Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Designers look no further - Corey nailed it., 13 Dec 2011
Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers

As a fan of the series of Down and Dirty books from Kelby media I was looking forward to this version the minute it was announced. The fact that I knew Corey was writing it on his own was a massive bonus. He had contributed to the CS4 Scott Kelby version for 3D but this time its 100% Mr Barker and he has not only taken the torch but also seriously raised the bar on Photoshop Designer books. This is the 'go to' book if you want to learn some amazing creative techniques. Corey finds things even Photoshop probably didn't know it could do !
With each section he builds from the very beginning and builds each image showing you all the methods and tricks avaialble to create fantastic end results. Then he takes another image and applies the same process to show the versatility of Photoshop CS5 for serious designers. I purchased the kindle version as i was too impatient to wait for the hard copy but I feel a purchase of the paperback coming on after Christmas as this is the book I want next to my Mac at all times. The other beauty of Corey's teaching methods is that you can take any of the 'tricks' and combine and experiment with them to create new effects. With a large shift towards Photography at NAPP & Kelby training it is great to know design and creativity is in the safest of hands.
If you love Photoshop and design then this is the Bible - if you are a photographer you should still get this book and it will help take your images to a new level. It's very much a 'Wow' book as that is the sound you will make many times whilst going through each chapter.
I strongly recommend signing up for [...] to watch Corey's classes on there. There is also a ton of creative tutorials over at his website at planetphotoshop.com and kelbytv.com.

So in summary - buy this book today !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 14 May 2014
By 
R. Jones (Lancashire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
what a great book - all the tricks and tips to make your pictures look more professional.
At a great price, too, I would recommend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good source for trying to get more out of Photoshop., 29 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. B. Bailey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Good choice of examples to introduce methods that I found difficult to unravel, though at times I found it difficult to exactly reproduce the process and results using CC. Every project has useful tips and practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 24 April 2013
By 
Andrew Lane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book with some really good techniques, Corey explains things very clearly making some complex effects seem very simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Tricks Makes it Easy!, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
What a great book; easy to follow and the best book I have come across with projects. Unlike other books that miss out "key" information - this book gives great instruction. Corey Barker was great on Layers TV and the book reflects his ability to teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Software Guide, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This item met my expectations based of process clarity and content variety. All in all a valued addition to my library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
as per normal from the writers of most photoshop books, this book shows you some tricks and how to`s but also shows you how things like the fibre filter can transform a pic in a huge way along with ather things that you would proberbly not even think you could do. a welccome addition to the rest of my books. it would be nice if they did not keep using a load of stuff from prevoius books as it mostly seems like im just bying an upgrade book, it has exacly the same pages as the previous book but with only half of the book be ing new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
Learn with the proff - easy and fun - I like this kind of tutorials - include downloading the pictures in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good instructional book, 8 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
There was a broadly similar title from many years ago (relating to several versions of Photoshop up to at least 6 or 7, pre CS), the author of which I cannot now recall. This is a considerably better all-round effort and largely example-led.

Many of its pages are fully illustrated and most of the remainder are vertically split two-thirds for screen captures and one-third for explanations of each. The book does not appear crowded and employs an easy-to-use format.

The book is divided into chapters, but they are not text laden. The chapters are task oriented and the screen captures are used to guide the reader through the process from Step 1 through to Step 6 or whatever. This is probably the best approach for a learning situation in that you are seeing in the book a representation of what should be in front of you on-screen. In this way, if you have not fully understood something, you can return to Step 1 or Step 3 and re-work the task. There is therefore no reason why you may not wish to return to a chapter at some future date to try something that may not have held any previous relevance, or for revision. The book can, and possibly should, occupy a position of importance in many Photoshop users' collections.

Although its sub-title suggests that it may be more for the designer than the more general user, that may be true to an extent but there is something here for a far wider audience, if not just about any moderately advanced or advanced user of Photoshop. It may also benefit graphic artists and illustrators.

Corey Barker, the author, has done an excellent job here for which he should be commended. He is sufficiently gracious to have given a top spot credit to Scott Kelby and the inference is that he may have benefited from either one of Kelby's books or courses. Kelby, is in my opinion, probably the foremost independent Photoshop (and many things Adobe) expert currently around.

If you are a designer who uses Photoshop, then you probably should buy it. If you are a fairly advanced Photoshop user who may occasionally use it in a design context, you will probably need it. Everyone else may gain something from it, but I would suggest either borrowing it if you can or browse some relevant portions to assess if it is of use, and then to buy it if it is going to be helpful.

An excellent approach to the subject, easy- to-use style and a comprehensive coverage of ideas make this a must have for many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good with excellent examples., 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter) (Paperback)
This book is definitely able to take your PS experience to the next level. 4 stars only because the examples are a bit lacking in explaining why you would use certain settings. On the other hand, it makes you experiment more and that's never a bad thing.
Highly recommended for experienced and beginner PS users alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop Down & Dirty Tricks for Designers (Voices That Matter)
£24.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews