Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best book about PHP and Object-Oriented Programming
Book is great!

Just one thing...
Get a paper version, do not get Kindle edition.
Why? Because once you buy paper version, you get Kindle version for free (also including pdf and ePub version) - 2 for 1 hidden offer.

So please buy [paper version]:
PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide

and forget...
Published 20 months ago by Darek

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting snippets, but overall - a bit disappointing
This book is OK, but more intermediate than Advanced. And I'm not convinced it comes up to scratch with modern coding standards and practices.
Published 7 days ago by James Coffey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best book about PHP and Object-Oriented Programming, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
Book is great!

Just one thing...
Get a paper version, do not get Kindle edition.
Why? Because once you buy paper version, you get Kindle version for free (also including pdf and ePub version) - 2 for 1 hidden offer.

So please buy [paper version]:
PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide

and forget about [kindle edition]:
PHP Advanced and Object-Oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (3rd Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent making for making transition from intermediate to Expert, 5 Aug 2014
By 
A. I. Mackenzie "alimack" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful book, Larry has added a lot to the section on Object Oriented design in PHP - there's a chapter on Design Patters now and further information on traits. If you are serious about understanding Design patterns, use Head first design patterns in conjunction with Chapter 7. A lot more understandable than the Gof equivalent.
I've sued the chapter on multi dimensional arrays as well.
There's useful stuff on running PHP scripts outwith a web browser later on as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any book that actively avoids 'foo' and 'bar' is a winner from the start., 21 Aug 2014
By 
I'm afraid that unless there's a compelling reason, I very quickly close any site or book which uses the spectacularly dull and much-loathed 'foo' and 'bar'. Yes, I know the etymology behind it, but it doesn't really help when you're trying to learn, and it often follows that unimaginative thinking leads to dull writing.

So, when Larry makes it clear in the first few pages that he's actively going to be avoiding these placeholders, then I thought we might be onto a winner, and we definitely are! I wish I'd discovered his books 3 years ago. The writing style is easy and followable with a smattering of wit - just enough to keep things light, but not so much as to distract.

The examples are very good too, although occasionally there's a bit of redundancy around setting up the skeleton page to hold the examples. One of the other reviewers didn't like the "two column" style, and occasionally it doesn't help, but overall it leads to a huge amount of saved space, meaning more examples can be packed into the book.

This book is definitely worth every penny and every well-deserved star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
This book took my php skills to a new level. It's definitely not for the beginner php programmer as the author does assume you can do things like creating sql tables and that you have your own zend type server set-up.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had some useful tips/techniques that I didn't already know even though I have been programming in PHP for a while now. Its definitely worth buying if your at a 'medium' level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Php & Poo ou OOP for you…, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Vignaux "LVdesign" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
Thanks Larry for your book about PHP advanced, un bon niveau pour la Poo. Ce livre permet de bien appréhender ce language. Larry Ullman est vraiment un excellent pédagogue. Il ne laisse rien au hasard en approfondissant chaque partie avec des d'exemples, des conseils et des questions pour valider ses connaissances. An really good another book about OOP is PHP Object-Oriented Solutions of David Powers, more pro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting snippets, but overall - a bit disappointing, 10 Sep 2014
By 
James Coffey "Telic" (The North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is OK, but more intermediate than Advanced. And I'm not convinced it comes up to scratch with modern coding standards and practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It is much like a PHP, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
I've expected more from this book. It is much like a PHP.net written in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Advanced and Object-oriented Programming: Visual QuickPro Guide (Visual QuickPro Guides) (Paperback)
Thanks for the excellent book, Larry! Very good book for beginners and advanced developers!
Strongly recommended, if you are start learning PHP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews