Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best book about PHP and Object-Oriented Programming
Book is great!

Just one thing...
Get a paper version, do not get Kindle edition.
Why? Because once you buy paper version, you get Kindle version for free (also including pdf and ePub version) - 2 for 1 hidden offer.

So please buy [paper version]:
PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide

and forget...
Published on 21 Jan. 2013 by Darek

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting snippets, but overall - a bit disappointing
This book is OK, but more intermediate than Advanced. And I'm not convinced it comes up to scratch with modern coding standards and practices.
Published 7 months ago by James Coffey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best book about PHP and Object-Oriented Programming, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
Book is great!

Just one thing...
Get a paper version, do not get Kindle edition.
Why? Because once you buy paper version, you get Kindle version for free (also including pdf and ePub version) - 2 for 1 hidden offer.

So please buy [paper version]:
PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide

and forget about [kindle edition]:
PHP Advanced and Object-Oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (3rd Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
This book took my php skills to a new level. It's definitely not for the beginner php programmer as the author does assume you can do things like creating sql tables and that you have your own zend type server set-up.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any book that actively avoids 'foo' and 'bar' is a winner from the start., 21 Aug. 2014
By 
I'm afraid that unless there's a compelling reason, I very quickly close any site or book which uses the spectacularly dull and much-loathed 'foo' and 'bar'. Yes, I know the etymology behind it, but it doesn't really help when you're trying to learn, and it often follows that unimaginative thinking leads to dull writing.

So, when Larry makes it clear in the first few pages that he's actively going to be avoiding these placeholders, then I thought we might be onto a winner, and we definitely are! I wish I'd discovered his books 3 years ago. The writing style is easy and followable with a smattering of wit - just enough to keep things light, but not so much as to distract.

The examples are very good too, although occasionally there's a bit of redundancy around setting up the skeleton page to hold the examples. One of the other reviewers didn't like the "two column" style, and occasionally it doesn't help, but overall it leads to a huge amount of saved space, meaning more examples can be packed into the book.

This book is definitely worth every penny and every well-deserved star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had some useful tips/techniques that I didn't already know even though I have been programming in PHP for a while now. Its definitely worth buying if your at a 'medium' level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to advanced programming (PHP) topics, reference guide, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
This book doesn't go into great depth/theory in most of the subjects it covers. But, it introduces you to some interesting topics and concepts. It’s easy to understand if you have some prior knowledge in programming. Covers PHP object orientated programming in a straightforward way and also covers design patterns, but the later not in great depth.
In conclusion this book is great to introduce some advanced subjects used in programming. As said on the back of the book it’s a great reference guide (and I would say a bit more than that) and will give you suggestions on how to pursue the topics covered in greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting snippets, but overall - a bit disappointing, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
James Coffey "Telic" (The North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is OK, but more intermediate than Advanced. And I'm not convinced it comes up to scratch with modern coding standards and practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It is much like a PHP, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
I've expected more from this book. It is much like a PHP.net written in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent making for making transition from intermediate to Expert, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
A. I. Mackenzie "alimack" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful book, Larry has added a lot to the section on Object Oriented design in PHP, it covers up to PHP 5.4.
I've used the chapter on multi dimensional arrays as well and several other chapters. The extra Object Orientated chapters are useful - there's a chapter on Design Patterns and further information on traits.
If you are serious about understanding Design patterns, use Head First Design Patterns in conjunction with Chapter 7. A lot more understandable than the Gof equivalent.
There's useful stuff on running PHP scripts outwith a web browser later on as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
Thanks for the excellent book, Larry! Very good book for beginners and advanced developers!
Strongly recommended, if you are start learning PHP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Php & Poo ou OOP for you…, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Vignaux "LVdesign" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
Thanks Larry for your book about PHP advanced, un bon niveau pour la Poo. Ce livre permet de bien appréhender ce language. Larry Ullman est vraiment un excellent pédagogue. Il ne laisse rien au hasard en approfondissant chaque partie avec des d'exemples, des conseils et des questions pour valider ses connaissances. An really good another book about OOP is PHP Object-Oriented Solutions of David Powers, more pro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides)
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews