really good read. We had problems trying to understand all of the trends happening within the free to play world, this book provides lots of really good information in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away
Free-to-Play: Making Money From Games You Give Away by Will Luton (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
Used & New from: £110.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews