Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2013
Book is great!

Just one thing...
Get a paper version, do not get Kindle edition.
Why? Because once you buy paper version, you get Kindle version for free (also including pdf and ePub version) - 2 for 1 hidden offer.

So please buy [paper version]:
PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide

and forget about [kindle edition]:
PHP Advanced and Object-Oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (3rd Edition)
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
I'm afraid that unless there's a compelling reason, I very quickly close any site or book which uses the spectacularly dull and much-loathed 'foo' and 'bar'. Yes, I know the etymology behind it, but it doesn't really help when you're trying to learn, and it often follows that unimaginative thinking leads to dull writing.

So, when Larry makes it clear in the first few pages that he's actively going to be avoiding these placeholders, then I thought we might be onto a winner, and we definitely are! I wish I'd discovered his books 3 years ago. The writing style is easy and followable with a smattering of wit - just enough to keep things light, but not so much as to distract.

The examples are very good too, although occasionally there's a bit of redundancy around setting up the skeleton page to hold the examples. One of the other reviewers didn't like the "two column" style, and occasionally it doesn't help, but overall it leads to a huge amount of saved space, meaning more examples can be packed into the book.

This book is definitely worth every penny and every well-deserved star.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This book took my php skills to a new level. It's definitely not for the beginner php programmer as the author does assume you can do things like creating sql tables and that you have your own zend type server set-up.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
This book doesn't go into great depth/theory in most of the subjects it covers. But, it introduces you to some interesting topics and concepts. It’s easy to understand if you have some prior knowledge in programming. Covers PHP object orientated programming in a straightforward way and also covers design patterns, but the later not in great depth.
In conclusion this book is great to introduce some advanced subjects used in programming. As said on the back of the book it’s a great reference guide (and I would say a bit more than that) and will give you suggestions on how to pursue the topics covered in greater depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This book had some useful tips/techniques that I didn't already know even though I have been programming in PHP for a while now. Its definitely worth buying if your at a 'medium' level.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
This book is OK, but more intermediate than Advanced. And I'm not convinced it comes up to scratch with modern coding standards and practices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
I've expected more from this book. It is much like a PHP.net written in a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 August 2014
Very useful book, Larry has added a lot to the section on Object Oriented design in PHP, it covers up to PHP 5.4.
I've used the chapter on multi dimensional arrays as well and several other chapters. The extra Object Orientated chapters are useful - there's a chapter on Design Patterns and further information on traits.
If you are serious about understanding Design patterns, use Head First Design Patterns in conjunction with Chapter 7. A lot more understandable than the Gof equivalent.
There's useful stuff on running PHP scripts outwith a web browser later on as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Thanks for the excellent book, Larry! Very good book for beginners and advanced developers!
Strongly recommended, if you are start learning PHP.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Thanks Larry for your book about PHP advanced, un bon niveau pour la Poo. Ce livre permet de bien appréhender ce language. Larry Ullman est vraiment un excellent pédagogue. Il ne laisse rien au hasard en approfondissant chaque partie avec des d'exemples, des conseils et des questions pour valider ses connaissances. An really good another book about OOP is PHP Object-Oriented Solutions of David Powers, more pro
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)