Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all experience levels who want a good understanding of design and implementation of DD
"Implementing Domain-Driven Design" is a great book for all experience levels who want a good understanding of design and implementation of domain driven design.

I've only started reading it and so far has been fairly easy to get into. It was recommended by a senior developer within the company and I trust his views.

Also recommended 1...
Published 5 months ago by Nairski

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok book
Its american so lots of text for few facts. Its a good introduction to DDD. Event sourcing part could have been larger.
Published 9 months ago by Trulsen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all experience levels who want a good understanding of design and implementation of DD, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Implementing Domain-Driven Design (Hardcover)
"Implementing Domain-Driven Design" is a great book for all experience levels who want a good understanding of design and implementation of domain driven design.

I've only started reading it and so far has been fairly easy to get into. It was recommended by a senior developer within the company and I trust his views.

Also recommended 1. Enterprise design patterns, Martin Fowler; 2. Implementing domain driven design, Vaugn; 3. Domain Driven design, Eric Evans; 4. Anything by Greg Young around CQRS. Only read the third one after the second - its a bit heavy going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific DDD Text!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Implementing Domain-Driven Design (Hardcover)
"Implementing Domain-Driven Design" is a very comprehensive book on DDD, to say the least, and will serve it's owners well as a reference text just as much as it will as an informative guide to DDD. There is a sample solution that runs throughout the book so each chapter makes some pertinent reference to how the topic at hand can be applied to the solution. If you're a C# developer don't be too alarmed that Java is the language of choice throughout the book, I haven't touched Java in years and I managed to keep up (for the most part :)). One thing I will say is if your not familiar with a lot of the more common design and architectural patterns in use today either be prepared to learn them as you go, or do some preliminary swatting up - they're littered throughout the book as you can expect.

All up the book covers a lot of ground and personally I think the author did an excellent job. If there was anything I would change it'd be making a reference to my favourite IDE and tools throughout, but I acknowledge that doing so would more than likely drive the Java readers mad so I don't fault the author for his choice.

In a lot of ways DDD can be seen as a tool for architects and developers and I personally felt better equipped to use my DDD tools and skillset out in the real world after having read "Implementing Domain-Driven Design" by Vaughn Vernon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A weighty tome for a weighty subject, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Implementing Domain-Driven Design (Hardcover)
There are lots of examples covering all of the ideas put forward in Eric Evan’s original book on Domain Driven Design. It’s certainly helped me to better understand many of the core concepts although I still have reservations about some of them. My only gripe is that I would have liked to see more code and perhaps slightly less lengthy textual case studies. Still recommended though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Companion to the Blue DDD Book, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Adrian Phillips (Fairburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Implementing Domain-Driven Design (Hardcover)
This is exactly the book I've been waiting for after reading Eric Evan's original book on DDD over a year ago. Although I'm only a few chapters into it, you can tell whether an author's writing style is going to be reader-friendly or not. This book is definitely reader-friendly and I'm looking forward to reading the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Adrian (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for anyone writing or planning to write a sophisticated application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok book, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Implementing Domain-Driven Design (Hardcover)
Its american so lots of text for few facts. Its a good introduction to DDD. Event sourcing part could have been larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Implementing Domain-Driven Design
Implementing Domain-Driven Design by Vaughn Vernon (Hardcover - 6 Feb 2013)
£25.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews