Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE PRICE
I haven't yet completed reading this book, but I have flicked through it and have started reading it seriously. So far I have no complaints. It is well written and although I am only about half way through serious reading, it is answering my questions as it goes, and teaching me more than I had hoped. I would advise doing the set tasks at the end of each chapter in order...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by Tish

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nicely written
Very nice book and easy to read but I did get the impression that much of what he describes is what I did within the first day of getting my camera i.e trial and error and you can pretty much work out how to tweak the settings to get the best shots for certain situations. Aperture, focal length, shutter speeds, and (film) sensitives all either directly or indirectly...
Published 19 months ago by Docbell


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE PRICE, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Tish (Sheffield South Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
I haven't yet completed reading this book, but I have flicked through it and have started reading it seriously. So far I have no complaints. It is well written and although I am only about half way through serious reading, it is answering my questions as it goes, and teaching me more than I had hoped. I would advise doing the set tasks at the end of each chapter in order to cement learning, particularly if like me, you are a novice.

I strongly suspect that once I have completed reading from cover to cover, it will remain an important reference source, making it good value for money and ensuring it will never gather dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D3200: From snapshots to Great Shots, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
C. tracy "CEEJAY" (SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Just purchased the NikonD3200 so wanted the book on it, and very pleased I am too for getting it.
Easy to follow and very clear print. Certainly would recommend to purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D3200, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
New to DSLR photography so wanted a book that would take you through the practicalities of operating my new camera and getting good results. The great thing about the book is that it is not a instruction manual but leads you through how to make the most of your camera in certain situation. There is some technical information but this is pitched at a level which is good. Overall, I would thoroughly recommed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide, 18 May 2014
By 
P. Smith (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Having just purchased a Nikon D3200 DSLR camera, and having no idea of how to use it, once off the "auto" settings, I thought it would be a good idea to get a book to supplement the very basic leaflet that came with it, and the very comprehensive on-line guide which is extremely long - certainly a bit too long to print off and carry around with you. This book is not intended to replace the on-line guide, but rather to supplement it and it does that very efficiently. It gives enough information to enable the reader to get off "auto" (a 4-letter word to the serious photographer) once and for all. For someone who knows little or nothing about the D3200 this is well written, well illustrated, and easy to understand and the author does not "talk down" to the reader. In all, a good, basic introduction to the world of digital SLR photography, specifically written for the D3200.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 18 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
If like me you are a complete novice when it comes to DSLR photography, then I would have to thoroughly recommend this book.

Well laid out, everything is in a logical order and is much more that a guide book for your camera, if you follow it you will get really great results out of your D3200. Lots of great tips and suggestions which you won't find in the user manual, well illustrated too. Take some time following the instructions on setting up your camera, and it will help you get the most out of it. There are some very good assignments at the end of each chapter to help you too.

There is a great online section free to download to help you "pimp your camera"! Gives information on using a remote control for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An appropriate series addition for this recent model, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
The 'From Snapshots to Great Shots' series is a growing one and covers a variety of topics mostly on one aspect of photography, such as landscapes or black and white, or in a couple of instances to date on a specific camera. This is one of those and the camera, although priced for and with a feature set aimed at the user for whom this may well be their first serious camera or dSLR. However, there is one feature of this model that rather sets it aside - and rather far to the side - of many of its similarly priced and featured alternatives; that is its 24 megapixel capability!

The purpose of this book is not to replace the camera manual, although it could, but to expand upon it. In most instances, the manual may explain what a certain button or dial will do and under what circumstances and may also include a list of those items and adjustments that exist within its several layers of menu but does not have the space to explain some of them more fully. Some are quite obvious and speak for themselves but when or why you should allow ISO settings to be controlled by the camera or selected manually may not be fully explained. There are many others where this may also be true, not least the various image qualities on offer. The book offers an opportunity to explore the camera a little further, to add sections which the manual omits and possibly, should you choose, to store it in the gadget bag or otherwise with the camera should you need to clarify something at some later date.

This is one of the first books from any publisher to appear for this model. Whether or not it is any better or worse than its competitors will depend solely whether or not it answers the questions you may have. That isn't a question I can answer for you. You will need to decide.

Of those titles I have seen, the series is one that is worthy of consideration by any new(ish) photographer or one wishing to further explore the subject. Those of its titles that comprise 'camera guides' are slightly different and are likely to be purchased either by those who had recently made the purchase or are seriously considering doing so. There are reviews to be found on-line, but this provides a far more detailed - but different - look at the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars look before you leap, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
B. Zabavnik (down town shepherds bush beneath the BBC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I made a mistake in buying this book as a kindle product and it is really difficult to follow in that format. Otherwise like its previous incarnation in d3100 it is a really good browse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
Excellent guide - starts from the very basics and takes you through all aspects of the camera and its functions. It explains technical issues in a clear and comprehensive manner and is very 'practical', guiding you through set up, shooting and output. It really adds to the manual and has given me the confidence - as a 'new' SLR user - to explore the manual settings.
The language is clear and concise without being simplistic - technical terms and themes are explored and explained.
A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense, good advice, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Golin "rengolin" (Cambride, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
I was looking for a book directed at total beginners and this one is exactly it. If you know a thing or two about photography and have used other DSLRs, this is NOT the book for you.

It contains nice photos as example, guidelines on what to look for in each photo and how to reproduce the effects. It also contains a wealthy number of quick tips and good advice that every beginner should learn before taking the camera out for a trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book !, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (Paperback)
As i'm a new DSLR owner and have no prior experience of DSLR cameras I needed a book that taught me in an easy to read format.

This book is great, its laid out in easy to understand chapters, building knowledge as you read through. At the end of each chapter are assignments (should you choose to accept them !) and as it's specific to the D3200 it's a great addition to the user manual.

Highly recommended to D3200 owners especially if you are new to DSLR cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots
Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots by Rob Sylvan (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2012)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews