Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2013
This book is a good starting point for working with Nik software. The inclusion of sample photos to work with is excellent. However, the book is biased towards users who also have Photoshop. Aperture and Lightroom are not included except by name. More detail is needed in each section of the book and an explanation given of the main filters and how they can be combined. There is an example in the chapter dedicated to Photoshop were the author uses filters together from three different sections of the software. For example, using the bleach bypass filter, customising it, then adding a black and white filter and finally adding a darken and lighten centre filter. More examples of how to get the most out of the filters is needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Excellent. Each plug in is dealt with separately in plain simple English. Extra photos are available to download so you can practise the various techniques.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
If you've just purchased the Nik Collection, this is the book you need to get started, and it continues then to show advanced techniques in Photoshop. John Batdorff takes you through the workflow in an orderly fashion and each step is well explained. You can also register the book to enable the downloading of images on which to practise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I have been hoping to save for this software for a long time but the cost was to much for me, and when the price came down to a justifiable level
i just had to have it.
Great price
Great product
WOW
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
The content is really good, it is a shame that the book is so small along with the images. For some reason publishers have decided that it is better to make smaller books; and I don't know why. This is also a good book but really too small to read in a relaxed way The Photoshop Darkroom 2: Creative Digital Transformations
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I have all the Nik plug-ins for Photoshop but needed more detailed information on their use. This is an excellent guide book and well recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I have used the NIK Suite a great deal and so 'know' it well. I still found the book useful however as both an accompaniment to further exploration but mainly as a way of prompting a more streamlined workflow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Clearly written and though an introduction I found it very helpful. I personally like a book to follow to get me started, and then move on to videos. I am reasonably experienced in photo editing, but did not find it too simple. Reading on a 10" tablet, the text and illustrations are quite clear. It is a shame that the sample images are no longer available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I purchased the Nik Software package without any knowledge of it at all.This guide very quickly had me up and running.It is presented in a suggested workflow order which is very helpful.The layout is very user friendly and easy to follow and each plugin is separately cover in detail.I would have preferred the illustrations to have been larger.However,I can thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
If you have NIK plugins then this is the book for you. Very well written. Great book. Bags of details.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)