Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Knowledge Of Jeff Schewe
Having read the last book, The Digital Negative, I felt compelled to purchase this next book and I have not been disappointed. Jeff writes with the experience and knowledge from a life time of photography. The information is explained in a very down to earth, matter of fact, common sense way. The book is worth getting just for Chapter 5 it self, Attributes Of A Perfect...
Published 21 months ago by L. J. Fisher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended - nor the companion processing text - because of poor image quality
I bought this because I have always struggled with both the theory and practice of printing. Schewe is one of the gurus, so I thought this and the sister volume on processing would be helpful. They are - up to a point. The text is so-so, but the illustrations are so small and badly reproduced as to be useless. They are absolutely essential to understanding. I tried using...
Published 15 months ago by J. Woodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Knowledge Of Jeff Schewe, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
L. J. Fisher "LJF" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
Having read the last book, The Digital Negative, I felt compelled to purchase this next book and I have not been disappointed. Jeff writes with the experience and knowledge from a life time of photography. The information is explained in a very down to earth, matter of fact, common sense way. The book is worth getting just for Chapter 5 it self, Attributes Of A Perfect Print. There's knowledge in this chapter you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else, or take days to find and its all here in this one chapter.
The only gripe I do have is, I feel, is his unfair criticism of printing from Photoshop, over emphasising how time consuming it is making sure all those boxes are ticked correctly. When I have a print ready, I apply a Pixel Genius Output Sharpener, open the print dialogue make sure all the settings are correct and print, it only takes a few seconds. A man of Jeff's talent would whizz through this seconds. I think there's some subtle manipulation going on here to slowly persuade us to eventually move over to Lightroom, but I'm very happy with Photoshop, its more hands on. Anyway, apart from that, this is a highly informative book that everybody who has any interest in quality printing should buy. If you got this then you should buy the last one and if you got the last one you must buy this one, you'll never know what you're missing!
In fact if you have these 2 books and buy Martin Evenings new book, Adobe Photoshop CC For Photographers, or if you are into Lightroom his new Lightroom 5 book or both, these are all the books you'll ever need for still photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, technical, superb, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Hiace Drifter (Northern Hemisphere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
Jeff Schewe is incredibly knowledgable about processing images, and not only provides guides/tips for maximising image quality, but also technical info on the way LR/Photoshop/Printers work so you understand why things turn out the way they do. Highly recommended to anyone who is interested in printing their own images, or send images to be printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended - nor the companion processing text - because of poor image quality, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
J. Woodman (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
I bought this because I have always struggled with both the theory and practice of printing. Schewe is one of the gurus, so I thought this and the sister volume on processing would be helpful. They are - up to a point. The text is so-so, but the illustrations are so small and badly reproduced as to be useless. They are absolutely essential to understanding. I tried using a torch, then a magnifying glass to see the points being made about the images, then I gave up. In a way it is quite amusing that a text on images is totally deficient in this respect, but at £30 for the two I'm not laughing too heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book, 7 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
OK, the bit about colour management is a bit heavy but this book is truly outcome focussed and is not the usual "look how clever I am at using this software" kind of book. If your interest is understanding how to produce great quality prints from excellent digtal images using Photoshop or Lightroom (or both!) then this is for you. The Digital Negative explains how to get the absolute best out of any good digital image and this explains how to produce fantastic prints. You will, of course, need a professional printer or know someone with one. The book covers printing with both Epson & Canon printers from the 'enthusiast' models such as the Canon Pro-100 upwards. However much of the content is not specific to any printer and the principles could be used with any high quality photo printer from HP and so on. A truly excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've read, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I've read about the technical stuff of photography. It includes some theory and also technics that will help you to achieve better results and understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Printers Bible, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
David PM Young (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
Bang up to date, very good tips and tricks, a bot too techy in places. A great read all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book if you are looking to go in depth ..., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
This is a great book if you are looking to go in depth into printing your own images. The knowledge of the author is very good and the explanations in the book can be understood by the layman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was recommended this book by one of my tutors from the ..., 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by one of my tutors from the uni that I attend, can't fathom out why I have not come across it before. It has been a massive help to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it!, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing (Paperback)
A superb thought provoking book. Once read you will take more care when preparing your digital negative and printing same.
Cannot be recommended enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of need to know information presented in an easy to digest manner.
Jeff Schewe really knows his stuff and seems to enjoy presenting it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing
£24.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews